

February 1, 2023

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman Chair of the Senate Education, Energy and the Environment Committee Senator, Maryland General Assembly Miller Senate Office Building, 2 West Wing 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Support for SB 224, Department of the Environment - Zero-Emission Medium- and Heavy-Duty Vehicles - Regulations (Clean Trucks Act of 2023)

Dear Senator Feldman:

On behalf of the Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee (CEEPC) of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG), I am writing in support of SB 224, which requires the Maryland Department of the Environment to adopt regulations on or before December 1, 2023, that establish requirements for the sale of new zero-emission medium- and heavy-duty vehicles in the State of Maryland.

Climate change is a regional priority for COG, the association of local governments in metropolitan Washington. Medium- and heavy-duty vehicles are responsible for 27 percent of transportation emissions and 10 percent of total greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in metropolitan Washington. Electrification of the vehicle fleet is one of the highest impact strategies for reducing GHG emissions between now and 2030. Local policies and programs to accelerate the adoption of zero-emission medium- and heavy-duty vehicles, such as those required by SB 224, have the potential to significantly reduce emissions. As such, COG supports the adoption of these zero-emission medium- and heavy-duty vehicles requirements.

Please contact Jeffrey King, COG Director of Climate, Energy, and Air Programs at (202) 962-3238 or iking@mwcog.org if you have any questions. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Takis Karantonis

Chair, Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee

cc: Honorable Cheryl C. Kagan Honorable Malcolm L. Augustine Honorable Benjamin T. Brooks, Sr. Honorable Mary Beth Carozza

Calin Karan homi

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman February 1, 2023

Honorable Jason C. Gallion Honorable Katie Fry Hester Honorable Bryan W. Simonaire Honorable Mary L. Washington Honorable Ronald L. Watson Honorable Karen Lewis Young Honorable William C. Smith, Jr. Honorable Craig J. Zucker