February 2, 2021

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee House Office Building, Room 251 6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

HB 480 — Vehicle Laws — Plug-In Electric Drive Vehicles - Reserved Parking Spaces **FAVORABLE WITH AMENDMENTS**

Dear Chairman Barve and Members of the Committee,

HB 480 would apply a parking prohibition at EV charging stations contingent on the posting of signs that meet certain standards and the application of green pavement markings.

Colorado lawmakers passed a similar bill in 2018. To date, very few charging station operators in Colorado have posted the particular signs specified in the statute, C.R.S. 42-4-1213. Without the proper signs, the law isn't enforceable and EV drivers are still frustrated at blocked chargers.

Please strengthen the Maryland bill by requiring operators of publicly funded charging stations to post the specified signs and mark the pavement in accordance with the bill's provisions.

I respectfully ask that you amend HB 480 by adding the following:

AN ELECTRIC VEHICLE CHARGING STATION THAT BOTH IS PUBLICLY ACCESSIBLE AND THE CONSTRUCTION OF WHICH WAS FUNDED, AT LEAST IN PART, BY THE STATE OR THROUGH MONEY COLLECTED FROM RATEPAYERS OR UNDER THE TERMS OF A SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT SHALL COMPLY WITH THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS:

(1) EACH CHARGING STATION SPACE SHALL BE DESIGNATED WITH A SIGN THAT MEETS THE REQUIREMENTS OF SUBSECTION C.

(2) EACH CHARGING STATION SPACE SHALL BE DESIGNATED WITH PAVEMENT MARKINGS THAT MEETS THE REQUIREMENTS OF SUBSECTION D.

(3) A SIGN OR PAVEMENT MARKINGS SHALL NOT RESTRICT THE TYPE OF PLUG-IN ELECTRIC DRIVE VEHICLES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PLUG-IN HYBRID VEHICLES, AND COMMERCIAL FOR-HIRE PASSENGER VEHICLES, THAT MAY ACCESS AN ELECTRIC VEHICLE CHARGING STATION.

Thank you for your support of electric vehicles and charging infrastructure in Maryland.

Sincerely,

Young Hantman

Lanny Hartmann

Attachments (2)

Reserved Parking for EV Charging - State Laws

| St | Effective | Statute | Fine | Tow | Private | Sign Specification |
|----|-----------|-------------------------|-------------|-----|------------------|---|
| AZ | 7/20/1996 | <u>ARS 28-876</u> | \$350 | No | Not specified | specially designated for parking and fueling motor vehicles fueled exclusively by electricity |
| CA | 1/1/2012 | CVC 22511 | N/A | Yes | Yes | a sign not less than 17 by 22 inches in size with lettering not less than one inch in height that clearly and conspicuously states the following: "Unauthorized vehicles not connected for electric charging purposes will be towed away at owner's expense. Towed vehicles may be reclaimed at |
| FL | 7/1/2012 | <u>Sec. 366.94</u> | \$30 | No | Not specified | specifically designated for charging an electric vehicle |
| HI | 7/1/2013 | Sec. 291-72 | \$50-\$100 | No | | space designated and marked as reserved for electric vehicles |
| WA | 7/28/2013 | <u>RCW 46.08.185</u> | \$124 | No | Yes | vertical signage identifying the station as an electric vehicle charging station and indicating that it is only for electric vehicle charging. The signage must be consistent with the manual on uniform traffic control devices, as adopted by the department of transportation under RCW 47.36.030. Additionally, the electric vehicle charging station must be indicated by green pavement markings. |
| OR | 1/1/2016 | ORS 811.587 | \$250 Max | No | Yes | The parking space is marked or signed as reserved for alternative fuel vehicle refueling |
| IL | 1/1/2016 | <u>Sec. 11-1308</u> | \$75-\$100 | Yes | Yes | It shall not be a defense to a charge under this Section that the sign or notice posted at the electric vehicle charging station or the designated parking space does not comply with applicable rules, regulations, or local ordinances, if a reasonable person would be made aware by the sign or notice on or near the parking space that the space is reserved for electric vehicles. |
| СТ | 7/1/2016 | § <u>16-19ggg</u> | N/A | No | Not specified | a space equipped with a public electric vehicle charging station |
| RI | 7/18/2017 | <u>§31-21-18</u> | \$85 | No | Yes | signage identifying the station as an electric vehicle charging station and indicating that it is only for electric vehicle charging and subject to a parking violation |
| MA | 1/1/2018 | MGL c.40 §22A | \$50 | Yes | Not specified | Not specified |
| NH | 8/11/2018 | Sec. 236:134 | | No | Not specified | Not specified |
| со | 1/1/2019 | C.R.S. 42-4-1213 | \$150 | No | Yes | "official sign" means a sign identifying a parking space for electric motor vehicle charging that cites this section or the equivalent local ordinance and that clearly displays the penalties for violating this section or the equivalent local ordinance. |
| NV | 7/1/2019 | <u>NRS 484B.468</u> | \$100-\$750 | No | Yes | indicated by a sign or markings that: (a) Are consistent with the manual and specifications for a uniform system of traffic-control devices adopted pursuant to NRS 484A.430; and (b) State "Minimum fine of \$100 for use by others" or equivalent words. |
| ND | 8/1/2019 | <u>Chpt. 39-10-50.1</u> | \$50 | No | Yes | a sign approved by the director. The sign must be consistent with the manual of uniform traffic control devices authorized under section39-13-06, and indicate: a.Use of the reserved space is for charging electric vehicles only; and b.Unauthorized use of the spaces is a nonmoving violation for which a fee of fifty dollars must be imposed. |
| NY | 4/5/2021 | <u>Sec. 1202</u> | | No | Not specified | shall be clearly identified, and such designation shall include conspicuous and permanently installed above grade signs which shall be positioned from the parking space surface at a height of not less than five feet nor more than seven feet and which identify such space as an electric vehicle charging station, indicate that such space is only for electric vehicle charging and include any day or time restrictions. |

Howard County Police Department Education and Training Division



June 27, 2019

Parking Citations: Plug-in Vehicles

- Proper signage must be present to enforce the legislation. The below pole sign must be be present for enforcement to take place.
 - Posted time limitations may vary, however parking a non-plug-in vehicle in a space posted for a plug-in vehicle (regardless of time limitations) is prohibited. There are no specific provisions in the Code for enforcing time limits.



-Not Enforceable, No "Sign"-

-Enforceable, "Sign"-

The <u>only</u> sign currently enforceable on county & private property related to Plug-in vehicles is the below.

