

10480 Little Patuxent Parkway, Ste 910, Columbia, MD 21044. Office 410-992-4258. Fax: 410-992-7732. www.marylandpsychology.org

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

President

Rebecca Resnick, PsyD,

President-elect Brian Corrado, PsyD

Past President Linda McGhee, PhD, JD

Tanya Morrel, PhD

Treasurer Melinda Capaldi, PsyD

Representatives-at-large Jessica Rothstein, PsyD Andrea Chisolm, Ph.D.

Representative to APA Council

Peter Smith, PsyD

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Communications Robyn Waxman, PhD

Diversity

Whitney Hobson, PsyD

Early Career Psychologist Meghan Mattos, PsyD

Educational Affairs

Laurie Friedman Donze, PhD

Colleen Byrne, PhD

Legislative Pat Savage, PhD

Membership

Linda Herbert, PhD

Professional Practice Karin Cleary, PhD

PROFESSIONAL AFFAIRS

OFFICER

Paul C. Berman, PhD

INTERIM EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Thomas Cote, MBA, CAE

February 13, 2023

Senator Melony Griffith, Chair

Senator Katherine Klausmeier, Vice Chair

Senate Finance Committee

Miller Senate Office Building, 3 East

Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 362 Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics - Established

Position: Support

Dear Chair, Vice-Chair and Members of the Committee:

The Maryland Psychological Association represents over 1000 doctoral level psychologists throughout the state. We write in support of SB 362, which would require the Maryland Department of Health to submit a state plan amendment to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to establish certified community behavioral health clinics and certain payment systems for them. We support the goals of strengthening, defining, and establishing payment systems for community behavioral health clinics. They provide crucial services to persons suffering from mental health conditions in a setting that can meet the unique needs of some people.

For the reasons noted above the Maryland Psychological Association asks for a **FAVORABLE** report on SB 362.

Thank you for considering our comments on SB 362. If we can be of any further assistance as the Senate - Finance Committee considers this bill, please do not hesitate to contact MPA's Legislative Chair, Dr. Pat Savage at mpalegislativecommittee@gmail.com.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca Resnik, Psy.D.

Rebecca Resnick, Psy.D.

President

R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D.

R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D. Chair, MPA Legislative Committee

cc: Richard Bloch, Esq., Counsel for Maryland Psychological Association

Barbara Brocato & Dan Shattuck, MPA Government Affairs