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Testimony to the House Environment & Transportation Committee

HB 368-Motor Vehicle Registration Clarification Act

Position: Favorable

February 9, 2022

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve, Chair
Environment and Transportation Committee
Room 251, HOB
Annapolis, MD 21401
cc: Members, Environment and Transportation Committee

Honorable Chair Barve and Members of the Committee:

The Maryland Consumer Rights Coalition (MCRC) is a statewide coalition of individuals and
organizations that advances economic rights  and financial inclusion for Maryland consumers
through research, education, direct service, and advocacy. Our 8,500 supporters include
consumer advocates, practitioners, and low-income and working families throughout Maryland.

We are writing today in support of HB 368. HB 368 prohibits the Motor Vehicle Administration
from assessing a penalty for a vehicle whose required security has terminated or lapsed if the
vehicle's certificate of title has been transferred to a new owner and the vehicle's registration
plates are returned to the Administration within 10 days after the termination or lapse

In 2018, MCRC’s research report No Exit documented Maryland’s debt collection processes as
well as policies that criminalize poverty. Fines and fees are one set of policies that criminalize
poverty among Maryland residents. Several years ago, MCRC supported legislation to delink
drivers licenses renewals from fines and fees. Similarly, HB 368 prohibits penalizing a driver
under limited circumstances in order to limit punitive fines and fees that for Maryland
consumers.

For all of these reasons, we support HB 368 and request a favorable report.

Best,

Marceline White
Executive Director

https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5b05bed59772ae16550f90de/t/5e386650508cf9453d60655a/1580754517526/MCRC+75+Bound+As+Previous+order+b%26w+No+Exit+Report.pdf
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Motor Vehicle Registration Clarification Act (HB 368) 

Testimony of Delegate Marc Korman—Favorable with Amendments  

 

Thank you Mr. Chair, Mr. Vice Chair and members of the Environment and Transportation 

Committee.  I come before you today to present the Motor Vehicle Registration Clarification 

Act.  The legislation makes a simple, technical change to the Motor Vehicle Administration’s 

(MVA) practice of processing returned licensed plates.  It was brought to my office’s attention 

by a constituent that an error in the MVA system was causing penalties to be issued to vehicle 

owners who had cancelled insurance after returning their license plates, but before the plates had 

been processed by MVA.  The bill will require the MVA to pause 10 days before assessing the 

penalties to ensure that a delay in processing the plates does not lead to an erroneous penalty.   

The legislation should not impact MVA’s financials.  As was the case for our constituent, MVA 

usually refunds the erroneously issued fine once the error is flagged for them by the vehicle 

owner.  However, the burden should not be placed on vehicle owner to reach out to MVA to 

rectify the error.  The 10 day pause mandated by the bill will give MVA enough time to confirm 

that the plates were properly returned before issuing a penalty for lapse of insurance.  The 

change will save time for both MVA and vehicle owners by eliminating the possibility of an 

erroneous fine.   

I have had productive conversations with MVA regarding the legislation and they have 

expressed willingness to expand the 10 day waiting period for the following situations as well: 

 Customers that have moved out of state and are returning tags by mail. 

 Totaled vehicles that have been deemed salvage and the plates have not returned. 

 A licensed dealer that has taken possession of the vehicle with a promise to return but 

there is an unexpected delay in delivery. 

I look forward to working with MVA and the committee on incorporating these amendments.  

Overall, these changes will improve efficiency and will save MVA valuable administrative time 

and resources by reducing the number of erroneous fines that need to be corrected.  I urge a 

favorable report.  
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Motor Vehicle Registration Clarification Act (HB 368) 

Testimony of Donald Beers—Favorable  

 

To: House Environment and Transportation Committee 

I wish to thank the legislature for considering this bill, which is a technical fix to a problem that is 

unintentionally created by the current legislative language.  The current language has resulted in a 

waste of the time and resources of the state government and of Maryland citizens.   

I want to make it clear that this proposed amendment, which I think was initially prompted by my own 

experience, should not be considered an attack on the MVA or its actions. I have recently retired from 

Federal government service and have often had to deal with situations in which the government 

agencies are blamed for problems that are inadvertent results of the laws that they are assigned to 

administer.   

My own experience illustrates the problem that HB 368 would fix:  

On the evening of July 2 of last year, I traded in the car that I had been driving at a dealership.  On July 3, 

I returned the license plates for that car, leaving them in the self-service drop box at the MVA facility in 

Rockville.  The MVA subsequently acknowledged receipt of the plates and refunded the unused portion 

of my registration fee. 

On July 23, MVA issued a notice stating that I was being assessed a $150 fine because the plates that I 

had turned in were not covered by insurance.  I called the MVA to try to clear this up.  After a great deal 

of difficulty getting through to the right person, I was able to speak with a representative, who checked 

the information that I provided and closed the matter without me paying the fine.  The representative 

confirmed that this process—notice of fines that are essentially mistakes followed by contacting the 

MVA to explain the circumstances followed by having the fine remitted—is not uncommon. 

I have to assume that the fine notices are issued automatically pursuant to some computer program 

that reflects current law.  This of course ends up in a waste of MVA resources (in my own case I spoke 

with 3 different people at the MVA before I got through to the right person) and serves only to cause 

distress for citizens for no gain whatsoever to the state. 

HB 368 is a simple fix to this problem, and I encourage its passage. Since currently almost anyone who 

would be exempted by this bill would be expected to contact the MVA, explain the situation, and have 

the fine remitted, there would be no loss of revenue to the state and those at MVA who have to deal 

with these calls could work on other matters.  This seems, to me at least, a reasonable way to address 

this issue that should not have any opposition.   

This is, I know, a small matter in the scheme of things, but it is a problem with a solution.  I hope it will 
be adopted.   

Donald O. Beers                                                                                                                                                            
29 Wellesley Circle                                                                                                                                                    
Glen Echo, Maryland 
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February 10, 2022 

 

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve  

Chairman, House Environment and Transportation Committee 

251 House Office Building 

Annapolis, MD 21401 

 

RE:  Letter of Information – House Bill 368 – Vehicle Laws - Penalties for Lapse of Security - 

Transferred Certificate of Title (Motor Vehicle Registration Clarification Act) 

 

Dear Chairman Barve and Committee Members: 

 

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) takes no position on House Bill 368 but offers the 

following information for the Committee’s consideration.    

 

House Bill 368 would prohibit the MDOT Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) from assessing a 

penalty for an insurance lapse if a vehicle’s previous owner returns the registration plates to the MDOT 

MVA and the vehicle’s title is transferred within 10 days of selling a vehicle. 

 

Currently, the MDOT MVA requires customers to return tags before cancelling insurance on a vehicle. If 

a customer cancels their insurance prior to receiving a receipt for returning their tags, this can result in a 

fine being assessed for a lapse in insurance coverage.   

 

The quickest way to obtain a receipt is via in-person branch visits, which does not require an 

appointment. When customers return tags this way, a tag return receipt is processed at the time of the 

transaction and either a hard copy or email is provided immediately. Under current procedures, customers 

can immediately cancel insurance after the return of tags is completed, and no fine will result.   

 

Customers also can return tags to 24/7 drop boxes, currently located at nine MDOT MVA branches across 

Maryland. In order to expand this service, the MDOT MVA is actively working to install drop boxes at 

all full-time branch offices statewide. Alternatively, should customers be unable to visit a branch or drop 

box, customers are able to mail the tags to the MDOT MVA headquarters in Glen Burnie. Once the return 

has been processed by either method, customers can download a copy of their tag return receipt via the 

MDOT MVA’s online portal; should the customer elect to use one a drop box service, they are able to 

scan the QR Code on the drop box to access the return receipt. Returns may take up to three days for 

processing, but the date provided on the return form by the customer is the official date logged for the 

return of the tags. Customers receive a five-day grace period between the tag return date and cancellation 

of insurance to ensure they are fined unnecessarily, as well as additional safeguards. Through the use of 

these three methods, the MDOT MVA processed over 818,000 tag returns in calendar year 2021. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



The Honorable Kumar P. Barve 

Page Two 

 

There are an additional three occurrences in which House Bill 368 could be expanded to provide 

additional customer service enhancements: (1) customers that move out of State and return tags by mail 

(2) vehicles that are totaled but deemed salvage, and (3) instances in which a licensed dealer has taken 

possession of the vehicle with a promise to return, but there is an unexpected delay in delivery within the 

existing five-day window. The MDOT MVA welcomes this reform as the inclusion will offer greater 

flexibility and expand the agency’s premier customer service.  

 

The Maryland Department of Transportation respectfully requests the Committee consider this 

information when deliberating House Bill 368. 

 

Respectfully Submitted,  

 

Christine E. Nizer     Pilar Helm 

Administrator     Director of Government Affairs 

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration  Maryland Department of Transportation 

410-787-7830                                           410-865-1090 

 

 


