

10480 Little Patuxent Parkway, Ste 910, Columbia, MD 21044. Office 410-992-4258. Fax: 410-992-7732. www.marylandpsychology.org

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

President

Linda McGhee, PsyD, JD January 24, 2022

President-elect

Rebecca Resnik, PsyD Shane Pendergrass, Chair

Health and Government Operations Committee Past President

Esther Finglass, PhD Room 240

House Office Building Tanya Morrel, PhD Annapolis, MD 21401

Treasurer

Brian Corrado, PsyD RE: HB 32 Mental Health Law – Petitions for Emergency Evaluations – Electronic Records

Representatives-at-large

Shalena Heard, PhD Position: **Support** Jessica Rothstein, PsyD

Representative to APA Council

Katherine Killeen, PhD

Dear Chair, Vice Chair, and Committee Members:

for a **FAVORABLE** report on HB 32.

4258 or exec@marylandpsychology.org.

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Communications Robyn Waxman, PhD The Maryland Psychological Association represents over 1000 doctoral level psychologists throughout the state. We write in support of HB 32, which would allow the authorization of a

petition or emergency evaluation to be in the form of an electronic record.

Diversity

Whitney Hobson, PsyD

Early Career Psychologist Meghan Mattos, PsyD

This bill would allow providers to take advantage of new technologies, which allow for the more efficient care of Marylanders. Additionally, it would help to reduce the paperwork burden faced by

For these and many other reasons noted above the Maryland Psychological Association asks

Thank you for considering our comments on HB 32. If we can be of any further assistance as the House - Government and Operations Committee considers this bill, please do not

hesitate to contact the MPA Executive Director, Stefanie Reeves, MA, CAE at 410-992-

providers in today's hectic and at times frantic world of healthcare.

Educational Affairs

Laurie Friedman Donze, PhD

Cindy Sandler, PhD

Legislative Pat Savage, PhD

Membership Linda Herbert, PhD

Professional Practice Selena Snow, PhD

Sincerely,

PROFESSIONAL AFFAIRS

Qinda McGhee

Linda Mcghee, Ph.D. **OFFICER** President Paul C. Berman, PhD

R. Patrick Savage, Jr. R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D.

Chair, MPA Legislative Committee

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Stefanie Reeves, CAE

ce: Richard Bloch, Esq., Counsel for Maryland Psychological Association Barbara Brocato & Dan Shattuck, MPA Government Affairs