
  

 

 

 

 

Waiting for Relief: 
A National Survey of Waiting Periods  

for Record Clearing  
 

By Margaret Love & David Schlussel 

February 2022 

 

 



 i 

 

  

The Collateral Consequences Resource Center (CCRC) is a non-profit 
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myriad issues raised by the collateral consequences of arrest or conviction. 

Collateral consequences are the legal restrictions and societal stigma that 

burden people with a criminal record long after their criminal case is 

closed. The Center provides news and commentary about this dynamic 

area of the law, and a variety of research and practice materials aimed at 

legal and policy advocates, courts, scholars, lawmakers, and those most 

directly affected by criminal justice involvement. 

Through our flagship resource, the Restoration of Rights Project (RRP), we 

describe and analyze the various laws and practices relating to restoration 

of rights and criminal record relief in each U.S. jurisdiction. In addition to 

these state-by-state profiles, a series of 50-state comparison charts and 

periodic reports on new enactments make it possible to see national 

patterns and emerging trends in formal efforts to mitigate the adverse 

impact of a criminal record. We develop and advocate for policy reforms, 

provide technical support to those working to expand restoration 

mechanisms, participate in court cases challenging specific collateral 

consequences, and engage with social media and journalists on these 

issues. For more information, visit the CCRC website 

at http://ccresourcecenter.org. 
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 Introduction and Overview 

 

• Background: This report is the first-ever comprehensive national survey of the 

period of time a person, who is otherwise eligible to expunge or seal a misdemeanor 

or felony conviction record, must wait before obtaining this relief. Waiting periods 

are usually established by statute and can range from 0 to 20 years, a period that 

typically (though by no means invariably) commences after completion of the court-

imposed sentence. Also typically, during a waiting period the person must be free 

from certain forms of involvement with the justice system: from a felony conviction, 

from any conviction, or from any arrest, again depending on state law. These and 

other conditions and circumstances may extend (or occasionally shorten) the length 

of a waiting period in specific cases.  

• Contents of the Report: Following this introduction, the report consists of two 50-

state Tables, one showing the waiting periods applicable to clearing of 

misdemeanors, and the other showing the waiting periods applicable to clearing of 

felonies, with states that have no general record clearing listed at the bottom of each 

table. The Tables are followed by maps showing the geographical distribution of 

waiting periods for each type of conviction. The maps are followed by an appendix 

describing in greater detail the laws governing waiting periods in each of the 

jurisdictions studied.  

• Summary of 50-state research results: 

o The waiting periods for misdemeanor convictions range from a high of 10 or 

15 years in Maryland (depending on the nature of the offense) to 0 years in 

Mississippi (although only first-time offenses are eligible), with most states 

falling at the lower end of that range. Of the 44 states that authorize clearing 

of misdemeanor convictions, a near-majority have waiting periods of 3 years 

or less (19 states) and the vast majority have waiting periods of 5 years or less 

(35 states).  

o The waiting periods for felony convictions range from as high as 10 or 20 years 

in North Carolina to as low as 0-2 years in California, with most states falling 

at the lower end of that range. Of the 35 states that authorize clearing of felony 

convictions, a near-majority have waiting periods of 7 years or less (17 states). 

• Comment on methodology: This report deals only with waiting periods, and only 

with those applicable to general record clearing of felony and misdemeanor 
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convictions. Different waiting periods may apply to specialized record-clearing 

programs such as those that apply to victims of human trafficking, decriminalized 

offenses (e.g., marijuana), and so-called youthful offender programs. It also does not 

take account of other eligibility requirements that typically apply that could extend 

the waiting period, including completion of supervision and/or payment of court 

debt, or potential extensions related to prior, subsequent, and pending criminal 

matters. It does not consider provisions allowing the DA to consent to shorten waiting 

periods.  

The Tables are based only on the length of the waiting period specified in statute. 

Insofar as practicable, the charts account for differences in when the waiting period 

commences (e.g., upon conviction, upon release from incarceration, upon completion 

of supervision, upon completion of sentence including payment of court debt). 

Further information about states in the far righthand column of the Tables may be 

found in the state-specific write-ups in the Appendix or in the state-specific profiles 

from CCRC’s Restoration of Rights Project.  

• Considerations for assessing the efficacy of waiting periods:  In assessing how 

waiting periods affect the efficacy of a particular state’s record clearing system, it is 

important to consider whether some states with shorter waiting periods authorize 

clearance of a narrower set of convictions, and, conversely, whether some states with 

longer periods may authorize clearing of a broader set of convictions. In many if not 

most cases, other variables (including but not limited to those mentioned in the 

foregoing paragraph) will have to be brought into play to provide a fair assessment.  

• The changing concept (and length) of waiting periods: Many waiting periods, 

notably longer ones, reflect a concept of record clearing via expungement or sealing 

as “recognition of successful rehabilitation and reason to terminate legal 

disqualifications and disabilities.”1 In recent years, however, many states have 

shortened waiting periods in recognition of the constructive role that record 

clearance plays in facilitating reentry and rehabilitation, reasoning that individuals 

“need the most assistance immediately after release from prison or termination of 

sentence.”2  

 

 
1 James Jacobs, THE ETERNAL CRIMINAL RECORD 131 (Harvard Univ. Press 2015). 

2 Id. See also Brian M. Murray, Retributive Expungement, 169 U. Pa. L. Rev. 665, 695 (2021); J.J. Prescott 
& Sonja B. Starr, Expungement of Criminal Convictions: An Empirical Study, 133 Harvard L. Rev. 2460, 
2479 (2020); Jeffrey Selbin et al., Unmarked? Criminal Record Clearing and Employment Outcomes, 
108 J. Crim. L. Criminology 1, 52 (2018). 
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Since 2016, thirteen (13) states have reduced their waiting periods, four (4) states 

more than once. The seven (7) states that have enacted a general conviction sealing 

authority for the first time since 2018 have generally (though not invariably) 

provided shorter waiting periods than states with more venerable systems.3 States 

that have reduced their waiting periods in recent years, or enacted new record 

clearing laws for the first time, tend to be geographically and politically diverse. The 

Tables show that the states with the longest waiting periods in the country are on the 

East Coast, with all but one in the Mid-Atlantic region. 
  

• Waiting periods and public safety:  Data on recidivism dating from the 1990s 

reinforced policy arguments that waiting periods should be long enough to reduce 

the risk of reoffending after record clearance. But new research on recidivism 

suggests that shorter waiting periods need not raise public safety concerns. 

Researchers at the RAND Corporation have raised questions about decades of 

received truth about the prevalence of reoffending after people leave prison, 

proposing that the majority of individuals with a conviction do not have a subsequent 

conviction, and that a person’s likelihood of being convicted again declines rapidly as 

more time passes.4 This new research would seem to cast doubt on the legitimacy of 

concerns that shortening waiting periods necessarily raises public safety concerns.  

Indeed, to the contrary, it suggests that it may be possible to reconcile the seemingly 

inconsistent policy goals of facilitating and recognizing rehabilitation through shorter 

waiting periods.  

 

 

 

 

 
3 States that have reduced their eligibility waiting periods since 2016 are Arkansas, Massachusetts, 
Michigan, Missouri (twice), Nevada, New Jersey (twice), North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma (twice), 
Oregon, South Dakota, Vermont (twice), Washington. States that have enacted a general conviction 
sealing authority for the first time since 2018 are Alabama, Arizona, Connecticut, New Mexico, North 
Dakota, Virginia, West Virginia. Additional information about waiting periods in these states can be 
found in the Restoration of Rights Project. 

4 Shawn Bushway et al., Providing Another Chance: Resetting Recidivism Risk in Criminal Background 
Checks, RAND Corp. (2022), https://doi.org/10.7249/RRA1360-1.  
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50-State Table #1: Misdemeanor Convictions  

Waiting Periods for Record Clearing (Expungement or Sealing) 

 
No 

waiting 
period 

From 
conviction 

From 
completion of 
incarceration 

From completion 
of incarceration 
and supervision  

From another  
starting point* 

<3 MS: 0 yrs.   WV: 1 or 2 yrs. CA: 0 or 1 yrs. 

<3     OH, MO: 1 yr. 

<3     TX: 0 or 2 yrs. 

<3     NV: 1 or 2 yrs. 

<3     NM: 2 yrs. 

<5  AL, ND: 3 yrs. OR: 1 or 3 yrs. CO, KS: 3 yrs. AZ, NH: 2 or 3 yrs. 

<5   MA: 3 yrs.  IL, WA: 3 yrs. 

<5    MN: 2 or 4 yrs. GA: 4 yrs. 

<6  SC: 3 or 5 yrs.  OK: 0 or 5 yrs. AR: 0 or 5 yrs. 

<6    UT: 3 or 5 yrs.† MI, NJ: 3 or 5 yrs.† 

<6  IN, SD: 5 yrs.  
KY, LA, RI, TN, 
VT, WY: 5 yrs. 

MT: 5 yrs. 

<8   VA: 7 yrs.  DE: 3-7 yrs.† 

<8    NC: 5 or 7 yrs. CT: 7 yrs. 

<10  IA: 8 yrs.  DC: 8 yrs.  

10+  PA: 10 yrs. NY: 10 yrs. MD: 10 or 15 yrs.  

AK, Federal, FL, HI, ID, ME, NE, WI: No general record clearing for misdemeanor convictions 

 
* See the Appendix for more details. Note that some of these states require payment of court debt 
before the waiting period begins to run. For more information on court debt as a barrier to record 
clearing, see a new report by CCRC and the National Consumer Law Center: The High Cost of a Fresh 
Start, A State-by-State Analysis of Court Debt as a Bar to Record Clearing (Feb. 2022).  
† These states’ automatic record clearing laws have different waiting periods (than those reflected in 
the chart): 5 years in Delaware; 7 years in Michigan; 10 years in New Jersey; and 5, 6, or 7 years in 
Utah. See the Appendix for more information. 
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50-State Table #2: Felony Convictions  

Waiting Periods for Record Clearing (e.g., Expungement or Sealing) 

 
From 

conviction 

From 
completion of 
incarceration 

From completion of 
incarceration & 

supervision 

From another  
starting point‡ 

<4    CA: 0-2 yrs. 

<4    OH: 1 or 3 yrs. 

<4    IL, MO: 3 yrs. 

<6    AR: 0 or 5 yrs. 

<6   CO: 3 or 5 yrs. NJ: 4 or 5 yrs.§ 

<6   
KS, KY, MN, VT, WV: 5 

yrs. 
MS: 5 yrs. 

<8  OR: 5 or 7 yrs. UT: 7 yrs. MI: 5 or 7 yrs.§ 

<8  MA: 7 yrs.  DE: 7 yrs.§ 

<11 ND: 5 or 10 yrs. NY, VA: 10 yrs. OK, TN, WA: 5 or 10 yrs. NV: 2-10 yrs. 

<11 IN: 8 or 10 yrs.  LA, RI: 10 yrs. NM: 4-10 yrs. 

<11    
AZ, NH: 5 or 10 

yrs. 

<11    CT, WY: 10 yrs. 

<21   NC: 10 or 20 yrs.  

<21   MD: 15 yrs.  

AL, AK, DC, Federal, FL, GA, HI, ID, IA, ME, MT, NE, PA, SC, SD, TX, WI:  
No general record clearing for felony convictions 

 
‡ See the Appendix for more details. Note that some of these states require payment of court debt 
before the waiting period begins to run. For more information on court debt as a barrier to record 
clearing, see a new report by CCRC and the National Consumer Law Center: The High Cost of a Fresh 
Start, A State-by-State Analysis of Court Debt as a Bar to Record Clearing (Feb. 2022).  
§ These states’ automatic record clearing laws have different waiting periods (than those reflected in 
the chart): 10 years in Delaware; 10 years in Michigan; and 10 years in New Jersey. See the Appendix 
for more information.  
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50-State Maps 
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Appendix 

State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

Alabama 
Misdemeanor “date of conviction” 3 

Ala. Code § 
15-27-
1(b)(2) 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Alaska 
Misdemeanor No general misdemeanor record clearing N/A N/A 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Arizona 

Misdemeanor 
“completed the conditions of probation or 
sentence and was discharged by the court” 

2 or 3 
Ariz. Rev. 
Stat. § 13-
911(e) 

Felony 
“completed the conditions of probation or 
sentence and was discharged by the court” 

5 or 10 
Ariz. Rev. 
Stat. § 13-
911(e) 

Arkansas 

Misdemeanor 

“Completion of the person’s sentence,” 
defined to include custody time, monetary 
obligations, community service, discharge 
from probation or parole, suspended 
sentence, training programs that were 
conditions of supervision, and driving 
reinstatement requirements and fees 

0 or 5 

Ark. Code 
Ann. §§ 16-
90-1404(1), -
1405 

Felony 

“Completion of the person’s sentence,” 
defined to include custody time, monetary 
obligations, community service, discharge 
from probation or parole, suspended 
sentence, training programs that were 
conditions of supervision, and driving 
reinstatement requirements and fees 

0 or 5 

Ark. Code 
Ann. §§ 16-
90-1404(1), -
1406 

California 

Misdemeanor 

Discretionary relief: 0 or 1 years after 
“pronouncement of judgment”;  
Mandatory relief: upon early termination 
of probation or completion of its 
conditions;  
Automatic relief: completion of probation 
without revocation or “completed their 
sentence” and 1-year elapsed after 
judgment 

0 or 1 

Cal. Penal 
Code §§ 
1203.4, 
1203.4a, 
1203.425 

Felony 

Petition-based relief: 1 or 2 years after 
“completion of the sentence”;  
Automatic relief: completion of probation 
without revocation 

0, 1, or 2 

Cal. Penal 
Code §§ 
1203.4, 
1203.41, 
1203.42, 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

1203.4a, 
1203.425 

Colorado 

Misdemeanor 

“the later of the date of the final 
disposition of all criminal proceedings 
against the defendant or the release of the 
defendant from supervision concerning a 
criminal conviction” 

3 
Colo. Rev. 
Stat. § 24-72-
706(1)(b) 

Felony 

“the later of the date of the final 
disposition of all criminal proceedings 
against the defendant or the release of the 
defendant from supervision concerning a 
criminal conviction” 

3 or 5 
Colo. Rev. 
Stat. § 24-72-
706(1)(b) 

Connecticut 

Misdemeanor 
Automatic erasure: “the date on which the 
court entered the convicted person's most 
recent judgment of conviction” 

7 
Conn. Gen. 
Stat. § 54-
142a(e) 

Felony 
Automatic erasure: “the date on which the 
court entered the convicted person's most 
recent judgment of conviction” 

10 
Conn. Gen. 
Stat. § 54-
142a(e) 

Delaware 

Misdemeanor 

Discretionary relief: 3 or 7 years from 
“date of conviction or the date of release 
from incarceration, whichever is later”; 
Mandatory & automatic relief: 5 years after 
"date of conviction" 

3, 5, or 7 

Del. Code 
Ann. tit. 11, 
§§ 4373, 
4374A, 4374 

Felony 

Discretionary relief: 7 years after “date of 
conviction or the date of release from 
incarceration, whichever is later”; 
Mandatory & automatic relief: 10 years 
after “date of conviction or the date of 
release from incarceration, whichever is 
later” 

7 or 10 

Del. Code 
Ann. tit. 11, 
§§ 4373, 
4374A, 4374 

District of 
Columbia 

Misdemeanor 

“completion of the movant's sentence,” 
defined to mean “unconditionally 
discharged from incarceration, 
commitment, probation, parole, or 
supervised release, whichever is latest.” 

8 
D.C. Code § 
16-801, -803 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Florida 
Misdemeanor No general misdemeanor record clearing N/A N/A 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Georgia Misdemeanor 
Since “convicted of any crime in any 
jurisdiction...excluding any conviction for a 
nonserious traffic offense” 

4 
Ga. Code Ann. 
§ 35-3-
37(j)(4)(a) 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

Georgia Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Hawaii 
Misdemeanor No general misdemeanor record clearing N/A N/A 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Idaho 
Misdemeanor No general misdemeanor record clearing N/A N/A 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Illinois  

Misdemeanor 

“termination of the petitioner's last 
sentence”; “last sentence” means the 
“sentence, order of supervision, or order 
of qualified probation...that terminates 
last in time in any jurisdiction…”; 
“terminate” includes “satisfactory or 
unsatisfactory termination...” 

3 
20 Ill. Comp. 
Stat. 
2630/5.2 

Felony 

“termination of the petitioner’s last 
sentence”; “last sentence” means the 
“sentence, order of supervision, or order 
of qualified probation...that terminates 
last in time in any jurisdiction…”; 
“terminate” includes “satisfactory or 
unsatisfactory termination...” 

3 
20 Ill. Comp. 
Stat. 
2630/5.2 

Indiana 

Misdemeanor “date of conviction” 5 
Ind. Code § 
35-38-9-2(c) 

Felony 

8 years after “date of conviction” for “non-
violent” offenses (some also eligible 3 
years after “completion of the person's 
sentence”); 10 years after conviction (or 5 
years after “completion of the person's 
sentence”) for “violent” offenses; 
“sentence” likely includes any fines, fees, 
court costs, and restitution obligation 
“placed on the person as part of the 
sentence” 

8 or 10 
Ind. Code §§ 
35-38-9-3, -4, 
-5 

Iowa 
Misdemeanor “date of the conviction” 8 

Iowa Code § 
901C.3 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Kansas Misdemeanor 

“(A) Satisfied the sentence imposed; or (B) 
was discharged from probation, a 
community correctional services program, 
parole, postrelease supervision, 
conditional release or a suspended 
sentence.” 

3 
Kan. Stat. 
Ann. § 21-
6614 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

Kansas Felony 

“(A) Satisfied the sentence imposed; or (B) 
was discharged from probation, a 
community correctional services program, 
parole, postrelease supervision, 
conditional release or a suspended 
sentence.” 

5 
Kan. Stat. 
Ann. § 21-
6614 

Kentucky 

Misdemeanor 
“completion of the person's sentence 
or...successful completion of the person's 
probation, whichever occurs later” 

5 
Ky. Rev. Stat. 
§ 431.078 

Felony 
“completion of the person's sentence 
or...successful completion of the person's 
probation, whichever occurs later” 

5 
Ky. Rev. Stat. 
§ 431.073 

Louisiana 

Misdemeanor 
“completed any sentence, deferred 
adjudication, or period of probation or 
parole” 

5 
La. Code 
Crim. Proc. 
Ann. art. 977 

Felony 
“completed any sentence, deferred 
adjudication, or period of probation or 
parole based on the felony conviction” 

10 
La. Code 
Crim. Proc. 
Ann. art. 978 

Maine 
Misdemeanor No general misdemeanor record clearing N/A N/A 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Maryland 

Misdemeanor 

“the person satisfies the sentence or 
sentences imposed for all convictions for 
which expungement is requested, 
including parole, probation, or mandatory 
supervision” (Shielding (a handful of 
minor misdemeanors): 3 years after 
completion of sentence) 

10 or 15 

Md. Code, 
Crim. Proc. §§ 
10-110, 10-
301 

Felony 

“the person satisfies the sentence or 
sentences imposed for all convictions for 
which expungement is requested, 
including parole, probation, or mandatory 
supervision” 

15 
Md. Code, 
Crim. Proc. § 
10-110 

Massachusetts 

Misdemeanor 

“the person's court appearance and court 
disposition records, including any period 
of incarceration or custody for any 
misdemeanor record to be sealed 
occurred” 

3 
Mass. Gen. 
Law ch. 276, 
§ 100A 

Felony 

the person's court appearance and court 
disposition records, including any period 
of incarceration or custody for any felony 
record to be sealed occurred” 

7 
Mass. Gen. 
Law ch. 276, 
§ 100A 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

Michigan 

Misdemeanor 

Petition-based relief: Most misdemeanors: 
“3 or more years after whichever of the 
following events occurs last: (a) 
Imposition of the sentence for the 
conviction that the applicant seeks to set 
aside. (b) Completion of any term of 
imprisonment imposed for the conviction 
that the applicant seeks to set aside.  (c) 
Completion of probation imposed for the 
conviction or convictions that the 
applicant seeks to set aside.” Serious or 
assaultive misdemeanors: “5 or more 
years after whichever of the following 
events occurs last: (a) Imposition of the 
sentence for the conviction or convictions 
that the applicant seeks to set aside. (b) 
Completion of probation imposed for the 
conviction or convictions that the 
applicant seeks to set aside. (c) Discharge 
from parole imposed for the conviction 
that the applicant seeks to set aside, if 
applicable. (d) Completion of any term of 
imprisonment imposed for the conviction 
or convictions that the applicant seeks to 
set aside.” 
Automatic relief: “7 years have passed 
from the imposition of the sentence.” 

3, 5, or 7 

Mich. Comp. 
Laws 
§§ 780.621d, 
780.621g 

Felony 

Petition-based relief: 5 or 7 years after 
“whichever of the following events occurs 
last: (a) Imposition of the sentence for the 
convictions that the applicant seeks to set 
aside. (b) Completion of any term of felony 
probation imposed for the convictions 
that the applicant seeks to set aside. (c) 
Discharge from parole imposed for the 
convictions that the applicant seeks to set 
aside. (d) Completion of any term of 
imprisonment imposed for the convictions 
that the applicant seeks to set aside.”  
Automatic relief: “(a) Ten years have 
passed from whichever of the following 
events occurs last: (i) Imposition of the 

5, 7, or 
10 

Mich. Comp. 
Laws 
§§ 780.621d, 
780.621g 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

sentence for the conviction. (ii) 
Completion of any term of imprisonment 
with the department of corrections for the 
conviction.” 

Minnesota 

Misdemeanor “discharge of the sentence” 2 or 4 
Minn. Stat. § 
609A.02, 
subd. 3 

Felony “discharge of the sentence” 5 
Minn. Stat. § 
609A.02, 
subd. 3 

Mississippi 

Misdemeanor No waiting period 0 
Miss. Code 
Ann. § 99-19-
71(1) 

Felony 
“successful completion of all terms and 
conditions of the sentence” 

5 
Miss. Code 
Ann. § 99-19-
71(2) 

Missouri 

Misdemeanor 

“completed any authorized disposition 
imposed under section 557.011 
[imprisonment, fine, suspended 
imposition or execution of sentence with 
or without probation, a period of 
detention as a condition of probation]” 

1 

Mo. Rev. Stat. 
§ 
610.140(5)(1
) 

Felony 

“completed any authorized disposition 
imposed under section 557.011 
[imprisonment, fine, suspended 
imposition or execution of sentence with 
or without probation, a period of 
detention as a condition of probation]” 

3 

Mo. Rev. Stat. 
§ 
610.140(5)(1
) 

Montana 
Misdemeanor 

“completed the sentencing terms for the 
offense or offenses for which 
expungement is being requested, 
including payment of any financial 
obligations or successful completion of 
court-ordered treatment” 

5 
Mont. Code 
Ann. § 46-18-
1107 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Nebraska 
Misdemeanor No general misdemeanor record clearing N/A N/A 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

Nevada 

Misdemeanor 

“release from actual custody or discharge 
from probation, whichever occurs later” 
or “release from actual custody or from 
the date when the person is no longer 
under a suspended sentence, whichever 
occurs later,” depending on offense (a 
handful of misdemeanors are 7 years after 
“release from actual custody or...when the 
person is no longer under a suspended 
sentence, whichever occurs later”) 

1 or 2 
Nev. Rev. 
Stat. § 
179.245 

Felony 

2, 5, or 10 years from “release from actual 
custody or discharge from parole or 
probation, whichever occurs later” (a 
handful of felonies are 7 years after 
“release from actual custody or...when the 
person is no longer under a suspended 
sentence, whichever occurs later”) 

2-10 
Nev. Rev. 
Stat. § 
179.245 

New 
Hampshire 

Misdemeanor 
“completed all the terms and conditions of 
the sentence” (restitution and fines may 
be imposed as part of the sentence) 

2 or 3 
N.H. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. §§ 
651:5, 651:63 

Felony 
“completed all the terms and conditions of 
the sentence” (restitution and fines may 
be imposed as part of the sentence) 

5 or 10 
N.H. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. §§ 
651:5, 651:63 

New Jersey Misdemeanor 

Petition-based: 5 years “from the date of 
[the] most recent conviction, payment of 
fine, satisfactory completion of probation 
or release from incarceration for any 
disorderly persons or petty disorderly 
persons offense, whichever is later.” The 
waiting period may be waived if “less than 
five years has expired from the 
satisfaction of a fine, but the five-year time 
requirement is otherwise satisfied, and 
the court finds that the person has 
substantially complied with [a fine 
payment plan], or could not do so due to 
compelling circumstances ….” The waiting 
period may be reduced to 3 years if no 
intervening convictions and "compelling 
circumstances." Automatic relief: 
Eligibility for "clean slate" is 10 years from 
“the person's most recent conviction, 

3, 5, or 
10 

N.J. Stat. Ann. 
§ 2C:52-1, et 
seq. 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

payment of any court-ordered financial 
assessment, satisfactory completion of 
probation or parole, or release from 
incarceration, whichever is later.” 
Notwithstanding the 10-year requirement, 
if financial obligations are “not yet 
satisfied due to reasons other than willful 
noncompliance,” the court shall convert 
them to a civil judgment and grant the 
expungement. 

New Jersey Felony 

5 years after “date of his most recent 
conviction, payment of any court-ordered 
financial assessment, satisfactory 
completion of probation or parole, or 
release from incarceration, whichever is 
later.” The waiting period may be waived 
if “less than five years has expired from 
the satisfaction of a fine, but the five-year 
time requirement is otherwise satisfied, 
and the court finds that the person has 
substantially complied with [a fine 
payment plan], or could not do so due to 
compelling circumstances ….” The waiting 
period may be reduced to 4 years if no 
intervening convictions and "compelling 
circumstances."  Eligibility for "clean 
slate" is 10 years from “the person's most 
recent conviction, payment of any court-
ordered financial assessment, satisfactory 
completion of probation or parole, or 
release from incarceration, whichever is 
later.” Notwithstanding the 10-year 
requirement, if financial obligations are 
“not yet satisfied due to reasons other 
than willful noncompliance,” the court 
shall convert them to a civil judgment and 
grant the expungement. 

4, 5, or 
10 

N.J. Stat. Ann. 
§ 2C:52-1, et 
seq. 

New Mexico 
Misdemeanor Since any “other criminal conviction” 2 

N.M. Stat. § 
29-3A-5. 

Felony Since any “other criminal conviction” 4-10 
N.M. Stat. § 
29-3A-5. 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

New York 

Misdemeanor 

“imposition of the sentence on the 
defendant’s latest conviction or...the 
defendant’s latest release from 
incarceration” 

10 
N.Y. Crim. 
Proc. Law § 
160.59 

Felony 

“imposition of the sentence on the 
defendant’s latest conviction or...the 
defendant’s latest release from 
incarceration” 

10 
N.Y. Crim. 
Proc. Law § 
160.59 

North Carolina 

Misdemeanor 

“a. For expunction of one nonviolent 
misdemeanor, five years after the date of 
the conviction or when any active 
sentence, period of probation, or post-
release supervision has been served, 
whichever occurs later. b. For expunction 
of more than one nonviolent 
misdemeanor, seven years after the date 
of the person's last conviction, other than 
a traffic offense not listed in the petition 
for expunction, or seven years after any 
active sentence, period of probation, or 
post-release supervision has been served, 
whichever occurs later.” 

5 or 7 
N.C. Gen. Stat. 
§ 15A-
145.5(c) 

Felony 

“a. For expunction of one nonviolent 
felony, 10 years after the date of the 
conviction or 10 years after any active 
sentence, period of probation, or post-
release supervision, related to the 
conviction listed in the petition, has been 
served, whichever occurs later. 
b. For expunction of two or three 
nonviolent felonies, 20 years after the date 
of the most recent conviction listed in the 
petition, or 20 years after any active 
sentence, period of probation, or post-
release supervision, related to a 
conviction listed in the petition, has been 
served, whichever occurs later.” 

10 or 20 
N.C. Gen. Stat. 
§ 15A-
145.5(c) 

North Dakota Misdemeanor 

“The individual pled guilty to or was found 
guilty of a misdemeanor offense and the 
individual has not been convicted of a new 
crime for at least three years before filing 
the petition” 

3 
N.D. Cent. 
Code § 12-
60.1-02 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

North Dakota Felony 

“The individual pled guilty to or was found 
guilty of a felony offense and the 
individual has not been convicted of a new 
crime for at least five years before filing 
the petition.[] This chapter does not apply 
to: a. A felony offense involving violence or 
intimidation during the period in which 
the offender is ineligible to possess a 
firearm under subdivision a of subsection 
1 of section 62.1-02-01 [“ten years after 
the date of conviction or the date of 
release from incarceration, parole, or 
probation, whichever is latest.”]” 

5 or 10 
N.D. Cent. 
Code § 12-
60.1-02 

Ohio 

Misdemeanor “final discharge” 1 
Ohio Rev. 
Code Ann. § 
2953.2 

Felony 
“final discharge” (bribery waiting period is 
7 years) 

1 or 3 
Ohio Rev. 
Code Ann. § 
2953.2 

Oklahoma 

Misdemeanor 

For misdemeanors sentenced to a fine 
only of $501 or less, there is no waiting 
period; for other misdemeanors, it runs 5 
years "since the end of the last 
misdemeanor sentence" 

0 or 5 
Okla. Stat. tit. 
22, § 18 

Felony 

“completion of the sentence” (Not clear 
what “completion of the sentence” means, 
but because there is an independent 
requirement for the payment of 
restitution, see Okla. Stat. tit. 22, § 
18(a)(15), it likely only includes 
completion of custody and supervision.) 

5 or 10 
Okla. Stat. tit. 
22, § 18 

Oregon 

Misdemeanor 

“date of conviction or the release of the 
person from imprisonment for the 
conviction sought to be set aside, 
whichever is later” 

1 or 3 

Or. Rev. Stat. 
§ 
137.225(1)(b
) 

Felony 

“date of conviction or the release of the 
person from imprisonment for the 
conviction sought to be set aside, 
whichever is later” 

5 or 7 

Or. Rev. Stat. 
§ 
137.225(1)(b
) 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

Pennsylvania 
Misdemeanor 

Petition-based relief: “free from conviction 
for a period of 10 years for an offense 
punishable by one or more years in 
prison…”;  
Automatic relief: “free for 10 years from 
conviction for any offense punishable by 
imprisonment of one or more years...” 

10 

18 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. §§ 
9122.1, 
9122.2 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Rhode Island 
Misdemeanor 

“completion of his or her sentence” (See 
State v. Alejo, 723 A.2d 762 (R.I. 1999) 
(“...first must serve out the full term of his 
or her sentence, regardless of whether the 
sentence was for imprisonment, 
suspension of imprisonment or probation, 
or any combination thereof. Once having 
completed the total length and 
probationary terms of the sentence 
imposed, the defendant, in the case of a 
misdemeanor conviction, then must wait 
an additional period of five years before 
first being eligible to file his or her motion 
to expunge the particular record of 
conviction.”)) 

5 
R.I. Gen. Laws 
§ 12-1.3-2 

Felony 
“completion of his or her sentence” (See 
State v. Alejo, 723 A.2d 762 (R.I. 1999) 

10 
R.I. Gen. Laws 
§ 12-1.3-2 

South Carolina 
Misdemeanor “date of the conviction” 3 or 5 

S.C. Code 
Ann. § 22-5-
910 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

South Dakota 
Misdemeanor 

Automatic relief: “Any charge or conviction 
resulting from a case where a petty 
offense, municipal ordinance violation, or 
a Class 2 misdemeanor was the highest 
charged offense shall be automatically 
removed from a defendant's public record 
after five years” (statute does not 
explicitly set a starting point, but 
reasonable to conclude it runs from 
“conviction”) 

5 
S.D. Codified 
Laws § 23A-
3-34 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

Tennessee 

Misdemeanor 

“completion of the sentence imposed” or 
“completion of the sentence imposed for 
the most recent offense” (Davidson 
County, TN Expungement form 
https://ccc.nashville.gov/wp-
content/uploads/2021/08/40-32-101k-
Expungement-Packet-Criminal.pdf (“If the 
sentence included probation or parole, the 
sentence was completed at the end of the 
probation or parole”; also note that 
requirement to have “fulfilled all the 
requirements of the sentences” is listed 
separately from completion for the 
purposes of the waiting period) 

5 
Tenn. Code § 
40-32-101 

Felony 
“completion of the sentence imposed" or 
“completion of the sentence imposed for 
the most recent offense” 

5 or 10 
Tenn. Code § 
40-32-101 

Texas 
Misdemeanor 

“completion of the community 
supervision” or “completion of the 
person's sentence" (both used in statute to 
include “any term of confinement imposed 
and payment of all fines, costs, and 
restitution imposed”) 

0 or 2 

Tex. Gov’t 
Code §§ 
411.073, 
411.0735 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Utah 

Misdemeanor 

Petition-based relief: 3 or 5 years from the 
“date the petitioner was convicted or 
released from incarceration, parole, or 
probation, whichever occurred last, for 
each conviction the petitioner seeks to 
expunge” (10 years for certain DUI 
offenses). Automatic relief: 5, 6, or 7 years 
“from the day on which the case is 
adjudicated” 

3, 5, 6, 
or 7 

Utah Code 
Ann. §§ 77-
40-105(4)(c) 

Felony 
“date the petitioner was convicted or 
released from incarceration, parole, or 
probation, whichever occurred last, for 

7 
Utah Code 
Ann. §§ 77-
40-105(4)(c) 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

each conviction the petitioner seeks to 
expunge” (10 years for certain DUI 
offenses) 

Vermont 

Misdemeanor 

“date on which the person successfully 
completed the terms and conditions of the 
sentence for the conviction, or if the 
person has successfully completed the 
terms and conditions of an indeterminate 
term of probation that commenced at least 
five years previously.” 

5 

Vt. Stat. Ann. 
tit. 13, § 
7602(b)(1)(a
) 

Felony 

“date on which the person successfully 
completed the terms and conditions of the 
sentence for the conviction, or if the 
person has successfully completed the 
terms and conditions of an indeterminate 
term of probation that commenced at least 
five years previously.” 

5 

Vt. Stat. Ann. 
tit. 13, § 
7602(b)(1)(a
) 

Virginia 

Misdemeanor 

Petition-based relief: “conviction, 
or...release from incarceration of the 
charge or conviction set forth in the 
petition, whichever date occurred later”; 
Automatic relief: “date of the conviction” 

7 

Va. Code Ann. 
§§ 19.2-
392.12(f)(1), 
19.2-392.6(c) 

Felony 
“conviction, or...release from incarceration 
of the charge or conviction set forth in the 
petition, whichever date occurred later” 

10 
Va. Code Ann. 
§ 19.2-
392.12(f)(1) 

Washington 

Misdemeanor 
“completed the terms of the sentence, 
including any financial obligations” 

3 
Wash. Rev. 
Code § 
9.96.060 

Felony 

“later of: (i) The applicant's release from 
community custody; (ii) the applicant’s 
release from full and partial confinement; 
or (iii) the applicant's sentencing date;” 

5 or 10 
Wash. Rev 
Code § 
9.94A.640 

West Virginia Misdemeanor 

For one misdemeanor: “conviction, 
completion of any sentence of 
incarceration or completion of any period 
of supervision, whichever is later in time.” 
For multiple misdemeanors: “the last 
conviction, completion of any sentence of 
incarceration, or completion of any period 
of supervision ordered for the last 
conviction, whichever is later in time.” 

1 or 2 
W. Va. Code § 
61-11-26(b) 
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State 
Classification 
of Conviction 

Waiting Period Begins 
Waiting 
Period 
(years) 

Citation 

West Virginia Felony 

“after conviction, completion of any 
sentence of incarceration, or completion 
of any period of supervision, whichever is 
later in time” 

5 
W. Va. Code § 
61-11-26(b) 

Wisconsin 
Misdemeanor No general misdemeanor record clearing N/A N/A 

Felony No general felony record clearing N/A N/A 

Wyoming 

Misdemeanor 

“the expiration of the terms of sentence 
imposed by the court, including any 
periods of probation or the completion of 
any program ordered by the court” 

5 
Wyo. Stat. 
Ann. § 7-13-
1501 

Felony 

“(A) The expiration of the terms of 
sentence imposed by the court, including 
any periods of probation; (B) The 
completion of any program ordered by the 
court; and 
(C) Any restitution ordered by the court 
has been paid in full.” 

10 
Wyo. Stat. 
Ann. § 7-13-
1502 

 


