**DAVID MOON** Legislative District 20 Montgomery County

Judiciary Committee

*Subcommittees* Chair, Criminal Law and Procedure Public Safety



The Maryland House of Delegates 6 Bladen Street, Room 220 Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3474 · 301-858-3474 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3474 David.Moon@house.state.md.us

THE MARYLAND HOUSE OF DELEGATES

Annapolis, Maryland 21401

January 21, 2021

## Information in support of HB 115

Vehicle Laws - Canceled, Revoked, and Suspended Driver's Licenses - Penalties

Previous Bills Maryland Passed to Decriminalize Certain Driving Offenses

HB-76 (2019): Possession of Suspended/Revoked/Canceled License

- Eliminated imprisonment penalty
- Dropped penalty to 3 points & \$500 fine for possession

HB-844 (2017): Driving While License Suspended (Due to Driver Improvement Program/Child Support)

- Eliminated imprisonment penalty
- Dropped penalty to 3 points & \$500 fine for driving suspended
- Did NOT eliminate license suspension

Justice Reinvestment Act (2016): Driving While License Suspended (Due to Tickets/Fines/Failure to Appear)

- Eliminated imprisonment penalty
- Dropped penalty to 3 points & \$500 fine
- Did NOT eliminate license suspension

Driving While Suspended is generally subject to the following penalties in Transportation 16-303(k)(1):

- 1 year & \$1,000 for a first offense
- 2 years & \$1,000 for a subsequent offense

Note: At 12 points, your license can be revoked.

Reasons for License Suspension Still Subject to Incarceration:

- DUI or refusal to take breathalyzer
- Has been convicted of moving violations so often as to indicate an intent to disregard the traffic laws and the safety of other persons on the highways;
- Is an unfit, unsafe, or habitually reckless or negligent driver of a motor vehicle;
- Has permitted an unlawful or fraudulent use of a license, identification card, or a facsimile of a license or identification card;
- Has used a license, identification card, or a facsimile of a license or identification card in an unlawful or fraudulent manner, unless the applicant or licensee is subject to the provisions of subsection (c) of this section;
- Has committed an offense in another state that, if committed in this State, would be grounds for suspension or revocation; or
- Has knowingly made a false certification of required security in any application for a certificate of title or for the registration of a vehicle.
- The Administration may suspend the license of a person who is convicted of a moving violation that contributed to an accident resulting in the death of another person.