

January 31, 2022

To: House Environment and Transportation Committee

Re: HB 217 Task Force on Recycling Policy and Recycling and Waste Systems in Maryland

The Maryland Recycling Network promotes sustainable reduction, reuse and recycling (the 3 "R's") of materials otherwise destined for disposal and the purchase of products made with recycled material content. We achieve these goals through education programs, advocacy activities to affect public policy, technical assistance efforts, and the development of markets to purchase recycled materials and manufacture products with recycled content.

The Maryland Recycling Network (MRN) enthusiastically supports House Bill 217, sponsored by Delegates Sara Love and Sheila Ruth, which calls for the creation of a Task Force consisting of 21 key stakeholders from throughout the state to review the Maryland Recycling Act along with studying Maryland's recycling and waste systems and to make recommendations on updating the Act and recommendations for improving waste and recycling in Maryland.

Careful review of the Maryland Recycling Act, enacted in 1988, is most appropriate given the passage of 34 years. It is important to ensure the act is updated to embody the best of environmental objectives, as it is appropriate to improve how Maryland's local governments manage recycling and waste. Furthermore, we appreciate that House Bill 217 provides for an MRN representative to serve on the Task Force.

The Maryland Recycling Network stands ready to serve as a sounding board and resource for legislators and others interested in pursuing our mission. Please do not hesitate to contact me via email phoustle@marylandrecyclingnetwork.org, phone 301-725-2508 or mail - MRN, PO Box 1640, Columbia MD 21044 if you have any questions or would like additional information regarding the above.

We look forward to working with you to continue the strides we have all made to improve Maryland's recycling programs in a time- and cost-effective manner.

Sincerely,

Howald

Peter M. Houstle Executive Director