

February 1, 2023

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve Chair of the House Environment and Transportation Committee Delegate, Maryland General Assembly Taylor House Office Building, Room 251 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Support for HB 230, Department of the Environment - Zero-Emission Medium- and Heavy-Duty Vehicles - Regulations (Clean Trucks Act of 2023)

Dear Delegate Barve:

On behalf of the Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee (CEEPC) of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG), I am writing in support of HB 230, which requires the Maryland Department of the Environment to adopt regulations on or before December 1, 2023, that establish requirements for the sale of new zero-emission medium- and heavy-duty vehicles in the State of Maryland.

Climate change is a regional priority for COG, the association of local governments in metropolitan Washington. Medium- and heavy-duty vehicles are responsible for 27 percent of transportation emissions and 10 percent of total greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in metropolitan Washington. Electrification of the vehicle fleet is one of the highest impact strategies for reducing GHG emissions between now and 2030. Local policies and programs to accelerate the adoption of zero-emission medium- and heavy-duty vehicles, such as those required by HB 230, have the potential to significantly reduce emissions. As such, COG supports the adoption of these zero-emission medium- and heavy-duty vehicles requirements.

Please contact Jeffrey King, COG Director of Climate, Energy, and Air Programs at (202) 962-3238 or iking@mwcog.org if you have any questions. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Takis Karantonis

Chair, Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee

cc: Honorable Dana M. Stein Honorable Jacqueline T. Addison Honorable Nick Allen Honorable Terry L. Baker

Calin Karan homi

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve February 1, 2023

Honorable Regina T. Boyce Honorable Barrie S. Ciliberti Honorable Debra M. Davis Honorable Linda K. Foley Honorable Michele J. Guyton Honorable Anne Healey Honorable Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. Honorable Jay A. Jacobs Honorable Mary A. Lehman Honorable Jeffrie E. Long, Jr. Honorable Sara N. Love Honorable Todd B. Morgan Honorable Ryan Nawrocki Honorable Charles J. Otto Honorable Sheila S. Ruth Honorable Vaughn M. Stewart Honorable Jennifer R. Terrasa Honorable Natalie Ziegler Honorable David Fraser-Hidalgo Honorable Lorig Charkoudian Honorable David Moon Honorable Pamela E. Queen Honorable Veronica L. Turner Honorable Joseph Vogel