wn
w
[ —

Criminal Law — Wearing, Carrying, or Transporting Firearms — Restrictions
(Gun Safety Act of 2023)

Name: Kenneth C. Gross
4713 Knapp Court
Ellicott City, MD 21043
grossken21043@gmail.com
410-258-8781

Position: OPPOSE

SB1 affects me personally — why don’t you trust me? 1t bans numerous places in
Maryland from legal carry of concealed firearms for personal protection by citizens with
Maryland State Police-issued Wear and Carry Permits. These citizens have passed in-
depth background checks, have been fingerprinted and have undergone at least 16
hours of training and a live-fire test. They represent one of, if not the most, law-abiding

groups of citizens in Maryland.

I've owned guns for over 60 years, and | have been hunting and participating in
shooting sports since | received my first gun and NRA-sanctioned safety and
sharpshooting training when | was 12-years-old. My dad took me because “the best
time to learn gun safety is when you are a kid.” | have voluntarily taken and been
required to take numerous firearm safety and shooting skills training during my life.
There are many like me. As a responsible and serious Wear & Carry Permit holder, |
ask: “Why don’t you trust me?” I've lived a lawful life and jumped through all the
bureaucratic hoops — “why should | trust or have faith in you my Legislators ... in my

government ... if you don’t have faith in or trust me?” It goes both ways.

SB1 is not aimed at preventing or punishing those that commit crimes with firearms, but
rather is directed at Wear & Carry Permit holders who would receive stiff fines for
unknowingly venturing into a verboten area while legally carrying. It is not the trained

and responsible Wear & Carry Permit holders that are a danger in these locations.



Under SB 1 provisions, should a Wear & Carry Permit holder inadvertently forget one’s
permit at home, heaven forbid, or unknowingly misplace it, they would receive a stiff
monetary fine. Should it happen a second time, they could have their Wear & Carry
Permit rescinded by the MSP (loss of a constitutional right). Why do you want to punish
good, law-abiding Marylanders so harshly?

Laws such as HB1 will not control the way people behave, they just define behavior that
the state deems unwanted. By restricting responsible Marylander’s ability to defend
themselves in these banned areas, you would be ceding control to those individuals that
don’t obey the law. These banned areas, that include restaurants and hotels that serve
alcohol (whether | am drinking alcohol or not) become just more ‘Gun-Free Zones’ that
criminals seek out. Criminals like to attack defenseless victims, and they are attracted to
gun-free zones. The proposed banned places have no historical precedent as stated in
the U.S. Supreme Court’s ‘Bruen’ decision and are therefore unconstitutional

restrictions on the rights of Marylanders.

As if these aforementioned provisions aren’t onerous enough, must | now ask
permission from those in my community, even those that simply find inanimate guns
‘yucky,’ if they will allow me on their property? This would render the concealed part of
carrying null and void. Must one first ask permission to carry when they enter
someone’s home while taking a survey, delivering food, helping a troubled relative or
neighbor in need? Criminals or non-permit holders would not be fined for not asking
permission, but | would? How do you enforce this provision? Must a person first ask
permission to exercise their First Amendment right to free speech or expression - or any

other guaranteed right set forth in the Bill of Rights? Of course not.

Despite some good work to make SB1 less onerous, which | applaud, HB1 is a knee-
jerk over-reaction to the ‘Bruen’ decision, a decision which set forth the requirements for
states to restrict the location of concealed carry of firearms to those places with a
historical analog, i.e., in place pre-1800’s. Like other laws passed in single-party rule

states post-‘Bruen,” SB1 remains an overreach and will not pass judicial muster.



