

10480 Little Patuxent Parkway, Ste 910, Columbia, MD 21044. Office 410-992-4258. Fax: 410-992-7732. www.marylandpsychology.org

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

March 4, 2023

President Rebecca Resnick, PsyD,

President-elect Brian Corrado, PsyD

Past President Linda McGhee, PhD, JD

Secretary Tanya Morrel, PhD

Treasurer Melinda Capaldi, PsyD

Representatives-at-large Jessica Rothstein, PsyD Andrea Chisolm, Ph.D.

Representative to APA Council Peter Smith, PsyD

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Communications Robyn Waxman, PhD

Diversity Whitney Hobson, PsyD

Early Career Psychologist Meghan Mattos, PsyD

Educational Affairs Laurie Friedman Donze, PhD

Ethics Colleen Byrne, PhD

Legislative Pat Savage, PhD

Membership Linda Herbert, PhD

Professional Practice Karin Cleary, PhD

PROFESSIONAL AFFAIRS OFFICER Paul C. Berman, PhD

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Thomas Cote, MBA, CAE Senator Melony Griffith, Chair Senator Katherine Klausmeier, Vice Chair Finance Committee Miller Senate Office Building, 3 East House Office Building

House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 582 Behavioral Health Care – Treatment and Access

Position: Support

Dear Chair, Vice-Chair and Members of the Committee:

The Maryland Psychological Association, (MPA), which represents over 1,000 doctoral level psychologists throughout the state, asks the House Health and Government Operations Committee to **FAVORABLY report** on **SB 582**.

The MPA **STRONGLY SUPPORTS** establishing a Commission on Behavioral Health Care Treatment and Access and appreciates the opportunity participate on the Commission.

In addition, MPA supports the development of a Pilot Program within Maryland Medical Assistance to provide services which might otherwise not be covered by Maryland Medical Assistance, but which are cost-effective and prevent expensive hospitalization.

Thank you for considering our comments on SB 582. If we can be of any further assistance as the Finance Committee considers this bill, please do not hesitate to contact MPA's Legislative Chair, Dr. Pat Savage at <u>mpalegislativecommittee@gmail.com</u>.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca Resnick, Psy.D. Rebecca Resnick, Psy.D. President R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D.

R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D. Chair, MPA Legislative Committee

cc: Richard Bloch, Esq., Counsel for Maryland Psychological Association Barbara Brocato & Dan Shattuck, MPA Government Affairs