Washington Suburban Transit Commission Uploaded by: Marc Elrich

Position: FAV



OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

Marc Elrich
County Executive

March 31, 2022

TO: The Honorable Paul G. Pinsky

Chair, Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee

FROM: Marc Elrich

County Executive

RE: House Bill 535, Washington Suburban Transit Commission – Montgomery

County and Prince George's County Commissioners – Repeal of Term Limit

PG/MC 111-22

Support

The Washington Suburban Transit Commission is composed of seven members: (1) two individuals appointed by the County Executive of Montgomery County subject to confirmation by the County Council; (2) two individuals appointed by the County Executive of Prince George's County subject to confirmation by the County Council; (3) two individuals appointed by the Governor; and (4) the Secretary of the Maryland Department of Transportation serving as an ex officio member. One of the two members appointed by the County Executive of Prince George's County must be a member of the County Council. All appointed members serve four-year terms. Except for the one required member from the Prince Georges County Council (no term limit), all appointed members are prohibited from serving more than two consecutive terms. This bill repeals that term limit for the two members appointed by the County Executive of Montgomery County and the non-councilmember appointed Prince George's County.

I believe that this bill serves the public interest by allowing trusted individuals who have gained experience and expertise over time to be reappointed to the Commission when appropriate and respectfully request that the Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee give the bill a favorable report.

cc: Members of the Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee