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WRITTEN TESTIMONY OF MARK W. PENNAK, PRESIDENT, MSI, IN 

OPPOSITION TO HB 200 

I am the President of Maryland Shall Issue (“MSI”). Maryland Shall Issue is an all-
volunteer, non-partisan organization dedicated to the preservation and advancement of gun 
owners’ rights in Maryland. It seeks to educate the community about the right of self-
protection, the safe handling of firearms, and the responsibility that goes with carrying a 
firearm in public. I am also an attorney and an active member of the Bar of Maryland and 
of the Bar of the District of Columbia. I recently retired from the United States Department 
of Justice, where I practiced law for 33 years in the Courts of Appeals of the United States 
and in the Supreme Court of the United States. I am an expert in Maryland firearms law, 
federal firearms law and the law of self-defense. I am also a Maryland State Police certified 
handgun instructor for the Maryland Wear and Carry Permit and the Maryland Handgun 
Qualification License (“HQL”) and a certified NRA instructor in rifle, pistol, personal 
protection in the home, personal protection outside the home and in muzzle loader. I appear 
today as President of MSI in opposition to HB 200. 
 
The Bill: 
 
The bill would amend MD Code, Criminal Law, § 4-104. Specifically, current law provides 
that “[a] person may not store or leave a loaded firearm in a location where the person knew 
or should have known that an unsupervised child would gain access to the firearm.” A child 
is defined for these purposes as a person “under the age of 16 years.” This bill would change 
the definition of a child to a person under the age of 18 years and modifies the prohibition 
to provide that a “person may not store or leave a loaded OR UNLOADED firearm in a 
location where the person knew or should have known that an unsupervised child COULD 
gain access to the firearm.” The bill will likewise repeal the exception in existing law that 
allows a child to have access to firearms if the child has a certificate of firearm and hunter 
safety issued under § 16 10–301.1 of the Natural Resources Article. Instead, for minors 
under the age of 18 and who have the hunter safety certificate, the bill allows access to a 
rifle or a shotgun if the minor has been given express permission by a parent. That access 
is permitted, however, only if the person who stores or leaves the firearm stores the firearm 
unloaded and stores the ammunition “in a secure location where a minor could not 
reasonably gain access to the ammunition.” Finally, the bill provides an exception if “THE 
FIREARM IS LEFT OR STORED UNLOADED AND HAS BEEN RENDERED 
INOPERABLE TO ANYONE OTHER THAN AN ADULT.” The bill does not define “access” 
or “could” or “inoperable.” 
 
 
The bill also changes the punishment for a violation of Section 4-104. Current law punishes 
a violation as “a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000.” 
No prison time is imposed under current law. The bill would create three new layers of 
offense with increasing punishments, including prison time for each layer. Merely leaving a 
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LOADED or UNLOADED firearm in a “location where the person knew or should have 
known that an unsupervised MINOR COULD gain access to the firearm,” is punishable 
with 90 days imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. At the next level, leaving a LOADED or 
UNLOADED firearm in a “location where the person knew or should have known that an 
unsupervised MINOR COULD gain access to the firearm,” and the minor actually gains 
access is punishable with 2 years of imprisonment and a fine of $2,500. And, at the final 
level, leaving a LOADED or UNLOADED firearm in a “location where the person knew or 
should have known that an unsupervised MINOR COULD gain access to the firearm,” and 
“THE FIREARM CAUSES HARM TO THE MINOR OR TO ANOTHER PERSON” is 
punishable with 5 years of imprisonment and a fine of $5,000.  
 

THE BILL IS DRACONIAN, IMPOSSIBLE TO COMPLY WITH AND PATENTLY 
UNCONSTITUTIONAL 

 
Youth Hunting: 
 
As noted, the bill repeal the exception found in current law for a child with a State-issued 
hunter safety certificate and substitutes an extremely awkward language. Specifically, the 
bill imposes an ammunition access restriction on the person (including the minor) who 
leaves or stores the rifle or shotgun, requiring that such person store the ammunition in 
such a way that “MINOR COULD NOT REASONABLY GAIN ACCESS TO THE 
AMMUNITION.” Under this provision, a minor is allowed access to a rifle or shotgun for 
legitimate purposes (such as hunting) with parental consent, but is not allowed access to 
the ammunition for that firearm. The bill thus allows the minor (as a “person”) to store the 
firearm, as long as the firearm is unloaded. Yet, the minor is criminally liable if he or she 
fails to store the ammunition in the “secure location” where he or she “could not” gain access. 
That result is little short of bizarre. The bill expressly exempts from its coverage a minor’s 
access to a rifle and shotgun if he or she has a hunter safety certificate and has permission. 
Yet, that same minor must then store ammunition in a way to make it inaccessible to 
himself or herself! Plainly, if a particular minor with a hunter safety certificate is permitted 
access to the firearm for legitimate purposes, then that minor should likewise be allowed to 
access the ammunition for the very firearms he or she is allowed to access. After all, a rifle 
or shotgun is useless for legitimate purposes (e.g., hunting or varmint control) without 
ammunition. Yet, that access to ammunition is not allowed by this bill. The bill thus imposes 
nonsense restrictions on ammunition.  
 
These bizarre requirements create a compliance nightmare and directly burden hunting. It 
is a traditional for hunters in this state and elsewhere to instruct their sons and daughters 
in hunting, often starting at a very young age. When such minors are ready (in the judgment 
of their parents), they are typically allowed to hunt on their own. Such hunting often occurs 
on the farms or other property of the parents or on property owned by family friends. The 
bill would criminalize such hunting by criminalizing access to ammunition by the minor. 
Mere possession of ammunition by a minor with a hunter safety certificate would be 
evidence of the very access banned by the bill. No sane parent will take the risk of criminal 
prosecution of their child or of themselves by allowing their child to possess ammunition. 
That reality will effectively ban youth hunting in Maryland. The number of hunters is 
already dropping in Maryland. Yet, Maryland, like other states, is heavily dependent on the 
fees and taxes paid by hunters to manage wildlife and promote conservation. Thus, 
Maryland, like other states, is actively seeking to encourage more hunting. See 
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https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/maryland-hopes-to-recruit-new-hunters--and-
promote-conservation/2018/11/29/69cccf3e-ecf3-11e8-96d4-0d23f2aaad09_story.html (“The 
Maryland Department of Natural Resources received $11 million last year, including $7.8 
million from hunting expenditures”).  
 
This public policy fully applies to youth hunting. Indeed, Maryland law accords “a 1-year 
gratis hunting license to a Maryland resident under the age of 16 years who has successfully 
completed a hunter safety course,” MD Code Nat. Resources §10-301.l(f)(l), and creates 
special youth hunting days for hunters under the age of 16. See 
https://dnr.maryland.gov/huntersguide/Pages/JrHunters.aspx. Over time, the bill, if 
enacted, will radically reduce youth hunting and hunting in general in Maryland. Again, no 
sane parent who is aware of this law would allow a child access to ammunition for hunting 
or for any other legitimate lawful purpose. After all, access to ammunition, under this bill, 
cannot be afforded to minors with the hunter safety certificate. Either that, or the law will 
be widely ignored, thereby creating large numbers of new criminals among minors and their 
parents, especially in rural areas. Law enforcement officers will be free to pick and choose 
who to arrest and prosecutors will likewise have free reign in picking who to prosecute. The 
potential for arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement is self-evident.  
 
We know of no state that bans access to ammunition or firearms to minors who are hunters. 
See, e.g, N.Y. Penal Code 265.45 (“It shall not be a violation of this section to allow a person 
less than sixteen years of age access to: (i) a firearm, rifle or shotgun for lawful use as 
authorized under paragraph seven or seven-e of subdivision a of section 265.20 of this 
article, or (ii) a rifle or shotgun for lawful use as authorized by article eleven of the 
environmental conservation law when such person less than sixteen years of age is the 
holder of a hunting license or permit and such rifle or shotgun is used in accordance with 
such law.”). Similarly, California allows full access to a firearm if access is with parental 
permission. Cal. Penal Code §25100(2). Neither New York nor California impose this sort of 
novel restriction on the storage of ammunition.  
 
The bill are a breach of trust. In 2013, when Governor O’Malley pushed hard for enactment 
of the Firearms Safety Act of 2013 (SB 281), he wrote an email to hunters in Maryland 
stating that “Let me be clear: We are committed to protecting hunters and their traditions. 
That’s why we specifically carved out shotguns and rifles from the licensing requirements 
of our bill.” https://www.washingtontimes.com/blog/guns/2013/feb/12/miller-omalley-
emails-licensed-hunters-push-gun-co/. (Emphasis added). As a licensed hunter in Maryland, 
the undersigned received that email. There is no more fundamental aspect to “hunters and 
their traditions” than youth hunting. Now, a mere six years later, “hunters and their 
traditions” are under direct assault by the bill. That promise has been broken. The lesson is 
clear: the General Assembly cannot be trusted. 
 
Due Process: 
 
The bill changes Section 4-104 from a safe storage measure into a truly draconian and vague 
law that would severely punish otherwise innocent conduct. It now will severely punish any 
storage that “could” result in access to the firearm, not “would.” That change is highly 
significant. The Maryland courts commonly refer to standard dictionaries in interpreting 
legislative language. Marriott Employees Federal Credit Union v. Motor Vehicle Admin. 346 
Md. 437, 449, 697 A.2d 455 (1997). Under virtually all dictionary definitions in this context, 



  Page 4 of 10 

“could” is defined in terms of what is “possible.” See, e.g., 
https://www.englishpage.com/modals/could.html (“’Could’ is a modal verb used to express 
possibility”); The American Heritage Dictionary 232, 330 (2d college ed.1985) (noting that 
“could’ is the past tense of “can,” which is defined as “[u]sed to indicate possibility or 
probability.”). See also Keene v. Ault, 2005 WL 1177905 at *7 (D. Iowa 2005) (applying 
“could” in this manner). 
 
Changing “would” to “could” is a radical change because it would literally require prescience 
for owner to know what a child, any child (the bill is not limited to children who reside in 
the home), under the age of 18 “could” do. As a rule, “[t]he law does not require prescience.” 
Raffucci Alvarado v. Sonia Zayas, 816 F.2d 818, 820 (1st Cir. 1987). See also Goldsborough 
v. De Witt, 171 Md. 225, 242 (1937) (“The law does not require infallibility of decision in its 
fiduciaries nor prescience”); Ditto v. Stoneberger, 145 Md.App. 469, 499 (2002) (“’The law 
requires proof of probable, not merely possible, facts, including causal relations’”), quoting 
Charlton Bros. Transportation Co. v. Garrettson, 188 Md. 85, 94 (1947). Under this “could” 
standard, the mere possibility of access would be sufficient. The bill is not limited to minors 
in the household and thus include the entire universe of minors (other than intruders). The 
bill thus includes minors, anywhere, who have the tools and knowledge sufficient to crack a 
safe or break into locked storage. Such knowledge is obtainable from the Internet and the 
requisite tools are easily found at any hardware store. For some safes, all it would take is a 
diamond edge blade on a circular saw or even a crowbar. Trigger locks, which are often 
supplied by dealers and universally accepted as a means of securing firearms, can be 
defeated with tools and a little time. All of this is “possible” for a minor.  
 
Indeed, this bill would effectively repeal MD Code, Public Safety, §5-132(c)(1), which 
requires that a dealer may not sell a handgun without “unless the handgun is sold, offered 
for sale, rented, or transferred with an external safety lock.” Federal law, 18 U.S.C. 
§922(a)(1), imposes a similar requirement, providing that “it shall be unlawful for any 
licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, or licensed dealer to sell, deliver, or transfer any 
handgun to any person other than any person licensed under this chapter, unless the 
transferee is provided with a secure gun storage or safety device (as defined in section 
921(a)(34)) for that handgun.” Section 921(a)(34), 18 U.S.C. §921(a)(34), in turn defines the 
term “secure gun storage or safety device” to mean “(A) a device that, when installed on a 
firearm, is designed to prevent the firearm from being operated without first deactivating 
the device; (B) a device incorporated into the design of the firearm that is designed to 
prevent the operation of the firearm by anyone not having access to the device; or (C) a safe, 
gun safe, gun case, lock box, or other device that is designed to be or can be used to store a 
firearm and that is designed to be unlocked only by means of a key, a combination, or other 
similar means.”  
 
Pursuant to this legislation, the Maryland Handgun Roster Board has published a list of 
approved safety devices that the dealer may offer at the time of sale. (Attached). These 
devices likewise satisfy the requirements of federal law. Every one of these devices “could” 
be defeated by a minor, given time and tools. See, e.g., 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U05ixDwsnNs (video demonstrating using a Bic pen to 
remove the Roster Board-approved Omega Gunlock very commonly sold with handguns in 
Maryland). None of these devices actually would deny access to the firearm itself. The bill 
bans all possible access, even to guns locked with Roster Board-approved locks or locks of 
the type specified in Section 921(a)(34) of federal law. The bill effectively nullifies these 
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requirements imposed by existing law. The bill could even ban, for example, access to a 
quick-release safe containing a firearm because the safe itself could be pried from its 
moorings, picked up and stolen. “Access” is simply not defined. So what’s next, a 
requirement that the dealers sell guns only with impenetrable safes that must be bolted to 
a concrete floor?  
 
There is no appropriate mens rea requirement in the bill. The bill imposes liability upon 
gun owners if the owners knew or should have known that any minor “could” break into any 
storage and obtain access, viz., knew or should have known whether such access was 
“possible.” That is not a defensible mens rea. The bill requires knowledge of all possible 
facts, and thus cannot be said to indicate any sort of guilty state of mind. As the Supreme 
Court has stated, “the basic principle [is] that ‘wrongdoing must be conscious to be 
criminal.’” Elonis v. United States, 575 U.S. 723, 135 S.Ct. 2001, 2009 (2015) (citation 
omitted). That means that “a defendant generally must ‘know the facts that make his 
conduct fit the definition of the offense.’” Id., quoting Staples v. United States, 511 U.S. 600, 
608, n.3 (1994). See also Rehaif v. United States, 139 S.Ct. 2191, 2196 (2019) (“the 
understanding that an injury is criminal only if inflicted knowingly ‘is as universal and 
persistent in mature systems of law as belief in freedom of the human will and a consequent 
ability and duty of the normal individual to choose between good and evil’”) (citation 
omitted). The bill fails these principles, as a person cannot be reasonably charged with 
knowledge of the infinite variety of facts that are “possible.” It is quite impossible for the 
average gun owner “to choose between good and evil” under the bill. (Id.).  
 
Even worse, the bill makes the gun owner into a guarantor against the merely possible 
misconduct of every minor, any minor. That’s absurd burden to place on any law-abiding 
person. See Elonis, 135 S.Ct. at 2007 (The “reasonable person” standard “is inconsistent 
with the conventional requirement for criminal conduct—awareness of some wrongdoing”). 
See also United States v. White, 810 F.3d 212, 220 (4th Cir. 2016). Such absolute guarantor 
liability is not even imposed under tort law, much less criminal law. See Restatement 
(Second) of Torts § 448. Upon the effective date of the bill, every gun owner in Maryland 
would be immediately guilty of this crime because no gun owner would ever be able to say 
that it was impossible for a minor to gain access. Arbitrary or discriminatory enforcement 
is thus virtually guaranteed. See McDonnell v. United States, 136 S. Ct. 2355, 2373–74 
(2016) (noting that “we cannot construe a criminal statute on the assumption that the 
Government will ‘use it responsibly’”) (quoting United States v. Stevens, 559 U.S. 460, 480 
(2010)). As Lavrentiy Beria, who was Stalin’s ruthless secret police chief during the reign of 
terror, liked to brag: “Show me the man and I’ll show you the crime” 
https://www.oxfordeagle.com/2018/05/09/show-me-the-man-and-ill-show-you-the-crime/. 
That is exactly what the bill does every gun owner in Maryland. The arbitrary enforcement 
sanctioned by the bill will undoubtedly be suffered most heavily by the poorer, least 
educated population of Maryland. These citizens are the least able to defend themselves 
from such enforcement. See, e.g., 
https://www.hrw.org/legacy/campaigns/race/criminal_justice.htm.  
 
The bill violates substantive due process. The State may not constitutionally condition the 
legality of possession of constitutionally protected property, such as a firearm, on 
compliance with prerequisites that are literally impossible to achieve, viz., the knowledge 
of all means of access that are possible. See, e.g., Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 
U.S. 1, 15 (1976) (noting a due process violation is established where “the legislature has 
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acted in an arbitrary and irrational way”); MHC Financing Ltd. Partnership v. City of San 
Rafael, 714 F.3d 1118 (9th Cir. 2013), cert. denied, 571 U.S. 1125 (2014) (“We will strike 
down a statute on substantive due process grounds if it is arbitrary and irrational.”). See 
also Broderick v. Rosner, 294 U.S. 629, 639 (1935) (Brandeis, J.) (invalidating a statute, in 
part, because it “imposes a condition which, as here applied, is legally impossible of 
fulfillment”). The bill fails these basic principles.  
 
Likewise hopelessly vague is the exemption for firearms left or stored unloaded and 
“RENDERED INOPERABLE TO ANYONE OTHER THAN AN ADULT.” It is virtually 
impossible to know what this means, as a practical matter. We know of no manner of storage 
in which the firearm is operable by an 18 year-old, but is not operable by a 17 year-old. The 
bill offers no definition for such storage. The ordinary gun owners would simply have to 
guess at the meaning of this requirement. Such a statute is facially unconstitutional. A 
penal statute must “define the criminal offense with sufficient definiteness that ordinary 
people can understand what conduct is prohibited and in a manner that does not encourage 
arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement.” Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 357 (1983). 
See also United States v. Davis, 139 S. Ct. 2319, 2325 (2019) (“Vague statutes threaten to 
hand responsibility for defining crimes to relatively unaccountable police, prosecutors, and 
judges, eroding the people’s ability to oversee the creation of the laws they are expected to 
abide.”). Thus, as the Maryland Court of Appeals has stressed, the General Assembly has 
an “obligation to establish adequate guidelines for enforcement of the law.” Ashton v. 
Brown, 339 Md. 70, 88, 660 A.2d 447, 456 (1995). This bill utterly fails that “obligation.” 
 
For the same reasons, the use of “could” makes the bill hopelessly vague and thus a violation 
of the Due Process Clause. The language of this bill leaves gun owners literally at sea 
concerning what is required and what is not and is an open invitation to arbitrary and 
discriminatory enforcement. Such a law is unconstitutionally vague. See Williams v. State, 
329 M.1, 9, 616 A.2d 1275, 1279 (1992) (“a statute must eschew arbitrary enforcement in 
addition to being intelligible to the reasonable person”). These vagueness principles are 
especially vigorously enforced by the courts where the vague statute could impact the 
exercise of constitutional rights. For example, in the City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 
41, 54 (1999), the Court struck down a Chicago ordinance that banned loitering as void for 
vagueness, noting that “the freedom to loiter for innocent purposes is part of the ‘liberty’ 
protected by the Due Process Clause.” Morales, 527 U.S. at 53. The Court found highly 
significant that the ordinance was a “criminal law that contains no mens rea requirement” 
and concluded “[w]hen vagueness permeates the text of such a law, it is subject to facial 
attack.” Id. at 55. As explained below, law abiding citizens have a constitutional right to 
possess firearms in their homes. Vagueness in the scope of the bill is thus particularly 
intolerable. There is nothing “imaginary” about the chilling effects the bill would have on a 
law-abiding adult’s constitutional right to possess an operable firearm in the home. Babbitt 
v. United Farm Workers Nat. Union, 442 U.S 289, 302 (1979). This bill fails these 
elementary notions of due process. 
 
Second Amendment: 
 
Such criminalization of home possession of a firearm is also unconstitutional under District 
of Columbia v. Heller, 554 U.S. 570 (2008). Under Heller, responsible, law-abiding adults 
have a constitutional right to keep firearms in the home in order to exercise their right of 
armed self-defense. The Second Amendment “elevates above all other interests the right of 
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law-abiding, responsible citizens to use arms in defense of hearth and home.” Heller, 554 
U.S. at 635. Thus, in Heller, the Supreme Court struck down as unconstitutional DC’s safe 
storage law that required a firearm to be “disassembled or bound by a trigger lock at all 
times.” (Id. at 628). The Court held this requirement unconstitutionally burdened the right 
to self-defense in the home because the requirement prevented residents from rendering 
their firearms “operable for the purpose of immediate self-defense.” Id. at 635 (emphasis 
added).  
 
The storage requirements imposed by the bill do not permit a homeowner to store a firearm 
that is “operable for the purpose of immediate self-defense.” Indeed, the bill denies to the 
minor any access necessary for his own self-defense or the defense of the family. Such 
instances do happen and the use of the firearm by a minor has saved lives. See, e.g., 
https://www.wsaz.com/content/news/Teenager-saves-sisters-from-intruder-
526277011.html; and https://www.chicagotribune.com/nation-world/ct-alabama-boy-shoots-
intruder-20160501-story.html and https://abc7.com/goldboro-police-goldsboro-break-in-s-
william-street-shooting-12-year-old-shoots-at-home-intruders/10339097/ and 
https://www.gunsandammo.com/editorial/14-year-old-boy-shoots-armed-intruder-i-
home/250189. That right of self-defense possessed by the minor is protected by existing 
Maryland law. Specifically, MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-133(d), provides that no person 
under the age of 21 may possess a regulated firearm (a handgun) unless supervised by a 
parent, an instructor or by a person over the age of 21. However, Section 5-133(d)(vi) 
expressly exempts from that prohibition “the possession of a firearm for self-defense or the 
defense of others against a trespasser into the residence of the person in possession or into 
a residence in which the person in possession is an invited guest.” This bill criminalizes the 
very possession expressly allowed by Section 5-133(d)(iv), with 2 years of imprisonment 
and/or a fine not exceeding $2,500. It common that older minors are left to supervise younger 
children in the household. This bill makes it impossible for a 17 year-old to defend herself 
or other members of the household, no matter how well trained that 17 year-old might be. 
Nothing in this bill allows access for purposes of self-defense or defense of others. 
 
The bill is even worse than the DC law struck down in Heller. Here, the gun owner is 
criminally liable if a minor “could” gain access, even though the LOADED OR UNLOADED 
firearm was locked up or even disassembled. That requirement applies unless “THE 
FIREARM IS LEFT OR STORED UNLOADED AND HAS BEEN RENDERED 
INOPERABLE TO ANYONE OTHER THAN AN ADULT” (whatever that means). Such 
storage makes it impossible to make use of the firearm for “immediate self-defense.” Heller, 
554 U.S. at 635. That sort of law is unprecedented. For example, in Jackson v. San 
Francisco, 746 F.3d 953 (9th Cir. 2014), cert. denied. 576 U.S. 1013 (2015), the Ninth Circuit 
sustained a San Francisco safe storage law that required that a handgun be locked up in a 
container or secured with a trigger lock. The Supreme Court denied review of the Ninth 
Circuit’s decision over the vigorous dissent of Justice Thomas and Justice Scalia, who opined 
that that law was contrary to Heller. Id. 135 S.Ct. at 2800-02. This bill applies to all 
firearms, not merely handguns and the storage requirement is more severe in that the 
firearms under the bill must be rendered inoperable to everyone other than an adult and 
punishes mere access that “could” be obtained. Locking up the firearms or attaching a 
trigger lock is insufficient under this bill.  
 
We believe that it is highly likely that the Supreme Court will, in an appropriate case, make 
clear that the “text, history and tradition” test is controlling in determining the 
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constitutionality of gun control legislation – not tiers of scrutiny. Four members of the 
Supreme Court recently employed this text, history and tradition approach in NY State 
Rifle & Pistol Ass’n, Inc. v. City of New York, 140 S.Ct. 1525 (2020), where a majority of the 
Court held that the case was mooted by the repeal of the offending City of New York 
ordinance. See id. at 1526 (Kavanaugh, J.) (concurring in judgment of mootness, but 
agreeing with Justice Alito’s discussion of Heller and McDonald on the merits); Id. at 1540-
41 (Alito, Thomas, Gorsuch, JJ., dissenting from the judgment of mootness but noting 
further on the merits that the City’s ordinance violated the Second Amendment under 
Heller and McDonald). Justice Thomas made the same point very recently in another case. 
Rogers, et al. v. Grewal, 140 S.Ct.1865, 1868 (2020) (Thomas, J., dissenting from denial of 
certiorari). See also Heller v. District of Columbia (i.e. “Heller II”), 670 F.3d 1244, 1269 (D.C. 
Cir. 2016) (Kavanaugh, J., dissenting) (“In my view, Heller and McDonald leave little doubt 
that courts are to assess gun bans and regulations based on text, history, and tradition, not 
by a balancing test such as strict or intermediate scrutiny.”). With Justice Barrett now 
joining the Court, we believe that a solid majority of the Court will adhere to these principles 
when the issue is presented in an appropriate case. See Kanter v. Barr, 919 F.3d 437, 452-
53 (7th Cir. 2019) (Barrett, J., dissenting). Indeed, in Wrenn v. District of Columbia, 864 
F.3d 650 (D.C. Cir. 2017), the D.C. Circuit applied this text, history and tradition test in 
striking down the carry statute enacted by the District of Columbia. Nothing in the text, 
history or tradition of the Second Amendment would remotely support the restrictions 
imposed by the bill. 
 
In any event, these storage requirements will fail under a tiers of scrutiny test. From the 
time that it adopted the two-part analysis in United States v. Chester, 628 F.3d 673 (4th 
Cir. 2010), the Fourth Circuit has stated repeatedly that if a challenged law implicates the 
core right of a law-abiding, responsible citizen to possess a firearm in his or her home, the 
law is subject to a strict scrutiny analysis. To satisfy strict scrutiny, the State must establish 
that the challenged laws are narrowly tailored to promote a compelling government interest. 
Centro Tepeyac v. Montgomery Cty., 722 F.3d 184, 189 (4th Cir. 2013). To be narrowly 
tailored under strict scrutiny, the law must employ the least restrictive means to achieve 
the interest. There is nothing “least restrictive” about the bill. Even under intermediate 
scrutiny, “[t]he burden of justification is demanding and it rests entirely on the State.” 
United States v. Virginia, 518 U.S. 515, 533 (1996). The State will have a difficult time 
carrying its burden to justify these storage requirements, even under intermediate scrutiny. 
The Supreme Court has made clear that “to survive intermediate scrutiny, a law must be 
‘narrowly tailored to serve a significant governmental interest.’” Packingham v. N.C., 137 
S. Ct. 1730, 1732 (2017) (quoting McCullen v. Coakley, 573 U.S. 464, 486 (2014)). This bill 
would fail that test as it is hardly “narrowly tailored.” See Johnson v. Lyon, 406 F.Supp.3d 
651, 669 (W.D. Mich. 2018) (denying the State’s motion to dismiss a suit challenging firearm 
safe storage requirements for foster parents under intermediate scrutiny).  
 
The Requirements Are Extreme: 
 
The strict storage requirements imposed by the bill stand alone. Only eleven states even 
have laws concerning storage. https://giffords.org/lawcenter/gun-laws/policy-areas/child-
consumer-safety/safe-storage/. No other state has ever enacted any requirements that come 
even close to those imposed by the bill. For example, only Massachusetts even requires that 
firearms be stored in a locked container and even that statute does not regulate minor 
access, much less access that “could” be had by a minor. Mass. General Laws c.140 § 131L(a). 
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That statute does not apply to firearms “carried by or under the control of the owner or other 
lawfully authorized user,” including minors. (Id.). California addresses access by minors, 
providing, in Cal. Penal Code § 25100, that a person may not “negligently store[] or leave[] 
a firearm in a location where the person knows, or reasonably should know, that a child is 
likely to gain access to the firearm without the permission of the child’s parent or legal 
guardian, unless reasonable action is taken by the person to secure the firearm against 
access by the child”) (emphasis supplied). California also creates safe harbors under Calif. 
Penal Code 25105, providing that the safe storage requirements of Section 25100 do not 
apply where “[t]he firearm is kept in a locked container or in a location that a reasonable 
person would believe to be secure,” or where the “[t]he person who keeps a firearm on 
premises that are under the person’s custody or control has no reasonable expectation, based 
on objective facts and circumstances, that a child is likely to be present on the premises.” 
Similarly, New York very recently (2019) enacted a storage bill which requires that a 
firearm be locked up if the owner “KNOWS, OR HAS REASON TO KNOW, THAT A 
PERSON LESS THAN SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE IS LIKELY TO GAIN ACCESS.” Senate 
Bill S.2450 (2019), amending N.Y. Penal Code 265.50. That bill completely exempted from 
its coverage a person under the age of 16 “WHO IS THE HOLDER OF A HUNTING 
LICENSE.” It further provides that the penalty for a failure to safety store firearms “IS A 
VIOLATION PUNISHABLE ONLY BY A FINE OF NOT MORE THAN TWO HUNDRED 
FIFTY DOLLARS.” Id.  
 
The bill goes far beyond such requirements. Indeed, the only general exemption from the 
criminal provisions of the bill is for firearms that are both stored unloaded and 
“RENDERED INOPERABLE TO ANYONE OTHER THAN AN ADULT.” Again, that 
provision is hopelessly vague; it is virtually impossible to think of a manner of storage in 
which the firearm is operable by an 18 year-old, but rendered inoperable by a 17 year-old. 
That requirement might be read, at best, as requiring that the firearm be stored completely 
inoperable, which was, of course, the very requirement that was struck down in Heller. The 
bill creates the impossible standard that the guns be operable only by an adult and thus 
access to an inoperable gun would violate the bill if it was possible for a minor to render it 
operable. If it possible for an adult to render the gun operable it most certainly will be 
possible for a 17 year-old to render it operable. The bill is too clever by half in its attempt to 
evade Heller. These requirements will not survive a court challenge.  
 
Finally, the bill would change the focus of existing law on a “loaded” gun into a ban on access 
to both a loaded and an unloaded gun. Reasonable limits on access to a loaded gun may 
make sense, as an untrained child might accidentally discharge a loaded gun. But to 
criminalize the possibility that a minor “could” access an unloaded gun makes no sense at 
all. An unloaded gun is no more dangerous than a brick and far less dangerous than a knife 
or a baseball bat or many other household items. In Heller, the Court stated that its ruling 
invalidating the DC law did not suggest “the invalidity of laws regulating the storage of 
firearms to prevent accidents.” (554 U.S. at 632). That dicta cannot be read as swallowing 
the holding in Heller. Thus, storage laws may not make it impossible or unreasonably 
difficult for the owner to use the firearm for “immediate” self-defense. For example, there is 
no risk of an “accident” with an unloaded gun. Criminalizing storage of an unloaded gun is 
thus particularly unjustifiable under Heller. What’s next? Bans on unsupervised access to 
kitchen knives?  
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CONCLUSION 
 
We urge an unfavorable report on this extreme bill. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Mark W. Pennak 
President, Maryland Shall Issue, Inc. 
mpennak@marylandshallissue.org 


