

MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763 January 11, 2022

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy

kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 Delegate Kumar Barve, Chair Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: HB 0137/SB0087 Vehicle Laws – Intersections – Prohibited Acts

Dear Chair Barve and Committee Members:

The College Park City Council voted on January 11, 2022 to support HB 0137. This "Don't Block the Box" legislation supports safe driving habits and practices that reduce congestion at signalized intersections. College Park is challenged with two such problematic intersections on US 1 at 495 and US 1 at Cherry Hill/Edgewood Road. We believe this legislation will help strengthen enforcement that will keep intersections clear and increase safety on our major roads.

We appreciate the work your committee has done on this bill and other transportation bills to increase safety.

On behalf of the City Council and our residents, I respectfully request your continued support for this legislation.

Sincerely,

Patrick L. Wojahn

Mayor

cc: Judicial Proceedings Committee, Honorable Smith, Chair 21st District Delegation