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February 23, 2021 
 
The Honorable William C. Smith, Jr. 
Chair, Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee 
2 East Miller Senate Office Building 
Annapolis MD  21401 
 
Re: Letter of Information – Senate Bill 712 – Vehicle Laws – Protective Headgear Requirement for 

Motorcycle Riders – Exception 
 
Dear Chairman Smith and Committee Members: 
 
The Maryland Department of Transportation takes no position on Senate Bill 712 but offers the following 
information for the Committee’s consideration. 
 
Senate Bill 712 creates an exception to the motorcycle helmet requirement for individuals (or passengers) 
who are at least 21 years of age and who have either been licensed to operate a motorcycle for at least two 
years or have completed a motorcycle rider safety course approved by the Administrator of the MDOT 
MVA or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. 
 
Currently, all motorcycle riders, including passengers, must wear motorcycle helmets that comply with 
Federal Motor Vehicle Standard (FMVSS) No. 218. The use of motorcycle helmets has proven effective 
in reducing serious head injuries among motorcyclists involved in crashes with no substantive adverse 
safety effects. Nevertheless, 14 percent of the 75 motorcycle riders and passengers who die on average 
each year on Maryland roadways were not wearing a helmet. Each year, on average 1,147 motorcycle 
riders and passengers are injured on Maryland roadways.   
 
The Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA) found that when a universal helmet law is repealed, 
helmet use drops substantially. The State of Michigan repealed its universal helmet law in 2012, and 
according to the Michigan State Police, annual fatalities from motorcycle-involved crashes saw an 
increase of 23 percent compared to pre-repeal. The GHSA urges states to oppose efforts to repeal 
universal motorcycle helmet laws and encourages states to adopt helmet use laws for all riders.   
 
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), helmet use is substantially 
lower in states that do not have a universal helmet law. In 2019, NHTSA estimated that over 95 percent of 
motorcyclists in states with universal helmet laws were observed to be wearing helmets. In states without 
universal laws, helmet use was only 71 percent. Additionally, the use of helmets judged to be compliant 
with federal safety regulations was 89 percent among motorcyclists in states with universal helmet laws 
and 56 percent in other states.  
 
Currently, 19 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico have universal helmet laws. Motorcycle 
licensure carries no requirements to gain experience or improve skills over time. A rider may obtain a 
motorcycle license and never again ride a motorcycle. Under the provisions of Senate Bill 712, a rider 
who has held a motorcycle license for two years but who has no further riding experience would be  
exempt from the helmet use requirement, as would anyone over the age of 21 taking the motorcycle safety 
course; and any passenger 21 years or older. 
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MDOT MVA-approved motorcycle rider safety courses encourage the use of full protective riding gear 
by riders and passengers when operating and riding on a motorcycle. Senate Bill 712 permits a person to 
ride without a helmet simply because the rider has completed the approved rider safety course, regardless 
of how recently that safety training was completed. 
 
The Maryland Department of Transportation respectfully requests that the Committee consider this 
information when deliberating Senate Bill 712. 
 
Respectfully submitted, 
 
Christine E. Nizer     Melissa Einhorn      
Administrator      State Legislative Officer    
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration   Maryland Department of Transportation  
410-787-7830      410-865-1102  
 


