

410-625-5555 • 1-800-492-5909 TTY Users: call via Maryland Relay

sra.maryland.gov

STATE RETIREMENT AGENCY 120 East Baltimore Street Baltimore, MD 21202-6700

> **Testimony in Support of Senate Bill 274** State Retirement and Pension System - Nonvested Former Members - Return of **Accumulated Contributions Senate Budget and Taxation Committee**

> > **February 2, 2023** 9:00 A.M.

**Anne Gawthrop Director of Legislative Affairs State Retirement Agency** 

The Board of Trustees for the State Retirement and Pension System wishes to express its support for Senate Bill 274 State Retirement and Pension System - Nonvested Former Members - Return of Accumulated Contributions. Senate Bill 274 is legislation sponsored by the Joint Committee on Pensions at the request of the Board.

This legislation is technical and clarifying. The State Retirement Agency (Agency) has determined that there currently is not a provision in the State Personnel and Pensions Article that authorizes the Agency to refund the member contributions of a deceased non-vested former member to the deceased member's designated beneficiary, or if there is no beneficiary, to the deceased member's estate. Current provisions of the State Personnel and Pensions Article allow for the distribution of member contributions of a deceased former member, if the member was vested in one of the several systems at the time of death. When the Agency has been faced with the death of a non-vested former member, the current practice of the Agency has been to make such a distribution to the designated beneficiary of a deceased non-vested member, or if there is not a designated beneficiary, to the deceased former member's estate. Senate Bill 274 codifies the Agency's current practice, addressing this inconsistency in existing law.

We appreciate being given this opportunity to express our support to the Committee for this legislation and would request a favorable report on Senate Bill 274.

Dereck E. Davis, Chair Linda Vaughn Allen Thomas M. Brandt Jamaal R. A. Craddock

James P. Daly, Jr. Kenneth B. Haines

Sheila Hill Michael J. Howard

**BOARD OF TRUSTEES** 

Richard E. Norman Douglas Prouty

Brooke Lierman, Vice-Chair Robert F. Sandlass, Jr. Michael J. Stafford, Jr. Matthew Wyskiel

Martin Noven, Secretary to the Board