MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir ollegeparkmd.gov

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters |besters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 February 3, 2023

Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, Chair Health and Government Operations Committee Room 241 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

7401 BALTIMORE AVENUE SUITE 201 COLLEGE PARK MD 20740 | COLLEGEPARKMD.GOV

OFFICE OF THE MAYOR & CITY COUNCIL

Re: HB0214 Commission on Public Health – Establishment

Dear Chair Pena-Melnyk and Committee Members:

The College Park City Council voted unanimously during our meeting on January 31, 2023 to support HB0214 to establish a Commission on Public Health. This Commission would make recommendations to improve the delivery of foundational public health services in the State, and require the Commission to conduct an assessment of the capability of the Maryland Department of Health and local health departments to provide foundational public health services. Additionally, it would require an assessment of the State's response to COVID-19 and overdose deaths, and to racial and ethnic disparities in maternal mortality and birth outcomes.

Thank you for your sponsorship of this important legislation, and congratulations on your appointment as chair of this committee.

Sincerely,

Patrick Wojahn

CC: 21st District Delegation