

SB 526 - Natural Resources - Forest Preservation and Retention

Position: SUPPORT

Date: March 2, 2023

Contact: Anna Mudd, Potomac Conservancy

Our organizations request a **FAVORABLE** report on SB 526 from the Education, Energy and Environment Committee.

Maryland's Forest Conservation Act, passed in 1991, introduced a minimum floor for mitigation when forests are cleared for development. But these standards are not equipped to address today's challenges to climate and clean water. An unbalanced reforestation ratio of a quarter acre planted for each acre cleared, combined with other credits, means that nearly two-thirds of a forested site can be felled with no replanting required at all. Without clear definitions and protections for the state's most valuable priority forests, too many are left fragmented and vulnerable to degradation.

This legislation will update and strengthen forest goals and definitions to provide clarity and reflect new data, protect and conserve more forest land and tree canopy, and give local governments significantly greater flexibility to pursue solutions that meet local development priorities and advance equity.

A recent study published by the Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology of the University of Maryland found that <u>Maryland experienced a net statewide forest loss of more than 19,000 acres</u> from 2013 through 2018. Losses to development and forest fragmentation - particularly in growing suburban counties - remain significant.

Under current law, jurisdictions must usually consider forest impacts from development in a formulaic, project-specific way. This legislation will encourage local innovation by empowering counties and municipalities to design a program customized to meet their local priorities while meeting a stronger forest conservation standard. The bill also recognizes the important role some smaller forested areas play in urban and suburban areas by providing options to receive preservation credit for activity that enhances the health of these areas. In summary, the bill raises the standard for forest conservation but gives local governments and developers the tools they need to succeed in meeting it.

We respectfully request a FAVORABLE report from this Committee on SB 526.

Erik Fisher Maryland Land Use Planner, AICP Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Joel Dunn President and CEO Chesapeake Conservancy

Robert K. Musil, P.H.D., M.P.H. President & CEO The Rachel Carson Council

Jim Brown, ASLA Director of Policy Audubon Mid-Atlantic

Gary Allen President Maryland Forestry Association Anna Mudd Senior Director of Policy Potomac Conservancy

Denisse Guitarra MD Conservation Advocate Nature Forward

Kit Gage Interim President Friends of Sligo Creek

Caroline Taylor Executive Director Montgomery Countryside Alliance

Paulette Hammond President Maryland Conservation Council Nancy Soreng President League of Women Voters of Maryland

Jeanne Braha Executive Director Rock Creek Conservancy

Annie Richards Chester Riverkeeper ShoreRivers

Matt Pluta Choptank Riverkeeper ShoreRivers

Zack Kelleher Sassafras Riverkeeper ShoreRivers

Mark Southerland, PhD Legislative Director Safe Skies Maryland

Bonnie Raindrop Central Maryland Beekeepers Association Baltimore Beekeeping Network

Diana Conway President Safe Healthy Playing Fields Inc.

Sarah Morse Executive Director Little Falls Watershed Alliance

Bonnie Bick President Chapman Forest Foundation

Linda Coyle, Co-Chair Multi-Faith Alliance of Climate Stewards (MACS) of Frederick Cecilia Plante Co-Chair Maryland Legislative Coalition

Staci Hartwell Environment and Justice Chair NAACP Maryland State Conference

Matt Johnston Executive Director Arundel Rivers Federation

Annie Bristow Convener Mountain Maryland Movement

Hal Delaplane President Conservancy for Charles County

Taylor Smith-Hams, MPA, CC-P Advocacy & Outreach Senior Manager Blue Water Baltimore

Robin G. Todd PhD Chair, Conservation Committee Maryland Ornithological Society

Nina Beth Cardin Co-Founder and Director Maryland Campaign for Environmental Human Rights

Karen Metchis Coordinating Committee Climate Action Plan Coalition for Montgomery Coun

Katherine J. Lautar Executive Director Baltimore Green Space

Jay Martin President Friends of the Nanticoke River Alex Winter President Mattawoman Watershed Society

Robin Broder Acting Executive Director Waterkeepers Chesapeake

Zoe Gensheimer Advocacy Director Baltimore Tree Trust

Dan Smith President Friends of Lower Beaverdam Creek

Carol Dunahoo Board Secretary Wicomico Environmental Trust

Sandy Sparks President Friends of the Jones Falls