CatH1 FOrRBES ’ ' The Maryland House of Delegates

Legisiative Districr 424 £ S 6 Bladen Sereet, Room 304
Baltimore County P ; = Annapolis, Maryland 21401
I.l ._1‘ ‘ 410-841-3487 + 301-858-3487

800-492-7122 Lxt. 3487
Catherine.Forbes@house.state.md.us

1 -~ . b ]
Appropriations Commirtee ; ‘-1‘ Il:.l

The Wary[and hf?me of ‘Delegates

ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND 21401

Testimony in Support of HB 1025
Vehicle Laws — Driver Education — Self-Paced Online Instruction
Testimony of Delegate Cathi Forbes
Hearing March 3, 2022 at 1:00 pm
Environment and Transportation

What this bill does

This bill would allow adults, 21 and older, to satisfy the required 30 hours of classroom
driver education by taking an online, self-paced course.

Why this bill matters

Unlike neighboring states, Maryland requires all first-time candidates for a driver’s
license, regardless of age, to complete a standard driver education program approved by the
state. Driver education in Maryland includes at least 30 hours of classroom instruction, and at
least 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction.

To working adults without a driver’s license, attending 30 hours of in-person classes may
be a barrier to licensing. This bill would allow people who choose this option to cover the same
material in an online, self-paced program, during hours that are most convenient for their lives.

This bill would not require all driving schools to offer this option. It would also not
change the requirement for students to take at least 6 hours of in-person, behind-the-wheel
driving instruction.

All Maryland driver education courses would continue to be taught by Maryland MVA
licensed and approved driver education schools and required to use MV A-approved standardized
curriculum.



Who benefits from this bill

Working adults who would like to get their driver’s license will benefit from the

flexibility an online course allows. Additionally, this may lower the cost for first time licensee
driver education courses which currently run up to $600.

What neighboring states require:

Delaware: There is no requirement to complete driver education if you are over the age of
18. If you are under 18, driver education is offered by law at all public and most non-
public high schools in Delaware for free. For those under 18, the required classes consist
of 30 hours of classroom time, 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction, and 7
hours of in-car observation.

Pennsylvania: There is no requirement to complete driver education. If you are under 18,
your parent or guardian must submit a form stating that the new driver has completed at
least 65 hours of practical driving experience with a licensed driver 21 or older.

Pennsylvania does offer a state-approved online class that is self-paced and available 24
hours a day, 7 days a week. Students can start the program, save their work, and go back
as often as they want to finish it. Although not required, students take advantage of this,
and often take behind-the-wheel driver education courses, because it may lower insurance
rates for those under 25.

Virginia only requires new adult driving applicants to take driver education if they want
to waive the requirement of holding a learner’s permit for 60 days before taking the road
skills test. Additionally, for permit holders under 18, who are required to take driver
education, they can substitute an online, self-paced course for the required 36-hour
classroom course.

West Virginia: Does not require driver education for any first time drivers.

Washington DC: Does not require driver education for any first time drivers.



https://www.dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/drivers_license/index.shtml?dc=dr_lic_apply&fbclid=IwAR3-bHvlhXu-d8Qa4Ol-ftH3J1keNkz3hWZ5fMc05qZikXHeBhz76FEYSuo
https://www.doe.k12.de.us/Page/3342?fbclid=IwAR3dE8z7aZYML9fAAT5hjhhTlqdyMsKtgIYlenNbvhGCH_ZK5RQ34DslT1w
https://www.doe.k12.de.us/Page/3342?fbclid=IwAR3dE8z7aZYML9fAAT5hjhhTlqdyMsKtgIYlenNbvhGCH_ZK5RQ34DslT1w
https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/Driver-Licensing/Pages/get-driver-license.aspx?fbclid=IwAR20RYFt-2ZjD__u0msuAwD9KTHmVbvc4W_RggkxH_8Q2Sji0ljwHwel0uU
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BDL/BDL%20Form/DL-180TD.pdf
https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/Driver-Licensing/Pages/get-driver-license.aspx?fbclid=IwAR20RYFt-2ZjD__u0msuAwD9KTHmVbvc4W_RggkxH_8Q2Sji0ljwHwel0uU
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/?fbclid=IwAR0gnbQUI5mU2eKkzMIzhT55PXhduPTbjZEkrDkvGahQUZueTLVh93b5mEY#dtsonline.asp
https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/Drivers/Pages/Drivers-Licenses.aspx?fbclid=IwAR3N2NOKY4a7030GklkIXaOsGtPAiBZ0YLFn8K637GmIl4E7KWeM4r_MzHU
https://dmv.dc.gov/service/learner-permits-and-provisional-licenses?fbclid=IwAR13O6_9zNL-Wwis3A9pU-xA2ac5fRIZEPEvr-qLX8xax55fo5Qy4-h4Ss0

Why you should vote for this bill

Expanding access to driver education is a matter of equity. While some may have the
time and financial means to attend an in-person 30-hour class, others do not. Lower-income
adults in particular often have work schedules with varying hours, including at night. They may
also be raising a family or paying caregivers, creating even more challenges for sitting in a
classroom. The cost, both in time and in money, is an unnecessary barrier for those seeking a
driver’s license.

Our method of driver education in Maryland has been unchanged for decades.
Meanwhile, the world continues to evolve. Technology has changed the way we vote,
communicate, and meet. We offer all kinds of college courses, and continuing education courses
online. We know this is possible, as other states are doing it. It’s time we move driver education
in to the 21% century.

| ask for a favorable report.

Thank you.



