

February 13, 2023

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman Chair, Senate Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee Senator, Maryland General Assembly 2 West Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Support for SB 548, Maryland Energy Administration – Energy Programs – Modifications (Clean Transportation and Energy Act)

Dear Senator Feldman:

On behalf of the Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee (CEEPC) of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG), I am writing to offer our support for SB 548 that extends the duration of the Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Program.

Climate change is a regional priority for COG, the association of local governments in metropolitan Washington. Additionally, the COG Board of Directors has specifically identified EV deployment as a regional priority and recognizes the need for increased collaboration to support the deployment of EVs and EV charging equipment. Several barriers are currently preventing the accelerated adoption of EVs, including a shortfall in the necessary charging stations. The State of Maryland's Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Rebate Program incentivizes greater deployment of EV charging infrastructure in metropolitan Washington. Furthermore, SB 548 aligns with COG's priority on equity by prioritizing offering benefits to low-income and environmental justice communities.

As such, CEEPC, on behalf of COG, supports the extension of this program, as well as the increase in the total amount of rebates. Please contact Jeffrey King, COG Director of Climate, Energy, and Air Programs, at (202) 962-3238 or <a href="mailto:jking@mwcog.org">jking@mwcog.org</a> if you have any questions. I appreciate your consideration.

Sincerely,

Takis Karantonis

Chair, Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee

cc: Honorable Cheryl C. Kagan Honorable Malcolm Augustine Honorable Benjamin Brooks Honorable Mary Beth Carozza Honorable Jason C. Gallion

Takin Karan tomi

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman February 13, 2023

Honorable Katie Fry Hester Honorable Karen Lewis Young Honorable Bryan W. Simonaire Honorable Mary Washington Honorable Ron Watson Honorable Pamela Beidle Honorable Joanne Benson Honorable Jill Carter Honorable Sarah Elfreth Honorable Arthur Ellis Honorable Dawn Gile Honorable Shelly Hettleman Honorable Michael Jackson Honorable Nancy King Honorable Clarence Lam Honorable Charles Muse Honorable Jeff Waldstreicher