BRIAN CROSBY
Legislative District 29B
St. Mary's County

Vice Chair
Economic Matters Committee



Annapolis Office
The Maryland House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street, Room 231
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-841-3227 · 301-858-3227
800-492-7122 Ext. 3227
Brian.Crosby@house.state.md.us

THE MARYLAND HOUSE OF DELEGATES ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND 21401

HB 212: Criminal Law - Indecent Exposure Within the Sight of a Minor

Position: FAVORABLE

Good afternoon Mr. Chair, Mr. Vice Chair, and distinguished members of the committee. I am Delegate Brian Crosby and I am here to present HB 212, entitled Criminal Law - Indecent Exposure Within the Sight of a Minor.

Last year, I introduced this bill as HB 34. This bill passed in the House and was heard and given a favorable report by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee on *sine die*. Unfortunately, the Senate ran out of time to vote for the bill on third reader before midnight.

Under current law, a person convicted of indecent exposure is guilty of a misdemeanor, and is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 3 years, a fine not exceeding \$1,000, or both. This bill would create a stronger penalty for people who commit indecent exposure, with prurient intent, within sight of a minor who is at least 2 years old and is more than 4 years younger than the person who commits the crime. The penalty for people who commit indecent exposure against minors in this way would be subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years, a fine not exceeding \$10,000, or both.

This bill is in response to an incident in which someone committed indecent exposure in front of young girls who live in St. Mary's County.

In several states across the country, indecent exposure penalties are enhanced when committed against, or within sight of, a minor. In two of our neighboring states, for example, Virginia and Pennsylvania, the penalty for committing indecent exposure increases from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 5 felony, or from a second degree misdemeanor to a first degree misdemeanor, respectively, when committed against a minor. This translates to a doubled cap on any fine or jail sentence imposed by a judge in Pennsylvania, and a jail sentence up to ten times longer in Virginia. In the remaining states, this formalized penalty enhancement is similar, but Maryland has yet to make the same distinction which, in practice, creates an arbitrary and low cap of punishment for sexual crimes committed against some of our most vulnerable citizens; our children.

Maryland law already recognizes the importance of this issue, and provides judges the option to require perpetrators to register as sex offenders if they commit indecent exposure against a minor. HB 212 provides an expanded alternative, in line with that of other states, to achieve that same goal. As such, I ask for a favorable report on this bill, and will take any questions you have at this time.