

February 15, 2022

The Honorable William C. Ferguson IV President of the Senate Maryland State House, H-107 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401

The Honorable Bryan W. Simonaire Senate Minority Leader James Senate Office Building, Room 320 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

The Honorable Guy J. Guzzone Senate Budget & Tax Committee Chair

Miller Senate Office Building, 3 West 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401 The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones House Speaker Maryland State House, H-101 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401

The Honorable Jason C. Buckel House Minority Leader House Office Building, Room 212 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

The Honorable Kumar Barve
House Environment & Transportation
Committee Chair
House Office Building, Room 121
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 516/HB 710 - Equitable and Inclusive Transit-Oriented Development Enhancement Act

Dear President Ferguson, Speaker Jones, Minority Leaders Simonaire and Buckel, and Chairs Guzzone and Barve,

On behalf of its business industry members, the BWI Business Partnership respectfully submits this letter to share our support of the above-referenced legislation, which will provide more opportunities and financial incentives for transit-oriented development at the 17 State designated TOD sites.

As these types of projects are more costly to develop due to higher land costs, additional infrastructure features such as bus facilities, sidewalks and parking structures, having financial incentives to off-set some of these costs will bring more opportunities to our region. Transit-oriented developments provide a place where people can live, work, and play thus helping to minimize the number of vehicles commuting and lessen traffic on our roads and highways along with the opportunity for residents, especially low-income, that may not have their own transportation and rely on transit to live near places of employment.

Thank you for your consideration of our comments and concerns.

Sincerely,

Gina Stewart, Executive Director BWI Business Partnership

CC: Honorable Malcolm Augustine and Honorable Pamela Beidle