

Board of Directors

Chair

Joe Toolan (he/him)

Vice-Chair

Tim Williams (he/him)

Treasurer

Katie Connolly (they/them)

Secretary

Anne Gotimer (she/her)

Development Chair

Roberta Pardo (she/her)

Events Chair

Sarah Sample (she/her)

Leslie Anderson (they/them)

Christopher Broadwell (he/him)

Jaden Farris

Christine Feldmann (she/her)

Mastin Fowler (he/him)

Chris Haley (he/him)

Dennis McGowan (he/him)

Eric Lund (he/him)

Jazzmyn Proctor (she/they)

Joshua Seefried (he/him)

March 09, 2023

HB1066 - Hate Crimes - Commission on Hate Crime Response and Prevention - Establishment

Position: FAVORABLE

Annapolis Pride's mission is to advocate for, empower, and celebrate our LGBTQ+ community in Anne Arundel County to live fully and authentically. Our vision is a safe, equitable, and anti-racist community where people of all identities thrive.

As such, the Board of Directors of Annapolis Pride enthusiastically supports House Bill 1066, which would establish a Commission on Hate Crime Response and Prevention in the State of Maryland. As hate crimes are on the rise around the country—and in the State of Maryland, we need to be proactive in preventing them and responding to them effectively. This commission would provide an invaluable resource to the state in developing strategies to combat hate crime activity, evaluating existing laws and policies, and making recommendations for further action. We are excited that this legislation will ensure that the experiences and voices of the LGBTQIA+community are better represented and heard in decision-making and policy-making processes in the state.

For these reasons, Annapolis Pride respectfully requests a favorable report on HB 1066.