DANIEL L. COX Legislative District 4 Frederick and Carroll Counties

Judiciary Committee

Subcommittees Civil Law and Procedure Family and Juvenile Law

Task Force to Study Crime Classification and Penalties



The Maryland House of Delegates 6 Bladen Street, Room 326 Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3288 · 301-858-3288 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3288 Dan.Cox@house.state.md.us

THE MARYLAND HOUSE OF DELEGATES Annapolis, Maryland 21401

February 23, 2022

Favorable Testimony HB590

Handgun Permit Holders – Authority to Carry Handguns in State Parks and Forests

Chair Clippinger, Vice Chair Moon and members of the committee:

HB590 is a common sense bill which allows those who have been granted a permit to carry a licensed firearm the ability to continue to carry that firearm into State Forests and Parks while hiking, camping and otherwise enjoying the beauty of the outdoors.

Maryland residents who have been granted a carry permit have been well vetted through an extensive process outlined below. Part of the process is the determination that a firearm is needed for that person, based on their circumstances, "6. Has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as finding that the permit is necessary *as a reasonable precaution against danger*."

Enjoying a state park or forest does not diminish the good and substantial reason that the applicant has to qualify for a permit.

HB590 will also bring consistency to the Natural Resources code by bringing the section on State Parks and Forests in line with the section on Wildlife Management Areas, which allows a bow hunter who has a carry permit to carry a firearm (§10–408(b)(2)(iii)"Is carrying the handgun for personal protection").

The same person can hunt with a bow and carry a firearm for protection, but not simply hike with a firearm for protection. This does not make sense.

I respectfully ask for a favorable report on HB590 Handgun Permit Holders – Authority to Carry Handguns in State Parks and Forests.

This is the extensive application process to obtain a Carry Permit:

Training must be successfully completed prior to submitting the application, unless you are exempt from training.

Wear and Carry Permit Training

Wear and Carry Permit training is **16 hours** of instruction for an **original** application and **8 hours** of instruction for a **renewal** application. The approved training is offered by a Qualified Handgun Instructor and will include instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, handgun mechanisms and operation, and a component that requires the applicant to demonstrate gun safety and proficiency with a minimum score of 70% accuracy.

Designated security personnel (security guards, private detectives, special police, and armored car drivers/guards) must shoot a practical police course of at least 50 rounds, from no further than 25 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.

All other applicants must shoot a course of at least 25 rounds, from no further than 15 yards and score at least 70% accuracy.

Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:

- An applicant between 18 and 21 years of age may only be issued a wear and carry permit to possess a regulated firearm required for employment. - P.S. 5-133 (d)(2)(v)
- 2. Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.
- 3. Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;
- 4. Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;
- 5. Based on an investigation, has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person's possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others;

- 6. Has a **good and substantial reason** to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as finding that the permit is necessary as a reasonable precaution against danger.
- 7. As of October 1, 2013, has successfully completed the Maryland State Police <u>approved firearms training course</u> within 2 years **prior** to submitting the original or renewal application.

How To Apply

As of October 1, 2013, all new, renewal, and subsequent applicants must successfully complete required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting the application.

As of October 1, 2016 Fingerprints will no longer be required for renewal application submissions. Fingerprints are still required for all initial/original Handgun Permit applications. (MD SB208 2016)

As of October 1, 2019, all Wear and Carry permit applications (original, renewal and subsequent) and requests (modification and replacement) must be submitted online in the Licensing Portal. All documentation requirements and any clarifications you feel may assist investigators in processing your applications must be uploaded and electronically attached to the application in the Licensing Portal. You may access the Licensing Portal by clicking the link below:

Licensing Portal

The minimum documentation required for the acceptance of the Wear and Carry permit application are:

- Color passport-size photograph
- Electronic fingerprint transmission receipt
- Certificate of Handgun Training or documentation of exemption

Respectfully,

La Cx

Delegate Dan Cox, District 4 Frederick and Carroll Counties