

Larry Hogan Governor Boyd K. Rutherford Lt. Governor

James F. Ports, Jr. Secretary

March 24, 2022

The Honorable Guy Guzzone Chairman, Senate Budget and Taxation Committee 3 West Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: Letter of Information – House Bill 38 – Maryland Transportation Authority – Video Tolls -Collection

Dear Chairman Guzzone and Committee Members:

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) and the Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) take no position on House Bill 38 but offer the following information for the Committee's consideration.

House Bill 38 reinstates the provision that authorizes the MDTA to recall a delinquent account from the State's Central Collection Unit (CCU) if: (1) the delinquent account exceeds \$300 in unpaid video tolls and associated civil penalties; (2) the video tolls in question were assessed within a 30-day period; and (3) the MDTA determines that mitigating factors exist regarding the assessment of the unpaid video tolls and associated penalties. The legislation further authorizes the MDTA to waive any portion of the video toll due or civil penalty assessed if an account is recalled from CCU.

Reinstating the provisions of Senate Bill 973 of 2018, which abrogated on May 31, 2021, will allow the MDTA to resume the necessary flexibility to better serve customers. From mid-2013 through 2019, MDTA recalled or cancelled approximately 854,000 transactions from the CCU, totaling almost \$46 million. Of this amount, \$39.3 million of unpaid tolls and civil penalties were dismissed and \$5.8 million were paid.

Since 1971, the MDTA has been responsible for constructing, managing, operating, and improving the State's eight toll facilities, as well as financing new transportation projects under its purview, such as the Governor Harry W. Nice/Senator Thomas "Mac" Middleton Bridge in Charles County. The MDTA is entirely reliant on tolls collected from its users as the MDTA does not receive any state General Fund or Transportation Trust Fund dollars and is governed by an eight-member Board with the Secretary of Transportation serving as Chair.

The Maryland Department of Transportation and the Maryland Transportation Authority respectfully request the Committee consider this information when deliberating House Bill 38.

Respectfully submitted,

Brad Ryon Manager of Government Relations Maryland Transportation Authority 410-387-5253 Pilar Helm Director of Government Affairs Maryland Department of Transportation 410-865-1090