

## **HOUSE BILL 562**

## **SUPPORT**

<u>Chair</u> Henriot St Gerard

Vice Chair Bonnie Casper

<u>Secretary</u> Marjorie Goldman

Treasurer Tim Price

Immediate Past Chair David Rodich

**Board of Directors Shannon Babe-Thomas** Marilyn Balcombe Lisa Blackwell-Brown Katev Boerner Alan Bowser **Elaine Chang-Baxter** Cari Cho Ellen Coren **Sanford Daily Hoan Dang** Stewart Edelstein Fred Evans Henry Hailstock **Christine Handy** Delvala Janardan Victoria Leonard **Robert Levey** Chris Lloyd Suzanne Lohjelm Mathew Losak Sally Murek **Andrew Nicklas** Samir Paul Carla Satinsky **Chrissy Shawver** Raymond Sherbill Julie Statland **Andy Stern** Laura Stewart **Brad Stewart** Tricia Swanson Joe Wever

Gilberto Zeleya

March 11, 2021

Committee for Montgomery (CfM) is a coalition of leaders representing a broad cross-section of Montgomery County business, labor, education, civic, arts, and community-based organizations. Our mission is to advocate in Annapolis on issues of importance to Montgomery County and the State. Through our membership, CfM represents more than 350,000 Montgomery County voters. CfM shapes its state legislative and budget priorities based on its goal of preserving and strengthening Montgomery County as a place to live, work, and learn.

One of our legislative priority topics is transportation. The transportation core issue is: Traffic congestion and lack of mass transit service to centers for business and education activities hampers State and County economic growth and hurts the wellbeing of our residents.

CfM supports HB562 which would authorize Montgomery County to decrease the maximum speed limit within the County. This enabling legislation will require engineering and traffic investigation prior to making any changes. Given the required analyses, we agree that Montgomery County should have local jurisdiction on maximum speed limits within the County.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on this important Bill. The Committee for Montgomery is requesting a favorable report.

Sincerely,

Committee for Montgomery, Board of Directors