

February 13, 2023

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve Chair, House Environment and Transportation Committee Delegate, Maryland General Assembly Taylor House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: Support for HB 550, Maryland Energy Administration – Energy Programs – Modifications (Clean Transportation and Energy Act)

Dear Delegate Barve:

On behalf of the Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee (CEEPC) of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG), I am writing to offer our support for HB 550 that extends the duration of the Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Program.

Climate change is a regional priority for COG, the association of local governments in metropolitan Washington. Additionally, the COG Board of Directors has specifically identified EV deployment as a regional priority and recognizes the need for increased collaboration to support the deployment of EVs and EV charging equipment. Several barriers are currently preventing the accelerated adoption of EVs, including a shortfall in the necessary charging stations. The State of Maryland's Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Rebate Program incentivizes greater deployment of EV charging infrastructure in metropolitan Washington. Furthermore, HB 550 aligns with COG's priority on equity by prioritizing offering benefits to low-income and environmental justice communities.

As such, CEEPC, on behalf of COG, supports the extension of this program, as well as the increase in the total amount of rebates. Please contact Jeffrey King, COG Director of Climate, Energy, and Air Programs, at (202) 962-3238 or jking@mwcog.org if you have any questions. I appreciate your consideration.

Sincerely,

Takis Karantonis

Chair, Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee

cc: Honorable Dana Stein Honorable Jackie Addison Honorable Nick Allen Honorable Terry L. Baker Honorable Regina T. Boyce

Calin Karan Louis

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve February 13, 2023

Honorable Barrie S. Ciliberti Honorable Debra Davis Honorable Linda Foley Honorable Michele Guyton Honorable Anne Healey Honorable Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. Honorable Jay A. Jacobs Honorable Mary A. Lehman Honorable Jeffrie E. Long, Jr. Honorable Sara Love Honorable Todd B. Morgan Honorable Ryan Nawrocki Honorable Charles J. Otto Honorable Sheila Ruth Honorable Vaughn Stewart Honorable Jen Terrasa Honorable Natalie Ziegler Honorable David Fraser-Hidalgo