STATE OF MARYLAND

COMMISSIONERS

JASON M. STANEK CHAIRMAN

MICHAEL T. RICHARD ANTHONY J. O'DONNELL ODOGWU OBI LINTON MINDY L. HERMAN



## **PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION**

January 13, 2022

Chair Vanessa E. Atterbeary Ways and Means Committee House Office Building, Room 131 Annapolis, MD 21401

## RE: FAVORABLE – HB 58 – Income Tax – Credit for Energy Efficiency Upgrades – Passive Houses

Dear Chair Atterbeary and Committee Members:

I write today in support of House Bill 58 – Income Tax – Credit for Energy Efficiency Upgrades – Passive Houses. Recognizing that energy efficiency is one of the least expensive ways to meet electricity demands for consumers, the Maryland General Assembly passed the EmPOWER Maryland Energy Efficiency Act in 2008. This Act established the EmPOWER Maryland Program and the State goal of reducing electricity consumption and peak demand. The General Assembly passed legislation in 2017 that updated Maryland's energy efficiency goal and extended the EmPOWER Maryland Program through 2023.

The Maryland Public Service Commission oversees implementation of the EmPOWER Maryland Program by the participating utilities in Maryland. Through June 30, 2020, EmPOWER has saved over 12.6 million MWh and 2,702 MW of peak demand and generated \$1.29 in benefits to Marylanders for every \$1.00 invested in the programs. This is equivalent to reducing 8.97 million metric tons of carbon dioxide emissions.

The EmPOWER Maryland experience shows that weatherization can achieve significant energy savings in a residential property. Therefore, the energy efficiency upgrades and Passive House Standard included in House Bill 58 can help customers further reduce their energy usage, control their utility bills, and add value and comfort to their homes. By offering a tax credit to customers for meeting Passive House Standards, the State will further its objectives established under the EmPOWER Maryland Act and encourage customers to make energy efficiency upgrades. For these reasons, I support House Bill 58 and urge a favorable report. Thank you for your consideration of this information. Please contact Lisa Smith, Director of Legislative Affairs, at (410) 336-6288 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Jon M. Stander

Jason M. Stanek Chairman