## MONTGOMERY VILLAGE FOUNDATION, INC.



10120 APPLE RIDGE ROAD MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MARYLAND 20886-1000

(301) 948-0110 FAX (301) 990-7071 www.montgomeryvillage.com

February 8, 2023

Via email: Kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

Kumar Barve, Chairman Environment and Transportation Committee House Office Building, Room 251 6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

Re HB 423—Task Force on Common Ownership Communities Request for Committee Action (Favorable)

Dear Chairman Barve:

I am writing to note Montgomery Village Foundation's support for HB 423, introduced in the Environment and Transportation Committee by Delegate Marvin Holmes. Delegate Holmes has been a leader on many HOA/Condominium bills and often references the 2006 Task Force when introducing the bills, he has proposed in the past few years.

Back in 2005-2006, the Common Ownership Task Force worked diligently to identify important issues facing common ownership communities resulting in important changes to the HOA Act and the Condo Act.

Progress has been made on many of the issues studied by the 2006 task force, however, I think it is time for the legislature to appoint a new task force to develop a framework for future legislation or other actions to improve common ownership communities in MD. A fresh look of the issues facing common ownership communities would likely ensure that the MD legislature addresses the most contemporary issues. The formation of a new Task Force could lead to development of even better practices in Maryland that take advantage of trends in the common ownership property industry over the last 15 years. Our new Governor and his administration would be well served by such a task force to identify all the issues facing common ownership communities and their governance.

Thank you for your continued leadership of so many important issues facing Maryland residents.

Sincerely.

David B. Humpton, Executive Vice President Montgomery Village Foundation, Inc

cc: Members of the House Environment and Transportation Committee Senator Nancy King Delegate Marvin E. Holmes Jr. Delegate Gabriel Acevero Delegate Leslie Lopez Delegate Kirill Reznik