

March 3, 2021 Maryland House of Delegates Environment and Transportation Committee House Office Building, Room 251 6 Bladen St. Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: Maryland House Bill 635 (HB-635)

Dear Delegate Barve, and members of the Environment and Transportation Committee,

I am weighing in on behalf of the Town of Somerset to express support for Delegate Carr's amendment to HB-635, to include Montgomery County in the agency studies of the September 10, 2020 storm.

In addition to my support, the Somerset Town Council voted unanimously to support this legislation because the Town of Somerset was impacted throughout the summer of 2020, and by this storm specifically – to the extent that our Town formed a special volunteer-led committee to study the issue of stormwater. As climate change continues, flooding and stormwater runoff have increased in frequency and damage. The efforts to study the historic flooding are much needed, including the issues of flood prevention and environmental control.

Studying the physical infrastructure will also be illuminating and informative in helping the Town and County build resiliency into the facilities, structures, and infrastructure that help handle flooding and runoff. This is especially timely as the density in Somerset and the surrounding areas increases, and the County develops its long-term plans through Thrive Montgomery 2050.

HB-635, with the amendment to include Montgomery County, is a critical and important step in combatting the effects of climate change, flooding, and stormwater management in Somerset and the neighboring communities. I urge the Committee to move forward on HB-635 as amended.

Thank you for the opportunity to weigh in on this important issue, and I look forward to working with you all moving forward.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey Slavin Mayor, Town of Somerset

CC: Delegate Alfred Carr Delegate Ariana Kelly Delegate Marc Korman Delegate Sara Love Senator Susan Lee County Council President Tom Hucker County Council Vice President Gabe Albornoz County Council Member Friedson County Council Member Glass County Council Member Jawando County Council Member Katz County Council Member Navarro County Council Member Rice County Council Member Riemer