

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

14201 School Lane | Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 | 301-952-6115 | www.pgcps.org/offices/board-of-education

March 28, 2023

Board Chair

Judy Mickens-Murray Maryland General Assembly

Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee

Board Vice Chair 2 West Miller Senate Office Building

Lolita E. Walker 11 Bladen Street
District 9 Annapolis, MD 21401

Board Members

RE: House Bill 1079

David Murray District 1

Good afternoon, Senator Brian J. Feldman (Chair),

Jonathan Briggs District 2

Pamela Boozer-Strother

consideration by the Board's Policy & Governance Committee, I would like to share the sentiments of the Board on several pending bills.

District 3

HB 1079

Shayla Adams-Stafford
District 4

Dr. Zipporah Miller

District 5

Branndon D. Jackson

District 6

Kenneth F. Harris II

District 7

Madeline LaSalle Frazier

District 8

Dr. Juanita Miller Appointed Member

Curtis Valentine Appointed Member

Walter L. Fields, MPA, MA

Appointed

representative of students in our district. Our confidence in Mr. Ceron-Ruiz is such that we supported his elevation to Chair of our Policy and Governance Committee.

We do ask that the day of enactment for the sections regarding the voting rights and election of the Student Member be changed from July 1, 2024 to July 1, 2023. This would allow the next Student Member to fully represent students and the election of the Student Member

Chair and members of the Committee, my name is Judy Mickens-Murray and I serve as

the Chairperson of the Prince George's County Board of Education. After careful

The Prince George's County Board of Education enthusiastically supports the provisions of this bill related to the role and election of the Student Member. Our Student Member,

Alvaro Ceron-Ruiz, has served our district well, provides valuable input and is a strong

We respectfully ask that you support the Student Member provisions in HB 1079.

of the Board in 2024-2025 may follow the proposed election model.

Student Member

Alvaro Ceron-Ruiz

Secretary/Treasurer

Dr. Monica M. Goldson
Chief Executive Officer