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I am the President of Maryland Shall Issue (“MSI”). Maryland Shall Issue is an all-
volunteer, non-partisan organization dedicated to the preservation and advancement of gun
owners’ rights in Maryland. It seeks to educate the community about the right of self-
protection, the safe handling of firearms, and the responsibility that goes with carrying a
firearm in public. I am also an attorney and an active member of the Bar of Maryland and
of the Bar of the District of Columbia. I recently retired from the United States Department
of Justice, where I practiced law for 33 years in the Courts of Appeals of the United States
and in the Supreme Court of the United States. I am an expert in Maryland firearms law,
federal firearms law and the law of self-defense. I am also a Maryland State Police certified
handgun instructor for the Maryland Wear and Carry Permit and the Maryland Handgun
Qualification License (“HQL”) and a certified NRA instructor in rifle, pistol, personal
protection in the home, personal protection outside the home and in muzzle loader. I appear
today as President of MSI in opposition to HB 175.

The Bill

For the first time in the history of Maryland, this bill attempts to impose a vast regulatory
regime on the sale of ordinary ammunition in Maryland. First in a newly minted Section 5-
703 of the Public Safety Article of the Maryland Code, the bill would require every
ammunition vendor to confirm the identity of every would-be purchaser by demand
government issued identification. Next, the bill would command the vendor to “CONDUCT
A BACKGROUND CHECK ON THE PURCHASER OR TRANSFEREE THROUGH THE
NICS INDEX.” In a newly minted Section 5-704, the bill would impose electronic record-
keeping requirements on the vendor and on the Maryland State Police by requiring the
vendor to report to the State Police the date of the or transfer, the purchaser’s identification
number, the “brand, type and amount” of ammunition purchased, the purchaser’s full name
and signature, and the purchaser’s full address, date of birth and telephone number and
finally, the name of the salesperson who made the sale. Any violation of these and other
provisions of the bill would be a civil offense subject to a fine of “not less than $1,000 for
each violation.” The bill would also exempt from its requirements sales to persons holding
a Handgun Qualification License and sales to active Maryland and federal law enforcement
officers.

A. The Bill Requires A Patently Illegal NICS Background Check On Ammunition Sales

As noted, this bill requires a vendor to conduct a NICS check for each and every sale of
ordinary ammunition. That requirement is flatly illegal under controlling federal law. The
NICS system is run by the FBI, as required by the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act
of 1993, Public Law 103-159, 107 Stat. 1536 (1993), codified at 18 U.S.C. § 922(t).
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/nics. The Maryland State Police is a FBI-approved, Point of




Contact agency for NICS checks for handgun sales in Maryland. https:/www.fbi.gov/file-
repository/nics-participation-map.pdf/view. Under federal law, the federal NICS system
may be used to institute a background check only on actual transfers of firearms that are
regulated by the Brady Act. Furthermore, under federal law, only federally licensed firearm
licensees (FFLs) and designated Point of Contract State agencies are permitted access to
the NICS system. No other vendor, or person or agency may have access to the NICS system
under federal law. See 28 C.F.R. §25.1, et seq. While a federal license is required to engage
in the business of importing or manufacturing ammunition, 18 U.S.C. § 922(a)(1)(B), no
federal license is required simply to sell ordinary small arms ammunition. 28 C.F.R. §
478.41. See https://www.atf.gov/firearms/qa/license-required-engage-business-selling-
small-arms-ammunition (“A license is not required for a dealer in ammunition only.”). Such
non-licensed vendors of ammunition typically include hardware stores and small
businesses, especially in rural areas. Because these vendors are not FFLs they do not have
any access to the NICS system.

Stated simply, ammunition sales are not governed by any provision in the Brady Act.
Federal regulation of ammunition sales was largely repealed by Congress in 1986 with
enactment of the Firearm Owners Protection Act of 1986, Public Law 99-308, 100 Stat. 449
(May 19, 1986). That repeal was based on realization that regulating ammunition sales was
“Just a waste of time” and had “no substantial law enforcement value.” See Federal Firearms
Reform Act of 1986, House Report 99-495, 99th Cong., 2nd Sess., 17 (1986) (emphasis
added). See Congressional Record—House, Apr. 9, 1986, at 6850 (“Fourth, it repeals
ammunition recordkeeping requirements (except armor-piercing bullets) which BATF and
Treasury says have no substantial law enforcement value.”); 6861 (same); 6864 (same); 6869
(“[Wle also limit the licensing of ammunition dealers because ammunition and
recordkeeping for ammunition, BATF and most everybody agrees, there is just a waste of
time because you cannot trace ammunition.”).

That ammunition sales are not subject to the Brady Act (passed in 1993) is widely
understood and acknowledged, even by pro-gun-control advocacy groups. See, e.g.,
https://giffords.org/lawcenter/gun-laws/policy-areas/hardware-ammunition/ammunition-
regulation/. Federal law does provide that a licensed dealer may not sell shotgun or rifle
ammunition to a person younger than 18 years of age and may not sell handgun ammunition
to a person younger than 21 years of age. 18 U.S.C. § 922(b)(1). And, of course, neither
modern ammunition nor modern firearms may be possessed by prohibited persons. 18
U.S.C. §922(g). Similarly, it is a federal felony “to sell or otherwise dispose of any firearm or
ammunition to any person knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that such person”
is a prohibited person. 18 U.S.C. § 922(d). Maryland likewise criminalizes such sales for
regulated firearms under State law, and imposes a total ban on the transfer of any
ammunition to minors. MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-134. Maryland formerly regulated the
mere possession of ammunition designed solely for regulated firearms, but the General
Assembly repealed that Maryland law in 2011, no doubt realizing that such regulation was
unnecessary and impossible to enforce. See Acts 2011, c. 343, § 1.

However, because federal law does not regulate ammunition sales, federal law does not
permit any NICS background check for ammunition sales. Indeed, federal regulations are
quite explicit that a FFL may not access the NICS system for any purpose other than those
sales of firearms subject to the Brady Act. 28 C.F.R. § 25.6(a) provides that “FFLs may
initiate a NICS background check only in connection with a proposed firearm transfer as
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required by the Brady Act. FFLs are strictly prohibited from initiating a NICS background
check for any other purpose.” (Emphasis added). Similarly, the Federal Firearms Licensee
Manual issued by the FBI states that an FFL is never authorized to utilize the NICS for
employment or other type of non-Brady Act-mandated background checks. See 27 C.F.R.
478.128(c) (“Any * * * licensed dealer * * * who knowingly makes any false statement or
representation with respect to any information required by the provisions of the Act * * *
under the Act or this part shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than
1 year, or both.”).

The same rule applies to a State which serves as a Point of Contact for purposes of accessing
the NICS system. A State or a FFL that requests a NICS check not authorized by Federal
law is subject to a $10,000 fine and a termination of access to the NICS system. 28 C.F.R. §
25.11. Termination of such NICS access would, of course, gut the ability of the Maryland
State Police to conduct full background checks on sales of any regulated firearm (including
handguns). Termination of access would also bar the State Police from doing NICS
background checks for the Handgun Qualification License under MD Code, Public Safety §
5-117.1, and issuing a wear and carry permit under MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-306, as
otherwise permitted by Federal law. See 28 C.F.R. § 25.6().

As Nevada learned to its chagrin when it tried to force dealers to do NICS checks not
authorized by federal law, the FBI will not permit FBI resources and the NICS system to
be commandeered by States. See Zusi v. Sandoval, No. A-17-762975-W, slip op. at 4 (Nev.
Dist. Ct. August 20, 2018) (holding unenforceable a Nevada law that “sought to require the
FBI  through NICS to perform  background checks”), available  at
http://www.clarkcountycourts.us/judge-issues-order-in-background-check-case-zusi-vs-
sandoval/. The FBI is not bound by Maryland law. That means that neither a FFL nor the
State Police may, under any circumstances, conduct a NICS check on the sale of
ammunition. Period. Full Stop. Requiring a vendor to conduct a NICS check is thus flatly
illegal under federal law. Any dealer conducting such a NICS check on an ammunition sale
would risk losing his or her FFL license without further ado. 28 C.F.R. § 25.11. The dealers,
of course, all know this and thus will refuse to comply with the requirements that would be
imposed by this bill. If forced to comply, dealers will simply stop selling ammunition
altogether thereby making it that much more difficult to stay in business. An honest title
for this bill would thus be: “Elimination of Maryland Dealers Act of 2021.” And, as explained
above, non-FFL vendors cannot access the NICS system at all. Thus, these ammunition
vendors would also have to stop selling ammunition under this bill.

In short, by requiring the legally impossible (a NICS check on ammunition sales), the bill
would effectively ban the sale of ammunition in Maryland. The bill would thus fail a federal
court challenge under the Second Amendment as law-abiding citizens have a constitutional
right to acquire ammunition for their lawfully owned firearms. See, e.g., Jackson v. San
Francisco, 746 F.3d 953, 967 (9th Cir. 2014), cert. denied. 576 U.S. 1013 (2015) (“without
bullets, the right to bear arms would be meaningless. See also District of Columbia v. Heller,
554 U.S. 570 (2008). A regulation eliminating a person's ability to obtain or use ammunition
could thereby make it impossible to use firearms for their core purpose.”). A federal court
challenge would lie under 42 U.S.C. §1983, to seek equitable relief, plus attorneys’ fees
under 42 U.S.C. § 1988. See, e.g., Armstrong v. Exceptional Child Ctr., Inc., 575 U.S. 320,
327 (2015) (“[Flederal courts may in some circumstances grant injunctive relief against state
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officers who are violating, or planning to violate, federal law.”) (citing Ex Parte Young, 209
U.S. 123, 150-51 (1908)).

B. The Bill’s Recording-Keeping Requirements Will Be Costly For Vendors And
For The Maryland State Police While Being Easily Avoided By Purchasers.

The bill would impose extremely burdensome record keeping requirements on the vendor
and the Maryland State Police alike. The end result would be to create a vast new database
of all ammunition sales that will be expensive to establish and expensive to maintain. Such
costs are fair from trivial. Roughly 8 billion rounds of ammunition are produced every year
and many millions are sold in Maryland, every year. Maintaining a database of that size
would a monumental task. And all this to little or no point. Any purchaser could easily
sidestep these requirements simply by driving to a neighboring state and making
ammunition purchases in those states. Federal and state law in neighboring states do not
regulate these sales to Maryland residents who are free to purchase ammunition in any
amount as often as they like without enduring any of the burdensome requirements imposed
by this bill. No neighboring state imposes any background checks for the sale of
ammunition. Indeed, only one State (California) has even attempted to do so by requiring a
background check of State databases (not a NICS check) and a federal district court has
already preliminarily enjoined that California statute as violative of the Second
Amendment. See Rhode v. Becerra, 445 F.Supp.3d 902 (S.D. Calif. 2020), appeal pending,
No. 20-55437 (9th Cir.).

Indeed, if only as a matter of principle, law-abiding gun owners in Maryland will massively
resist these requirements by flocking to out-of-state retail stores for their ammunition
needs. The losers here would be Maryland retailers and, of course, the Maryland State
Police, which would be required to create a massive new State database for ammunition
sales. That database would be no more useful for solving crimes than the spent shell casing
storage requirement previously imposed on the State Police by Maryland law. That casing
requirement was repealed by the General Assembly in 2015. See former MD Code, Public
Safety, § 5-131, repealed by Acts 2015, c. 379, §§ 1, 2, 3 (effective Oct. 1, 2015). That repeal
will save the State Police millions of dollars over time. In contrast, this bill would impose
millions of dollars in new expenses over time. Indeed, this bill would impose these record
keeping requirements for every sale of single box of .22 rimfire cartridges that cost
approximately $3 to purchase. See, e.g., Remington Target 22 Long Rifle, Target Sports
USA, https/tinyurl.com/y439gx6u (last visited February 20, 2021) (<$3 for a box of 50
.22LR cartridges). By any measure, the bill imposes a massive misallocation of resources.

C. The Bill Misuses the Handgun Qualification License

The bill exempts from its coverage sales of ammunition to persons who have a Handgun
Qualification License, issued pursuant to MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-117.1. That
incorporation of the HQL statute is a patent misuse of the HQL statute. The HQL statute
was never intended to serve as some sort of uber alles stamp of approval for all gun owners.
By its terms, possession of an HQL is required for sales, rentals or transfers of handguns
only. Handguns are regulated firearms under Maryland law. MD Code, Public Safety, 5-
101(r). Ordinary rifles and shotguns are not regulated firearms. Obtaining an HQL so as to
purchase a handgun takes four hours of training, live fire and costs more than $200 in
expenses for training, fingerprinting and application fees. It imposes costs on the State
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Police which must process an HQL application within 30 days. It would be grossly excessive
to impose those requirements on a law-abiding citizen simply in order to purchase a box of
ammunition for lawfully owned firearms, including hunting rifles and shotguns.

Persons are not required to have an HQL in order to continue to lawfully possess and use
previously owned handguns and are free to purchase ordinary long guns, subject to
background checks imposed by the Brady Act, all without possessing an HQL. This bill
would thus regulate ammunition sales of ordinary hunting ammunition and for firearms
not even subject to the HQL requirements. The bill would, for example, impose its
requirements on sales of ordinary .22 rimfire ammunition used in basic rifle instruction for
the Boy Scouts and other youth groups, including instruction for the Firearm and Hunter
Safety Certificate issued by the Maryland Department of Natural Resources under MD
Code, Natural Resources, § 10-301.1. Yet, Maryland does not regulate the sale of .22 rimfire
rifles (other than to minors). See, e.g., MD Code, Criminal Law, § 4-301(e)(1) (defining a
copycat weapon to include only semiautomatic centerfire rifles); Indeed, under Maryland
law, it is perfectly legal to purchase and possess .22 rimfire rifles with tubular magazines
in excess of 10 rounds of capacity. MD Code, Criminal Law, § 4-305 (exempting .22 caliber
rifles “with a tubular magazine” from the 10 round limit). Non-regulated firearms and
ammunition may be possessed by minors in Maryland; it would be quite impossible to
conduct youth hunting without such possession. Compare MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-
133(d) (restricting possession of regulated firearms by minors). Regulating the sale of
ordinary ammunition used in non-regulated firearms is at odds with this complex statutory
maze of regulation.

Moreover, under Section 5-117.1(a), the HQL requirements do not even apply to active or
retired federal or Maryland law enforcement officers or to active or retired members of the
armed forces or the National Guard of the United States. All these individuals may purchase
handguns in Maryland without an HQL. Yet, except for an exemption for active duty
Maryland and federal officers, this bill imposes the record keeping requirements on sales to
these categories of persons who are totally exempt from the HQL requirements. Indeed, the
bill would even apply to ammunition purchases by active law enforcement officers who live
or shop in Maryland, but work for a police agency located outside of Maryland, such as the
Virginia State Police or the Pennsylvania State Police. It would likewise impose these
requirements on sales to retired State and federal officers who are entitled, under the
federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act, 18 U.S.C. § 926C (LEOSA), to carry a
concealed firearm in public without obtaining a State carry permit.

In sum, the HQL requirements were designed to apply only to handgun transfers and should
not be applied outside of that context. Even in that limited sphere, those requirements will
fail should MSI prevail in its ongoing suit challenging the constitutionality of the HQL
statute under the Second Amendment. See MSI v. Hogan, 971 F.3d 199 (4th Cir. 2020)
(reversing the district court’s standing dismissal and remanding for further proceedings on
the merits). Incorporating the HQL statute into other legislation places such other
legislation at risk as well.

CONCLUSION

Given all the problems, detailed above, the bill has obviously not been fully thought out and
should be withdrawn. It is overbroad, illegally requires NICS background checks flatly
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prohibited by federal law and imposes huge costs on retailers and the Maryland State Police
without any point. For all these reasons, if the bill is not withdrawn, the Committee should
issue an unfavorable report.

Sincerely,

Mark W. Pennak
President, Maryland Shall Issue, Inc.
mpennak@marylandshallissue.org
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