**ANTHONY G. BROWN** *Attorney General* 

CANDACE MCLAREN LANHAM
Chief of Staff

CAROLYN QUATTROCKI Deputy Attorney General

Writer's Fax No.

410-576-7040

WILLIAM D. GRUHN

Chief

Consumer Protection Division

STATE OF MARYLAND
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
CONSUMER COUNCIL

Writer's Direct Dial No. 410-576-6300

February 14, 2023

To: The Honorable Kumar Barve

Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee

From: Monica Best-James, Chair

Consumer Council of Maryland

Re: House Bill 423 – Task Force on Common Ownership Communities (SUPPORT)

The Consumer Council of Maryland supports House Bill 423, sponsored by Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., which would provide for a task force to study the training and education needs of common ownership communities and issues facing these communities. The Consumer Council is an advisory body to the Consumer Protection Division in the Office of the Attorney General with members representing businesses, consumers and the public who are appointed by the Governor.

Common ownership communities have been in existence for decades, but the concerns and issues facing them continue to grow. In 2006, a task force was established to study needs of these communities, and since that time, there have been numerous laws passed to assist these communities. However, the complexity of issues surrounding common ownership communities requires further study to be able to meet the growing needs.

This bill would consider training and education for governing boards, conflict management processes, the collection of assessments, resources to assist the communities and the transfer from developers to associations, among many other issues. This would aid in developing new laws to assist communities to ensure that they remain viable and responsive to the needs of their members, as well as resources to assist these communities.

For these reasons, we ask that the Environment and Transportation Committee return a favorable report on this bill.

cc: The Honorable Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

Members, Environment and Transportation Committee