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March 6, 2023 

 

The Honorable C. T. Wilson 

Chair, House Economic Matters Committee 

House Office Building 

Annapolis, Maryland 21401 

 

HB 1208: Vehicle Laws - Manufacturers – Dealer Compensation 

Position: Unfavorable 

 

Dear Chair Wilson: 

 

On behalf of the Alliance for Automotive Innovation1, I am writing to express our opposition to 

HB 1208, which represents yet another attempt by auto dealer special interests to create a new 

profit center for their members via the General Assembly. The Alliance for Automotive 

Innovation estimates that HB 1208 could create between $50 million to $84 million in extra 

costs in Maryland per year. HB 1208 serves no purpose other than to provide a financial 

windfall to dealers which will ultimately be paid for by consumers. 

 

HB 1208 would dramatically increase the amount of money automakers pay dealers for 

warranty repairs through the use of overly generous 3rd party time guides that are not intended 

for dealer technicians. HB 1208 would require manufacturers to pay dealers for more labor 

hours than were actually spent working on warranty repairs. 

 

When a manufacturer compensates a dealer for the labor spent to do a repair under warranty, the 

manufacturer pays the dealer the same retail labor rate that it charges the public, and multiplies 

that by the number of hours in the manufacturer’s time guide which indicates how long every 

repair takes. The manufacturers’ time guides are rigorously developed time studies created 

under conditions favorable to dealers, with mechanisms to receive additional time when 

necessary. By contrast, HB 1208 allows dealers to demand to be paid using third party time 

guides.   

 

Third party time guides are intended for non-warranty work at independent repair shops.  In 

other words: for work performed by mechanics that do not have specific training or specials 

tools to use on a specific make of vehicle, and who work on older vehicles with factors such as 

rust, dirt, and stripped fasteners that make repairs more difficult. Those third-party time guides 

 

1 From the manufacturers producing most vehicles sold in the U.S. to autonomous vehicle innovators to equipment 

suppliers, battery producers and semiconductor makers – Alliance for Automotive Innovation represents the full 

auto industry, a sector supporting 10 million American jobs and five percent of the economy. 
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are not based on time studies but instead opinions and estimates of how long an independent 

repair shop would need for a non-warranty repair. The result is that HB 1208 would require 

manufacturers to dramatically overpay dealers for warranty repairs. 

 

Importantly, similar legislation was rejected by the General Assembly in 2020 (stricken from 

HB 1208 of 2020). Then, as now, there is no evidence presented to the General Assembly that 

dealers are not being compensated properly by automakers for warranty repairs. Worse yet, this 

legislation also prohibits any type of surcharge or cost recovery from a dealer to account for the 

unusual and state-specific cost it would create.   

 

It is also important to explain that auto technicians are employees of the dealer and not the 

automaker. Manufacturers do not control how dealers compensate their technicians. And there 

is not a single word in HB 1208 that would require dealers to increase their technicians’ 

compensation. 

 

It is not in consumers’ best interest for the state to add tens of millions in unnecessary cost to 

the automobile industry, because ultimately that cost will impact consumers. Doing so would 

exacerbate the problems in the State’s current warranty reimbursement law that is already 

harmful and costly for consumers.2 

   

HB 1208 is costly, unfair, and unnecessary. It would needlessly harm manufacturers and 

consumers. The Alliance for Automotive Innovation respectfully asks that the Committee reject 

it. For more information, please contact our local representative, Bill Kress, at (410) 375-8548. 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 

Josh Fisher 
Senior Director, State Affairs 
Alliance for Automotive Innovation 

 

2 “Of course, provisions requiring payments at the level of consumer charges for warranty work not only increase 

the cost of doing business for the manufacturers, they give incentives to dealers to increase their “list” prices for 

repairs.” Journal of Economic Perspectives—Volume 24, Number 3—Summer 2010—p240 Markets State 

Franchise Laws, Dealer Terminations, and the Auto Crisis.  


