ANTHONY G. BROWN

Attorney General

CANDACE MCLAREN LANHAM
Chief of Staff

CAROLYN QUATTROCKI

Writer's Fax No.

Deputy Attorney General

WILLIAM D. GRUHN

Chief

Consumer Protection Division

STATE OF MARYLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

Writer's Direct Dial No.

410-576-7942 <u>kstraughn@oag.state.md.us</u> Fax: 410-576-7040

March 23, 2023

To: The Honorable Kumar Barve

Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee

From: Karen S. Straughn

Consumer Protection Division

Re: Senate Bill 545 – Towing or Removal of Vehicles – Reclamation Hours (CONCERN)

The Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General has concerns regarding Senate Bill 545 introduced by Senators C. Anthony Muse and Michael A. Jackson. This bill amends the time period during which towed vehicles may be reclaimed by the public. Although the Division appreciates the sponsors' concern about the safety of employees who work at impound lots, we believe that the bill could harm consumers without accomplishing the sponsors' goals.

An individual whose vehicle has been towed is likely to need that vehicle as soon as possible to be able to continue their daily activities, including going to work, school or medical appointments. It may be difficult for an individual to retrieve their vehicle during the hours listed in the bill if they work long hours or work and go to school simultaneously. During a time when the pandemic has affected the schedules of so many individuals, reducing available hours may increase the likelihood that an individual will have to miss school or work to reclaim their vehicle, which may cause a hardship.

Section 21-10A-01(b)(2) of the Transportation Article authorizes local jurisdictions to enact towing regulations that are more stringent than those set forth in State law. Many of the major jurisdictions have local towing laws that would render the provisions of this bill inapplicable.

Accordingly, the Consumer Protection Division wanted to make the Environment and Transportation Committee aware of our concerns.

cc: The Honorable C. Anthony Muse
The Honorable Michael A. Jackson
Members, Environment and Transportation Committee