

James Torrence, J.D. Seventh District, Baltimore City Council

100 Holliday Street, Room 521, Baltimore Maryland 21202 | 410-396-4810

February 8, 2022

Dear Honorable Members of the House Environment and Transportation Committee:

## House Bill 53 - Vehicle Laws - Dedicated Bus Lanes - Prohibition and Monitoring Systems

Good afternoon, Mr. Chairman and the honorable committee members. I am writing in support of House Bill 53 -- Vehicle Laws - Dedicated Bus Lanes - Prohibition and Monitoring Systems. This legislation, sponsored by Delegate Robbyn Lewis of Baltimore City, improves public safety, and creates additional revenue for Baltimore City. Notably, the fines collected from this bus lane monitoring system must be used by Baltimore City for public safety purposes, including pedestrian safety programs.

As a representative for Central West Baltimore, I understand that strategic investments in traffic calming, modernized infrastructure, and pedestrian safety can help achieve healthier, more equitable communities. For example, West North Ave is the second most utilized bus route in the state of Maryland. House Bill 53 allows Baltimore City to prioritize Baltimore Police Department and Maryland Transit Authority manpower for strategic deployments rather than using personnel for traffic enforcement. Also, this bill ensures a maximum fine of up to \$100. Ultimately, I am confident this legislation will help ensure residents have improved access to transportation for employment, education, and other critical services.

Thank you for your time and consideration. I ask the committee to render a favorable report for House Bill 53.

Sincerely,

James former, Sr.

James Torrence Baltimore City Council, District 7

CC: The Honorable Kumar P. Barve, Chair The Honorable Dana Stein, Vice-Chair The Honorable Marlon Amprey The Honorable Carl Anderton, Jr. The Honorable Regina T. Boyce The Honorable Barrie S. Ciliberti The Honorable Jerry Clark The Honorable Linda Foley The Honorable David Fraser-Hidalgo

The Honorable Jim Gilchrist The Honorable Anne Healey The Honorable Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. The Honorable Jay A. Jacobs The Honorable Jay Jalisi The Honorable Mary A. Lehman The Honorable Brooke E. Lierman The Honorable Sara Love The Honorable Charles J. Otto The Honorable Neil Parrott The Honorable Roxane Prettyman The Honorable Sheila Ruth The Honorable Stewart Vaughn The Honorable Jen Terrasa The Honorable Melissa Wells The Honorable William J. Wivell