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WRITTEN TESTIMONY OF MICHAEL F. BURKE, IN OPPOSITION TO HB 824 

I am – a Veteran with 21 years of military service; I am also an experienced law enforcement officer at 

the County, State and Federal levels.  I am an expert in Maryland Firearms Law, federal firearms law and 

the law of self-defense, a Maryland State Police certified handgun instructor for the Maryland Wear and 

Carry Permit and the Maryland Handgun Qualification License (“HQL”) and a certified NRA instructor and 

Chief Range Safety Officer.  Also a Certified Protection Professional (CPP) and subject matter expert in 

Physical security and the other security disciplines, a locksmith, and a Computer Security and electronics 

expert.  I appear today in opposition to HB 705. 

 

Increasing fees beyond the actual COST of the background check process is the equivalent to a POLL TAX, 

something previously prohibited in case law, and the 24th Amendment.   

Reducing the validity of the permit from 3 years to 2 years is also an unlawful application of the same 

POLL TAX on each citizen.  Inasmuch as more crime is committed by citizens with Driver’s Licenses (DL), it 

would make MORE sense to reduce the validity of the DL to 2 years and make people pay more for the 

privilege of driving.  Possessing /carrying firearms is not a privilege. 

Citizens are already paying, on average, $65.00 solely for the fingerprinting fees required by current 

statutes.  They pay another $10, on average, for photographs required by existing statutes.   

$65 + $10 + $75 = $150 for the current initial application fee.  This is already an exorbitant price for a 

RIGHT. 

Training costs (by existing statutes) for 16 hrs of training run from $200 to $1500, depending on location 

and costs charged by individual private instructors. 

Delaware charges $65 for a 5-year concealed carry permit. Open carry requires NO permit or fee. 

Pennsylvania charges $20 for a 5-year concealed carry permit.  Open carry requires NO permit or fee. 

Virginia charges $50 for a 5-year concealed handgun permit.  Open carry requires NO permit or fee. 

----- 

The following states require NO permit to carry a concealed handgun/firearm: 

Alabama; Alaska; Arizona; Arkansas; Georgia; Idaho; Indiana; Iowa; Kansas; Kentucky; Maine; Mississippi; 

Missouri; Montana; New Hampshire; North Dakota; Ohio; Oklahoma; South Dakota; Tennessee; Texas; 

Utah; Vermont; West Virginia; Wyoming.  Florida is likely to join that list this year. 

 

The Bill: 

 

This bill would add sections to MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-133(b), to prohibit the possession of a 

regulated firearm (a handgun) if a person is on supervised probation from any crime punishable by 

more than 1 year of imprisonment, has been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or 
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drugs, has violated a protective order entered under the Family Law article of the Maryland code, or 

has been convicted a second time of a violation of the storage provisions of MD Code, Criminal Law, 4-

104 or has been convicted of violating Section 4-104 if the violation resulted in the use of a loaded 

firearm by a child causing death or serious bodily injury. It would further provide that a person who 

has been convicted of any violation of Section 4-104, even a first-time conviction, would be barred 

from possessing a regulated firearm for 5 years. It would likewise amend Section 5-133 to ban 

possession of a regulated firearm by any person who suffers from a “mental disorder” as defined by 

MD Code, Health General 10-101(I)(2) and by any person who is the respondent to a civil protective 

order under Section 4-506 of the Family Law article.  

 

 

The bill would amend MD Code, Public Safety, 5-304 to double the fees that may be charged by the State 

Police for an application of wear and carry permit to $150 for an initial application, $100 for a renewal, 

and $20 for a duplicate or modified permit. The bill would then amend MD Code, Public Safety 5-306 to 

limit wear and carry permits to persons who are at least 21 years of age (or is a member of the armed 

forces or National Guard). The bill prohibits the issuance of a permit to persons who are on supervised 

probation for any crime punishable by more than 1 year, for any violation of Section 21-902 of the 

Transportation article (relating to driving under the influence), or for violating a domestic protective 

order, for any violation of a second violation of Section 4-104 or if the violation of Section 4-104 led to 

use of a loaded firearm by a child causing death or serious bodily injury, and bars the issuance of a 

permit to any person for 5 years for any violation of Section 4-104.  

  

The bill also amends Section 5-306 to specify that the instruction for wear and carry permit include live-

fire shooting, safe-handling of a handgun and “shooting proficiency with a handgun.” It would further 

require instruction on State self-defense law, including on the justifiable use of force, the proportional 

use of force, and conflict de-escalation and resolution. This Bill correctly repeals the “good and 

substantial” reason requirement of Section 5-306(a)(6)(ii). The bill then amends MD Code, Public Safety, 

5-309 to change the time period permit renewals 3 years to 2 years. 

 

The bill amends MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-310 to require that the State Police to revoke a permit if the 

permit holder would no longer be qualified to receive a permit and requires the State Police to 

REGULARLY REVIEW INFORMATION REGARDING ACTIVE PERMIT HOLDERS USING THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

INFORMATION SYSTEM CENTRAL REPOSITORY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND 

CORRECTIONAL SERVICES TO DETERMINE WHETHER ALL PERMIT HOLDERS CONTINUE TO MEET THE 

QUALIFICATIONS DESCRIBED IN § 5–306 OF THIS SUBTITLE. It provides further that the State Police may 

revoke a permit if the permit holder violates Section 5-308 (requiring the permit holder to possess the 

permit while carrying). The bill amends MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-311 to make changes to the appeal 

procedures relating to any denial of a permit, including providing written notice and a statement of 

reasons. It then adds reporting requirements imposed on the State Police concerning permits. The bill 
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amends MD Code, Public Safety, § 5-312 to impose additional reporting requirements on the Office of 

Administrative Appeals regarding permits.  

 

The Bill Is Unnecessary:  The training requirements newly imposed by this bill for the issuance of a wear 

and carry permit reflect current practice. Most, if not all, instructors, including the undersigned, already 

provide detailed instruction on all these topics under current law. The State Police already expressly 

require live-fire and impose a live-fire qualification course and other requirements that every instructor 

must certify that a student has passed. See generally COMAR § 29.03.02.05. These requirements are 

enforced vigorously by the State Police. This bill adds nothing to those existing requirements.  

 

Likewise unnecessary are many of the disqualifications newly imposed by this bill. The State Police 

already conduct a vigorous investigation, and have done so since 1972, consulting not only the NICS 

federal database but an additional 17 different State databases.  

The shortening of the renewal period from 3 years to 2 years is likewise ill-advised as it will impose 

substantial costs on the applicant and on the State Police for no valid reason. Current law provides that 

the first permit is valid only for two years, with a 3-year period only applicable to subsequent renewals. 

Three years is already highly atypical. For example, Florida permits are good for 7 years. Permits issued 

by Virginia, Utah, New Hampshire and Pennsylvania are good for 5 years. Maine permits are valid for 4 

years. Even New York allows permit renewal every three years. With modern technology, already in use 

by the State Police, frequent renewals are not necessary to ensure continued validity of any permit. The 

costs imposed by this bill associated with 2-year permits are pointless.    

 

Every applicant is fingerprinted using the latest live-scan technology and the State Police keep those 

prints. Through their fingerprints, all permit holders are identifiable by the FBI’s RAP BACK system, under 

which a mere arrest of any permit holder anywhere in United States will be immediately reported to the 

Maryland State Police. https://bit.ly/3B8l142. Upon receipt of this information, the State Police then act 

to revoke or review and wear and carry permit. If warranted, the State Police will likewise use that 

information to revoke any Handgun Qualification License. The State Police will then seize any firearms 

that the permit holder may already possess. The requirement imposed by this bill that the State Police 

“regularly review information regarding active permit holders” does little more than impose costs. The 

State Police are already vigilant about revoking permits for any person who becomes disqualified. And 

any disqualified person who continues to possess any firearm (not merely a handgun) commits a serious 

federal felony under 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(1) as well as a serious misdemeanor or felony under State law. See 

MD Code Public Safety, 5-133(e). The State Police have better things to do with their resources. 

 

Parts of the Bill Violate the Second Amendment: This bill affects the exercise of Second Amendment 

rights. Under the Supreme Court’s recent decision in New York State Rifle & Pistol Association, Inc. v. 

Bruen, 142 S.Ct. 2111 (2022), law-abiding gun owners with carry permits have a Second Amendment 

right to carry in public. 142 S.Ct. at 2135. Bruen squarely holds that the Second Amendment protects the 
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right to carry in public while also making clear that a State may condition that right on obtaining a wear 

and carry permit from the State, if the permit is issued on an otherwise reasonable and objective “shall 

issue” basis. 142 S.Ct. at 2138 & n.9. The Court was, however, careful to cabin a State’s discretion. 

Permits must be issued on a “shall issue” basis and permit statutes may “contain only narrow, objective, 

and definite standards guiding licensing officials . . . rather than requiring the “appraisal of facts, the 

exercise of judgment, and the formation of an opinion.” (Internal quotes and citations omitted).  

 

The Bruen Court ruled that “the standard for applying the Second Amendment is as follows: When the 

Second Amendment’s plain text covers an individual’s conduct, the Constitution presumptively protects 

that conduct. The government must then justify its regulation by demonstrating that it is consistent with 

the Nation’s historical tradition of firearm regulation.” 142 S.Ct. at 2127. The relevant time period for 

that historical analogue is 1791, when the Bill of Rights was adopted. 142 S.Ct. at 2135. That is because 

“‘Constitutional rights are enshrined with the scope they were understood to have when the people 

adopted them.’” Id., quoting District of Columbia v. Heller, 554 U.S. 570, 634–635 (2008). Under that 

standard articulated in Bruen, “the government may not simply posit that the regulation promotes an 

important interest.” 142 S.Ct. at 2126. Bruen expressly abrogates the two-step, “means-end,” “interest 

balancing” test that the courts had previously used to sustain gun bans. Id. Those prior decisions 

applying interest balancing and a “means-end” test are no longer good law. 

 

Under this standard adopted in Bruen, it is highly questionable whether the State may impose a firearms 

disqualification for a misdemeanor violation not involving a violent crime. For example, the Court of 

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit just applied Bruen to invalidate 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8), which imposes a 

firearms disqualification of person subject to a domestic violence restraining order. See United States v. 

Rahimi, --- F.4th ----2023 WL 1459240 (5th Cir. Feb. 2, 2023). Similarly, the court in United States v. 

Quiroz, --- F.Supp.3d ----2022 WL 4352482 (W.D. Tex. 2022), invalidated 18 U.S.C. 922(n) (imposing a 

disqualification for persons under indictment). And in United States v. Harrison, --- F.Supp.3d ----2023 WL 

1771138 (W.D. Okla. 2023), the court invalidated 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(3), which imposes a disqualification on 

users of substances made unlawful by the federal Controlled Substances Act, including cannabis. See also 

United States v. Price, --- F.Supp.3d ---, 2022 WL 6968457 (S.D. W.Va. 2022) (invalidating 18 U.S.C. § 

922(k), holding that criminalizing the knowing possession of a firearm with an obliterated serial number 

was unconstitutional under Bruen). 

 

The Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, sitting en banc, has just heard argument in Range v. United 

States, 53 F.4th 262 (2022), rehearing en banc granted, 56 F.4th 992 (Jan. 2023). The issue in Range is 

whether a firearms disqualification for a non-violent State misdemeanor violation punishable by more 

than 2 years is constitutional under Bruen. Federal law imposes that disqualification under 18 U.S.C. § 

922(g), as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(20). Maryland imposes the same disqualification under MD Code, 

Public Safety, § 5-101(g). While a decision in Range has yet to issue, the odds are good that such 

disqualification will not survive. While Maryland is in the Fourth Circuit, such a holding in Range will 

likely lead to challenges to a broad range of disqualifications imposed by Maryland law, including the 

disqualifications imposed by this bill for driving under the influence or for violations of storage provisions 
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of Section 4-104. Such disqualifications are unlikely to survive scrutiny under this emerging body of case 

law. Likewise allowing the State Police to revoke the permit simply because the permit holder forgot to 

carry it on his person, as this bill mandates, is particularly egregious.  

 

We question as well whether doubling the fees associated with the permit process, as imposed by this 

bill, will be sustained after Bruen. It is well-established that State’s power to impose fees on the exercise 

of a constitutional right is very limited. See Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569 (1941). In Murdock v. 

Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 (1943), the Court invalidated a city ordinance which as construed and 

applied, required distributors of religious literature to pay a flat license fee as a prerequisite to 

conducting their activities, holding that a “State may not impose a charge for the enjoyment of a right 

granted by the Federal Constitution.” 319 U.S. at 113. Under these rulings, a fee imposed on the exercise 

of a constitutional right must not be a general “revenue tax,” but such a fee is lawful if it is instead 

designed “to meet the expense incident to the administration of the act and to the maintenance of 

public order in the matter licensed.” Cox., 312 U.S. at 577. See also S. Oregon Barter Fair v. Jackson Cty., 

372 F.3d 1128, 1139 (9th Cir. 2004) (holding that a “state may ... impose a permit fee that is reasonably 

related to legitimate content-neutral considerations, such as the cost of administering the ordinance” in 

question, as long as the ordinance or other underlying law is itself constitutional).  

 

To justify the fees imposed by this bill, the State would be required, at a minimum, to satisfy this test. 

The burden would be on the State to show that the fees are limited to the “cost of administering” 

otherwise reasonable and appropriate provisions of the permit process. Id. See also Ne. Ohio Coal. for 

the Homeless v. City of Cleveland, 105 F.3d 1107, 1109–10 (6th Cir. 1997) (“The lesson to be gleaned 

from Cox and Murdock is that an ordinance requiring a person to pay a license or permit fee before he 

can engage in a constitutionally protected activity does not violate the Constitution so long as the 

purpose of charging the fee is limited to defraying expenses incurred in furtherance of a legitimate state 

interest.”). The doubling of fees has not been justified by any such analysis. If not, the doubling of fees 

will fail to survive judicial review.  

 

The multiple new requirements imposed by this bill bespeaks of State hostility to the exercise of the 

right identified in Bruen. Such a motivation is constitutionally illegitimate. Bruen makes clear that “[t]he 

constitutional right to bear arms in public for self-defense is not “a second-class right, subject to an 

entirely different body of rules than the other Bill of Rights guarantees.’” 142 S.Ct. at 2156 (citation 

omitted). Ironically, the more requirements that the State piles on the permitting process, the more 

likely those requirements will go too far and result in a successful challenge. Such a suit might well 

challenge the provisions of Section 5-306(a)(6)(i), allowing the State Police to deny a permit to persons 

who, in the State Police’s judgment, show a “propensity for violence.” Nothing in this bill provides 

objective criteria for that assessment. Bruen expressly disallows any shall-issue permitting process that 

allows “the ‘appraisal of facts, the exercise of judgment, and the formation of an opinion.’” 142 S.Ct. at 

2138 n.9 (citation omitted). This bill impermissibly adds more such discretion to the permitting process. 

As the Court stated in Bruen, “we do not rule out constitutional challenges to shall-issue regimes where, 

for example, lengthy wait times in processing license applications or exorbitant fees deny ordinary 
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citizens their right to public carry.” 142 S.Ct. at 2138 n.9. This bill, with its multiple disqualifications, 

unnecessary provisions, and doubling of fees, crosses that line. 

 

This Bill is unnecessary and unconstitutional. I strongly urge an unfavorable report.   


