Maryland Lottery and Gaming Control Agency

Wes Moore, Governor • John Martin, Director



Montgomery Park Busness Center 1800 Washington Blvd., Ste. 330 Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Tel: 410-230-8800 TTY users call Maryland Relay www.mdlottery.com

March 1, 2023

Budget and Taxation Committee 3 West, Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: Letter of Information – Senate Bill 537 - Gaming - Video Lottery Operation License - Renewal

Dear Chair Guzzone, Vice Chair Rosapepe, and Members of the Budget and Taxation Committee:

The Maryland Lottery and Gaming Control Agency ("MLGCA" or "Agency") submits this letter of information to the Budget and Taxation Committee ("Committee"), as background information regarding Senate Bill 537 - Gaming - Video Lottery Operation License – Renewal.

This proposed legislation would amend the current statute (State Government Article §9-1A-13) by describing the application process for renewal of an initial video lottery operation license and each subsequent renewal thereafter. The Commission would renew the license using existing qualification requirements unless it finds, after conducting background investigations, that the licensee is no longer qualified to hold a license.

MLGCA notes that there is no statutory provision directing where any fees collected to renew a video lottery operator license would be transferred. It is assumed that they would be deposited into the Education Trust Fund. Establishing an application process for license renewal is critical this legislative session as the first Casino (Hollywood Casino in Perryville, Cecil County) will have to begin the renewal process this year.

Thank you for your consideration of this information, as the Agency takes no position on this proposed bill. If you should have any questions or need more information about this subject, please do not hesitate to contact Sean Ford, MLGCA's Director of Legislation and Policy Development, at 410-230-8988 or sean.ford@maryland.gov.

Sincerely,

John A. Martin Director

John A. Martin

cc: All Committee Members Senator King