MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy

kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 February 6, 2023

Delegate Kumar Barve, Chair Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: HB0012 Equitable and Inclusive Transit-Oriented Development Enhancement Act

Dear Chair Barve and Committee Members:

The College Park City Council voted unanimously during our meeting of January 31, 2023 to support HB0012 to establish the Transit-Oriented Development Capital Grant and Revolving Loan Fund to promote the equitable and inclusive development of transit-oriented developments. Transit-oriented development is more expensive and complicated than "green field" development, which creates disincentives and higher risks for such development and higher costs for residents. This legislation will provide some assistance to create the necessary incentives for mixed-use, mixed-income smart development at transit locations.

Thank you for your consideration of the City's position.

Sincerely,

Patrick Wojahn

Mayor

cc: 21st District Delegation