

10480 Little Patuxent Parkway, Ste 910, Columbia, MD 21044. Office 410-992-4258. Fax: 410-992-7732. www.marylandpsychology.org

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

January 16, 2021 President

Esther Finglass, PhD

President-elect Senator Paul G. Pinsky, Chair Linda McGhee, PsyD, JD

Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee

Past President Maryland Senate Kimberly Y. Campbell, PhD 11 Bladen Street

West Senate Office Building, Room 2 Secretary

Laura Schaffner Gray, PhD Annapolis, MD 21401

Treasurer

Bill: SB0161 - Task Force to Study Access to Mental Health Care in Higher Education Brian Corrado, PsyD

services to college students, with at least one being a psychologist."

The Maryland Psychological Association (MPA), which represents over 1,000 doctoral-

level psychologists from throughout the state, is writing in support of SB 161- Task Force to Study

Access to Mental Health Care in Higher Education, with the amended language offered changing

" (i) one psychiatrist; and (ii) one nurse psychotherapist experienced in providing mental health services " and adding "two clinical representatives of college counseling offices with expertise in providing mental health

We support the aims of the task force to improve mental health access and resources on college

campuses. Even prior to the impact of Covid-19, college mental health resources were strained, so an

in-depth look at how the college mental health system might be improved is greatly needed. We have

offered our amendment because psychologists currently provide the bulk of mental health services on

For these reasons, the Maryland Psychological Association asks for a FAVORABLE report on

Thank you for considering our comments on SB 161. If we can be of any further assistance, or if

you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the MPA Executive Director, Stefanie

college campuses and their viewpoints need to be considered in improving the system.

Reeves, MA, CAE at 410-992-4258 or exec@marylandpsychology.org.

Representatives-at-large

Andrea Chisolm, PhD **Position: Support with Amendment** Shalena Heard, PhD

Representative to APA Council Dear Chair Pinksy:

Katherine Killeen, PhD

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Communications

Robyn Waxman, PhD

Diversity Whitney Hobson, PsyD

Early Career Psychologist

Meghan Mattos, PsyD

Educational Affairs

Laurie Friedman Donze, PhD

Ethics

Cindy Sandler, PhD

Legislative

Pat Savage, PhD

Membership Rebecca Resnik, PsyD

Professional Practice

Selena Snow, PhD

OFFICER

Sincerely,

Senate Bill 161.

Esther Finglass

PROFESSIONAL AFFAIRS

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Paul C. Berman, PhD

Esther Finglass, Ph.D.

Stefanie Reeves, CAE President

Committee

R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D. Chair, MPA Legislative

R. Patrick Savage, Jr.,

cc: Richard Bloch, Esq., Counsel for Maryland Psychological Association Barbara Brocato & Dan Shattuck, MPA Government Affairs