

Larry Hogan Governor Boyd K. Rutherford Lt. Governor James F. Ports, Jr. Secretary

March 31, 2022

The Honorable Paul G. Pinsky Chairman, Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee 2 West Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: Letter of Information – House Bill 535 – Washington Suburban Transit Commission – Montgomery County Commissioners – Repeal of Term Limit

Dear Chairman Pinsky and Committee Members:

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) takes no position on House Bill 535 but offers the following information for the Committee's consideration.

House Bill 535 would lift the existing two term limit restriction for the Commissioners appointed to the Washington Suburban Transit (WSTC) Commission by the County Executive of Montgomery County and the County Executive of Prince George's County. Currently, six of the seven Commissioners on the WSTC are limited to two consecutive four-year terms; the seventh member of the Commission is the Secretary of Transportation.

As House Bill 535 is currently drafted, the gubernatorial appointees from Prince George's County and Montgomery County would remain constrained to two consecutive four-year terms on the Commission. To create parity among the appointees to the WSTC, it is requested that the Committee consider including the gubernatorial appointees to the Commissioners whose term limits would be repealed by House Bill 535.

Candidates who qualify to serve as Commissioners on the WSTC are often difficult to identify and take a significant amount of time to recruit. As a result, vacancies on the Commission, and carry-overs to avoid vacancies, are not uncommon. House Bill 535 provides the flexibility to retain Commissioners beyond the current two-term maximum. Under House Bill 535, Commissioners would continue to serve at the will and pleasure of their respective appointing authority.

The Maryland Department of Transportation respectfully requests the Committee consider this information when deliberating House Bill 535.

Respectfully submitted,

Pilar Helm Director of Government Affairs Maryland Department of Transportation 410-865-1090 Pat Pscherer Director, Washington Area Transit Office Maryland Department of Transportation 410-865-1101