MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy

kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 February 21, 2023

Senator William C. Smith, Jr., Chair Judicial Proceedings Committee 2 East Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: SB0229: Vehicle Laws – Noise Abatement Monitoring Systems – Authorization, Use, and Penalties

Dear Chair Smith and Committee Members:

The College Park City Council voted unanimously during our meeting of February 14, 2023 to support SB0229, which will assist local governments address the problem of illegal, noisy vehicles in our communities. It allows the use of noise abatement monitoring systems and provides protections for drivers while authorizing citations in certain circumstances.

The City appreciates the bill sponsors' work to bring this forward, and strongly supports the bill's passage.

Thank you for your consideration of the City's position.

Sincerely,

Patrick Wojahn

Mayor