

10480 Little Patuxent Parkway, Ste 910, Columbia, MD 21044. Office 410-992-4258. Fax: 410-992-7732. www.marylandpsychology.org

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

President

Rebecca Resnick, PsyD,

March 17, 2023

President-elect

Brian Corrado, PsyD

Delegate Mark S. Chang, Vice Chair

Past President

Linda McGhee, PhD, JD

**Appropriations Committee** House Office Building, Room 121

Delegate Ben Barnes, Chair

Tanya Morrel, PhD

Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Treasurer

Melinda Capaldi, PsyD

RE: Senate Bill 148 - Victim Services Programs - Supplementing Federal Funding and Support

The Maryland Psychological Association, (MPA), which represents over 1,000 doctoral level

psychologists throughout the state, asks the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee to

FAVORABLY report on Senate Bill 148. Senate Bill 148 allows for supplemental state funding of

This bill will provide stabilization of the flow of funding to support victim services to alleged victims of crime. When victims of crimes come to court, they quite often find themselves

completely uninformed and unsupported. Often no one is available to tell them what is

As mental/emotional health professionals we can provide alleged victims with tools of psychological recovery, but we cannot advocate and inform them of their right to be heard and

to be treated with respect and sensitivity. If passed, this bill would help to secure and significantly improve the chances of victim recovery and prevention of lingering emotional problems such as

Thank you for considering our comments on **Senate Bill 148**. If we can be of any further assistance as the House - Appropriations Committee considers this bill, please do not hesitate to contact

victim service programs to provide stable funding of support services for victims of crime.

(Victim Services Stabilization Act)

happening, let alone advocate for them.

Representatives-at-large Jessica Rothstein, PsyD Andrea Chisolm, Ph.D.

**Position: Support** 

Representative to APA Council

Peter Smith, PsyD

Dear Chair; Vice-Chair and Members of the Committee:

**COMMITTEE CHAIRS** 

**Communications** Robyn Waxman, PhD

Diversity

Whitney Hobson, PsyD

Early Career Psychologist Meghan Mattos, PsyD

**Educational Affairs** 

Laurie Friedman Donze, PhD

Colleen Byrne, PhD

Legislative

Pat Savage, PhD

Membership

Linda Herbert, PhD

**Professional Practice** 

Karin Cleary, PhD

Respectfully submitted,

**PROFESSIONAL AFFAIRS** 

**OFFICER** 

Paul C. Berman, PhD

Rebecca Resnick, Psy.D. Rebecca Resnick, Psy.D.

President

R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D. R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D. Chair, MPA Legislative Committee

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR** 

Thomas Cote, MBA, CAE

Richard Bloch, Esq., Counsel for Maryland Psychological Association CC: Barbara Brocato & Dan Shattuck, MPA Government Affairs

Post Traumatic Stress by fully supporting them throughout the legal process.

MPA's Legislative Chair, Dr. Pat Savage at mpalegislativecommittee@gmail.com.