

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

Marc Elrich County Executive

March 10, 2022

TO:	The Honorable Kumar P. Barve Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee
FROM:	Marc Elrich County Executive
RE:	House Bill 535, Washington Suburban Transit Commission – Montgomery County Commissioners – Repeal of Term Limit PG/MC 111-22 Support

The Washington Suburban Transit Commission is composed of: (1) two members appointed by the County Executive of Montgomery County subject to confirmation by the County Council; (2) two members appointed by the County Executive of Prince George's County subject to confirmation by the County Council; (3) two members appointed by the Governor; and (4) the Secretary of the Maryland Department of Transportation serving as an ex officio member. One of the two members appointed by the County Executive of Prince George's County must be a member of the County Council. All appointed members serve four-year terms. Except for the required member from the Prince Georges County Council, all appointed members are prohibited from serving more than two consecutive terms.

House Bill 535 repeals the term limits for the two members appointed by the County Executive of Montgomery County. I believe that the bill serves the public interest by allowing trusted individuals who have gained experience and expertise over time to be reappointed to the Commission when appropriate and respectfully request that the Environment and Transportation Committee give the bill a favorable report.