MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763

> Senator Paul G. Pinsky Chair of Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee

2 West

Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy

kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 Re: Support of HB 0227: State Government – Legal and Employee Holiday – Juneteenth National Independence Day

Dear Chair Pinsky and Committee Members:

The City of College Park City Council voted unanimously on March 22, 2022, to support HB 0227 which would establish "Juneteenth National Independence Day" as a State legal and State employee holiday. This bill would follow on the actions of several Prince George's County municipalities, as well as the county itself, in recognizing this landmark day for civil rights and equality.

Juneteenth commemorates a day when the abolition of slavery became a reality for many Americans. Although President Abraham Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation on January 1, 1863, freedom did not become a reality for many enslaved people for years. Juneteenth commemorates the day when Major General Gordon Granger arrived in Galveston, Texas to enforce the emancipation of Texas' slaves. This occasion started what is now the oldest known celebration commemorating the end of slavery in the United States.

Juneteenth marks the nation's second Independence Day and should be recognized as a significant milestone in this country's history. We appreciate the opportunity to comment and look forward to your support of this important legislation.

Sincerely,

March 23, 2022

Patrick L. Wojahn

fts night

Mayor

MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn

pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy

kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126