MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy

kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 February 21, 2023

Delegate Kumar P. Barve, Chair Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: HB0503: Natural Resources - Greenspace Equity Program - Establishment

Dear Chair Barve and Committee Members:

The College Park City Council voted unanimously during our meeting of February 14, 2023 to support HB0503 which would establish the Greenspace Equity Program in the Department of Natural Resources to provide grants to underserved communities to preserve, create, and enhance community greenspace. It also would establish the Greenspace Equity Advisory Board in the Department to serve as a consultant to the Department in the implementation and administration of the Program.

Thank you for your consideration of the City's position.

Sincerely,

Patrick Wojahn

Mayor