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House Bill 750
Gun Theft Felony Act of 2023
FAVORABLE

For many Sessions, bills have been offered to elevate the severity of firearm theft above
the level of a simple misdemeanor theft of property. These efforts have so far, been
unsuccessful.

Under existing law, the penalty for the theft of firearms is based on the value of the
property stolen. For a first offense, a person who steals four fully functional firearms with
a combined value of less than $1,500 is guilty of only a misdemeanor and subject to
imprisonment not exceeding 6 months or a fine not exceeding $500 or both. This offense
does not result in prohibiting the offender from legally owning a firearm.

For a second or subsequent offense, a person who steals four fully functional firearms
with a combined value of less than $1,500, is guilty of only a misdemeanor and subject to
imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $500 or both. This offense
does not result in prohibiting the offender from legally owning a firearm.

The theft of an inexpensive but fully functional firearm with a value under $100 is a
misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 90 days imprisonment or a fine not exceeding
$500 or both.

Firearms theft does not reach the level of a felony until the value exceeds $25,000.

Since HB 425 became law, the transfer of a home-built unserialized firearm is a
misdemeanor offense and upon conviction a person is subject to imprisonment for up to
5 years or a fine not exceeding $10,000 or both. This penalty makes stealing a fully
functioning factory-built firearm rather than building a so-called “ghost gun”, a far more
attractive option.
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By way of contrast, under the language of House Bill 307, if a firearm owner stores a
firearm in such a way that a minor or prohibited person gains only simple access to the
firearm, even with no other action or event involved, the firearm owner is subject to a
more severe penalty* than a person who steals the firearm.

Elevating the severity of firearms theft from a simple misdemeanor to a felony offense
with appropriate penalty provisions is not only appropriate but necessary.

House Bill 750 treats the theft of a firearm as the serious crime it is and places the focus
on the criminal and the criminal behavior involved in the theft of a firearm. Once stolen,
a firearm is no longer in the stream of lawful commerce and can only be possessed,
transferred, or used in violation of the law.

We strongly urge a favorable report.

Respectfully,

John H. Josselyn
2A Maryland

Attachment (1)

* HB 307 page 4 (d)
5 (2) A PERSON WHO VIOLATES SUBSECTION (C)(2) OF THIS SECTION IS

6 GUILTY OF A MISDEMEANOR AND ON CONVICTION IS SUBJECT TO IMPRISONMENT
7 NOT EXCEEDING 2 YEARS OR A FINE NOT EXCEEDING $2,500 OR BOTH.
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Background and Purpose

The Office of the Maryland Attorney General (OAG) contracted with the Wyoming Survey &
Analysis Center (WYSAC) at the University of Wyoming to collect, analyze, and report data
about firearm crimes, firearm injuries and fatalities, and crime firearms. House Bill (HB) 1186
(2021) requires OAG to submit four reports. The first report, submitted in December 2021,
analyzed data provided by 91 state, local, and special jurisdiction law enforcement agencies
(LEAs) about firearm crimes that occurred between August 1, 2015, and July 31, 2019. This
report, the second in the four-part series, provides detailed findings from WYSAC’s analysis of

firearm crimes in the State from August 1, 2019, to July 31, 2020.

Key Definitions

Compliance Inspection

Inspections conducted to ensure that Federal Firearms Licensees (FFLs) are following record-
keeping requirements. Specifically, FFLs must account for all firearms that they have bought
and sold and report all multiple handgun sales and firearms thefts to the United States Bureau
of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives (ATF).

Crime Firearm

HB 1186 § 1(a)(2 (i-ii) defines “crime firearm” as a firearm that is used in the commission of a
crime of violence; or recovered by law enforcement in connection with illegal firearm

possession, transportation, or transfer.

Crime of Violence

The Public Safety Article §5-101 defines these offenses as crimes of violence:

1) abduction;

2) arson in the first degree;

3) assault in the first or second degree;

4) burglary in the first, second, or third degree;

5) carjacking and armed carjacking;

6) escape in the first degree;

7) kidnapping;

8) voluntary manslaughter;

9) maiming as previously proscribed under former Article 27, § 386 of the Code;
10) mayhem as previously proscribed under former Article 27, § 384 of the Code;
11) murder in the first or second degree;
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12) rape in the first or second degree;

13) robbery;

14) robbery with a dangerous weapon;

15) sexual offense in the first, second, or third degree;

16) home invasion under § 6-202(b) of the Criminal Law Article;

17) a felony offense under Title 3, Subtitle 11 of the Criminal Law Article;

Further, Public Safety Article §5-101 classifies an attempt to commit any of the crimes listed
above; or assault with intent to commit any of the crimes listed, or a crime punishable by

imprisonment for more than 1 year as a crime of violence.

Firearm Crime

HB 1186 § 1(a)(3) defines “firearm crime” as a crime of violence involving the use of a firearm.

Firearm Injury and Fatality
HB 1186 § 1(a)(4) defines “firearm injury and fatality” as an injury or fatality caused by a

firearm.

Jurisdiction

In this report, jurisdiction is synonymous with county, apart from Baltimore City which was
analyzed as its own jurisdiction. For data provided by agencies that operate statewide (e.g.,
MSP), the incident’s jurisdiction is the county where the incident occurred. In this report, data

are included from 24 unique jurisdictions, each of Maryland’s 23 counties and Baltimore City.

Privately Made Firearm

The OAG and WYSAC asked LEAs to indicate if a recovered firearm had a serial number. To
measure the proliferation of “ghost guns” in the State, WYSAC also asked LEAs to indicate if
the firearm was privately-made. Based on the ATF Frame or Receiver Rule (2021R-05F),
WYSAC defined “ghost gun” as any firearm, including a frame or receiver; completed,
assembled, or otherwise produced by a person other than a licensed manufacturer; and without
a serial number placed by a licensed manufacturer at the time of production.

Straw Purchase

Section 5-101 of the Public Safety Article defines “straw purchase” as the sale of a regulated

tirearm in which a person uses another, known as the straw purchaser, to:

1) complete the application to purchase a regulated firearm;
2) take initial possession of the regulated firearm; and
3) subsequently transfer the regulated firearm to the person.
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Targeted Inspection

Audits initiated as a result of specific data on sales practices (e.g., sales volume, multiple

handgun sales, time-to-crime for guns traced to an FFL) indicative of firearm trafficking.

Time-to-Crime
The ATF defines “time-to-crime” as the amount of time between the retail sale of a firearm by

an FFL and its recovery by law enforcement.!

Type of Firearm

WYSAC limited LEA responses to eight firearm types based on the Federal Bureau of
Investigation’s (FBI) National Incident Based Reporting System (NIBRS) definitions: handgun,
automatic handgun, rifle, automatic rifle, shotgun, automatic shotgun, other firearm, and other
automatic firearm. NIBRS defines an automatic firearm as any firearm that shoots, or is
designed to shoot, more than one shot at a time by a single pull of the trigger without manual
reloading.i® WYSAC provided the NIBRS definition to LEAs in the data collection template.

Methodology

WYSAC used data from four sources to provide a robust analysis. The OAG and WYSAC
solicited data from Maryland LEAs about firearm crimes including the responding agency;
incident date; if the LEA response resulted from a 9-1-1 call; firearms recovered and information
about each firearm; associated arrests, charges and dispositions; and related injuries and
fatalities. To supplement LEA charging and disposition data, the OAG and WYSAC requested
data from the Maryland Administrative Office of the Court (AOC) about firearm crimes and
crimes of violence. WYSAC also received the results of dealer audits conducted by the
Maryland Department of State Police (MSP). Finally, WYSAC collected data from the ATF about

firearms recovered in Maryland, including time-to-crime and state-of-origin.

Data Collection

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES

Identifying Law Enforcement Agencies

WYSAC reviewed a list of Maryland LEAs published by the Maryland Department of Public
Safety, Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions (PCTC) and identified 182
public safety and correctional agencies.¥ WYSAC compared the PCTC list of agencies to a list of
152 agencies provided by the OAG and identified 190 unique LEAs. WYSAC excluded LEAs
that never respond to firearm crimes and LEAs that are no longer in operation (Appendix A). In

total, WYSAC requested data from 131 LEAs.
6
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Collecting Data from Law Enforcement Agencies

On July 5, 2022, OAG emailed each LEA introducing the research team and explaining the
requirements of HB 1186 (2021). The next day, WYSAC emailed an Excel data collection
template to each LEA and reiterated the requirements of HB 1186 (2021). The OAG and WYSAC
asked LEAs to return completed data templates no later than September 1, 2021. To maximize
response rates, WYSAC and OAG sent regular reminder emails and on August 18, 2022,
WYSAC contacted nonresponsive LEAs by telephone.

In all, 109 (83%) LEAs provided data on or before the deadline and 13 (15%) LEAs submitted
data after the deadline. Nine LEAs (7%) declined to provide data or did not respond (Appendix
A). WYSAC closed data collection on October 13, 2021.

Quality Control

Technical Assistance

Some LEAs were inexperienced with using Microsoft Excel and had difficulties entering data
properly. WYSAC provided technical assistance to these LEAs via phone, email, and Zoom
video conferencing. WYSAC adjusted the template for some agencies, upon request, to make
the template compatible with their record management system(s). Every email correspondence
between WYSAC, OAG, and the LEAs included the study team’s contact information and

instructions on how to request technical assistance.

Data Collection Template

The OAG and WYSAC used an Excel data collection template to collect data from LEAs. The
template used several data validation features to make the template easy to use and minimize
human error. Data validation features included drop-down lists to restrict and standardize
users’ entries (e.g., limiting selections to one of eight firearm types) and restricted date fields
(e.g., only accepting incident dates within the reporting period). The template included a “quick

start guide” with instructions and hyperlinks to important definitions.

WYSAC made three substantive updates to the template. The first version of the template
restricted the choice of charge at arrest to the crimes of violence referenced in HB 1186 (2021).!
WYSAC updated the template to include a free-text field to allow LEAs to type in alternative
charges. WYSAC modified the template a second time to gather specific information about
firearm crime victims. Version-one of the template asked only for the total number of firearm
injuries and firearm deaths. The second update required LEAs to specify the type of harm
caused (injury, homicide, or suicide), whether the harm was intentional or accidental, and if the

victim was an adult or a juvenile. The third version of the template allowed LEAs to provide

18§ 5-101 of the Public Safety Article
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information about multiple firearms. WYSAC made the third and final major update to the
template on July 27, 2022. WYSAC made additional modifications to correct minor errors, add

missing jurisdictions, and generate incident numbers.

Requests for Information and Clarification

WYSAC reviewed data templates for completeness and consistency and contacted LEAs when
the data provided appeared incomplete or were unclear.

MARYLAND ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS

The OAG and WYSAC requested firearm crime data from AOC to supplement charging and
disposition data provided by LEAs. Specifically, WYSAC requested data for all filings within
the reporting period that included at least one firearm-related charge. WYSAC also requested

data about any additional charges associated with each firearm-related charge.

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE - FIREARMS
REGISTRATION SECTION

The OAG and WYSAC requested the dates and outcomes of audits conducted by the MSP
Dealer Audit Unit of the top-10 dealers of crime firearms in the State. MSP provided the results
of ten audits, each including a compliance inspection report and a supplemental page of a
narrative description of the audit.

BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO, AND FIREARMS

The ATF’s National Tracing Center (NTC) is authorized by the Gun Control Act of 1968 to trace
crime firearms and is the only crime gun tracing facility in the United States.” The NTC traces
crime firearms by tracking each firearm’s movement through the supply chain from
manufacture through distribution, via wholesalers or retailers, using the gun's serial number.
Tracing allows the ATF and LEAs to identify unlicensed purchasers and patterns in the sources
and types of crime firearms." The ATF provides free eTrace software that allows LEAs to
request firearm trace data, monitor the progress of requests, retrieve results, and query data.
The ATF’s eTrace software also allows LEAs to download and analyze trace data.'i The ATF

publishes aggregate data annually on a calendar year basis.

WYSAC filed a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request with the ATF to request
disaggregated data about firearms recovered and traced within the State during the reporting
period or aggregate data about the same. The ATF determined the data are exempt from

disclosure and denied the request.?

2 Firearm trace data are exempt from disclosure pursuant to Exemption (b)(3) of the FOIA and Public Law 112-
55, 125 Stat. 552.

8
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Analysis

Law Enforcement Data
Of the 122 LEAs that responded to the OAG and WYSAC’s data request, 80 (66%) provided

data about one or more firearm crimes, 35 (29%) reported that the agency did not respond to
any firearm crimes during the reporting period, and seven (5%) reported that a separate agency

is responsible for reporting the agency’s data.

LIMITATIONS
Differences in Data Reporting

Each LEA has a unique process and system for tracking and managing records. As a result,
there are differences in the data LEAs reported. Additionally, LEAs had considerable variations
in how they defined data elements such as “illegal possession” or “illegal transfer.” In an
attempt to address these differences, WYSAC provided every LEA with a data collection
template to limit the range of possible entries and provide clear definitions for key terms.
WYSAC consulted with agencies on a case-by-case basis to ensure they understood all
definitions and data elements and provided technical assistance filling out the templates when

needed.

Missing Disposition Data

Only 49 (40%) of LEAs that submitted data provided disposition information. Most LEAs
reported that they do not record disposition data. As a result, fewer than 10% (n=767) of
incidents included information about dispositions. WYSAC used disposition data provided by
the AOC to supplement missing LEA data.

Missing Crime Firearm Origin Data

Only 34 (28%) LEAs provided information about place of purchase and purchase date for
recovered firearms. The remaining LEAs reported that they either 1) do not keep origin data, or
2) do not trace crime firearms. Fewer than 19% (n=572) of recovered firearms included origin

data. WYSAC used ATF gun-trace data to supplement missing crime firearm origin data.

Missing or Incomplete Injury and Fatality Data

Most LEAs (n=120, 98%) reported data about firearm-related injuries and fatalities. Neither the
MSP nor the Baltimore City Police Department (BPD) could specify if an incident included more
than one injury or fatality, only that an injury or fatality occurred. In addition, BPD was unable

to disaggregate injury and fatality data by age or classify injuries and fatalities as accidental or
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intentional. WYSAC included injuries and fatalities reported by both agencies (MSP and BPD)
as a single event. As a result, the total number of injuries and fatalities is likely much higher.

Maryland Department of State Police, Dealer Audit Unit

The OAG and WYSAC requested the dates and outcomes of audits conducted by the

MSP’s Dealer Audit Unit of the top-ten dealers of crime firearms identified in WYSAC’s
analysis. The Dealer Audit Unit audited each dealer one time, except for Bass Pro Shops Outdoor
World which was audited twice. WYSAC summarized the results of the audits of the top-ten

dealers of crime firearms.

MSP’s audit forms are organized into five sections: 1) Regulated Firearms Dealer Information; 2)
Licenses; 3) Inventory of Regulated Firearms; 4) Applications to Purchase a Regulated Firearm;

and 5) Conclusion. Each form included an attachment with additional notes.

Maryland Administrative Office of the Courts

AOC provided data about 12,791 unique filings that included at least one firearm-related
charge. AOC extracted filings from four records management systems (CCDC_MDEC, 8th
Circuit [Baltimore City], CC Prince George’s County, and DC_NonMDEC). AOC did not
provide records with the following dispositions; remanded to - Juvenile Court; waived from
Criminal to Juvenile Court; forwarded - Juvenile Authorities; transferred for Juvenile
Sentencing; or forwarded - Circuit Court if the defendant was under 18 pursuant to CP §
4-202(i) and CJ § 3-8A-27.

WYSAC categorized charges into eight categories (altering or possessing an altered firearm,
discharging a firearm, illegal possession, illegal sale, illegal transfer, illegal transportation, and
straw purchase). WYSAC categorized crimes of violence into 37 categories (Table 1).
Researchers relied on § 5-101 of the Public Safety Article for definitions and included charges

for an attempt, conspiracy, accessory, and soliciting a crime of violence.

10



Table 1: Crimes of Violence Categories

Arson in the first degree

Kidnapping

Attempted robbery

Assault in the first or second
degree

Attempted kidnapping

Conspiracy robbery

Attempted assault in the first or
second degree

Conspiracy kidnapping

Robbery with a dangerous
weapon

Conspiracy assault in the first or
second degree

Voluntary manslaughter

Attempted robbery with a
dangerous weapon

Burglary in the first, second, or
third degree

Murder in the first or second
degree

Conspiracy robbery with a
dangerous weapon

Attempted burglary in the first,
second, or third degree

Attempted murder in the first or
second degree

Sexual offense in the first,
second, or third degree

Conspiracy burglary in the first,
second, or third degree

Conspiracy murder in the first or
second degree

Attempted sexual offense in the
first, second, or third degree

Solicitation burglary in the first,
second, or third degree

Accessory murder in the first or
second degree

Conspiracy sexual offense in the
first, second, or third degree

Carjacking and armed carjacking

Rape in the first or second
degree

Home invasion

Attempted carjacking and armed
carjacking

Attempted rape in the first or
second degree

Attempted home invasion

Conspiracy carjacking and armed
carjacking

Conspiracy rape in the first or
second degree

Conspiracy home invasion

Escape in the first degree

Robbery

Human trafficking

Attempted escape in the first
degree

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

Equipment used to complete the project

WYSAC used Microsoft Excel to collect, clean, and summarize firearm crime data provided by

LEAs; Microsoft Access to track contacts, submissions, and communications; and Statistical

Package for the Social Sciences 27 (SPSS) to analyze court data.
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Table 2: Number of Firearm Crimes,

Findings

by Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction Number of Crimes
Firearm Crimes Committed — Aegery 57
Anne Arundel 497
in the State of Maryland Baltimore City 3564
LEAs in all 24 jurisdictions provided Baltimore County 680
information about 8,096 firearm crimes (Table Calvert 37
2). Baltimore City provided data on about Caroline 38
3,564 firearm crimes, 44% of the total. Kent carroll 70
County reported the fewest number of Cecil 106
firearm crimes (n=13, 0.1%). Charles 195
Dorchester 38
Frederick 73
9-1-1 Requests for Garrett 2
Emergency Assistance rertord -
Howard 193
Sixty-two percent (n=5,038) of LEA responses Kent 13
were initiated by a 9-1-1 call (Figure 1). 9-1-1 Montgomery 228
origination data were missing for 17%. Prince George's 1,624
(n=1,384) of incidents. Queen Anne's 23
Somerset 25
Figure 1: Firearm Crimes, by 9-1-1 St. Mary 100
Origination Talbot 19
911 Not 911 Washington 192
Origination Origination Wicomico 143
62% 21% Worchester 75
Total 8,096

Unknown
17%

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Table 3: Firearm Crimes with 9-1-1 Requests for Service, by Jurisdiction

Not a 9-1-1

Unknown or

Arrests from 9-1-1

Jurisdiction 9-1-1 Origination Origination I\'/Ii'ssin'g Originations
Origination

Allegany 14 17 26 9
Anne Arundel 308 74 115 143
Baltimore City 2,979 541 44 440
Baltimore County 1 4 675 1
Calvert 7 1 29 5
Caroline 7 9 22 5
Carroll 22 13 35 11
Cecil 48 14 44 25
Charles 140 31 24 78
Dorchester 14 6 18 9
Frederick 35 6 32 19
Garrett 3 6 17 3
Harford 33 22 25 17
Howard 149 26 18 66
Kent 4 0 9 4
Montgomery 111 56 61 75
Prince George's 885 692 61 285
Queen Anne's 3 4 16 0
Somerset 2 3 20 0
St. Mary 47 30 23 16
Talbot 3 6 10 3
Washington 135 33 24 60
Wicomico 64 40 39 26
Worchester 24 36 15 23

Note: Incidents where 9-1-1 origination status or arrest information is missing or unknown are not included in the number of

arrests. The actual number of arrests is likely higher.

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Of the 5,058 LEA incidents initiated by a 9-1-1
call, 1,323 resulted in arrest (26%). WYSAC
asked LEAs to provide the age at arrest for
each arrestee. LEAs provided ages for 80%
(n=1,067) of the 9-1-1 calls that resulted in
arrest, a total of 1,355 arrestees. The youngest
person arrested was 11 years old and the
oldest was 84 years old. The median age of
arrestees was 28 years old.

Injuries and Fatalities
The OAG and WYSAC asked LEAs to report

the number of accidental and intentional
injuries, fatalities, and suicides for adults and
juveniles (Table 4). LEAs reported a total of
2,739 injuries and fatalities. LEAs did not
report victim age or intent for 1,200 (44%)

Figure 2: Age of Arrestees in 9-1-1
Originated Firearm Crime

under 18 [ 183

18-24

I 459

25-39

I <50

40-55

____EY

se+ [ 54

Note: Only includes arrestees in cases that indicated “yes” to
arrest and “yes” to 911 call. Does not include cases with
missing information.

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

injuries and fatalities.® Most victims with reported ages were adults (94%, n=1,439), only 100

(6%) were juveniles. Intentional injury was the most common outcome reported by LEAs for
both adults and juveniles. Eighty-six percent (n=1,237) of adult victims and 91% (n=91) of

juvenile victims suffered an intentional injury.

WYSAC used the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) National Violent Death
Reporting System (NVDRS) to supplement LEA-reported death data. Researchers included

estimates for all firearm-related deaths including unintentional, homicide, and undetermined

intent. NVDRS reported 239 firearm-related suicides and 450 other firearm-related deaths in

Maryland during the calendar year 2019 (the most recent data available). "

3 MSP and BPD did not provide or provided limited information about victim age, number of victims, and type
of injury. WYSAC included injuries and fatalities reported by both agencies as a single event.

14
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Table 4: Firearm Crimes Injuries and Deaths

Accidental Injury Inter?tional Accid.er)tal Intent.it?nal Suicide Unclassified Unclassified
Injury Homicide Homicide Injury Death
Adult  Juvenile | Adult Juvenile | Adult Juvenile | Adult Juvenile | Adult Juvenile
Allegany 0 0 3 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0
Anne Arundel 2 0 46 6 1 0 14 1 26 0 1 0
Baltimore City 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 702 307
Eg'lj'r:?;re 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 138 30
Calvert 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0
Caroline 1 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 2 0
Carroll 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 1 0
Cecil 1 0 10 2 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0
Charles 3 0 21 0 0 2 7 0 9 0 2 0
Dorchester 0 0 12 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 0
Frederick 5 0 6 0 0 0 3 0 3 0 2 0
Garrett 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Harford 0 0 6 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 0 0
Howard 0 1 5 1 2 0 2 0 4 1 1 0
Kent 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Montgomery 0 0 23 1 0 0 15 0 0 0 1 0
Prince George's 0 1 1,055 80 2 0 52 1 2 0 0 0
Queen Anne's 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 2 0
Somerset 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
St. Mary 4 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 5 0 0 0
Talbot 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0
Washington 3 0 41 1 0 0 7 1 1 0 0 0
Wicomico 1 0 5 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 5 0
Worchester 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0
Total 20 2 1,237 91 5 2 111 3 66 2 863 337

Note: MSP and BPD did not provide or provided limited information about victim age, number of victims, and type of injury. WYSAC included injuries and fatalities reported by both agencies as a

single event.

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Arrests Figure 3: Age of Arrestees in Firearm Crime
Incidents (9-1-1 and Not 9-1-1 Originated)
Of the 8,096 reported

incidents, 32% (n=2,640)
indicated an arrest was made
and 60% (n=4,837) reported

no arrest. Arrest status was 18-24 _1 138

missing for 8% (n=619) of

arrests. 25-39 1136

To analyze age of arrestees,

WYSAC included incidents 4055 | 03
that were missing arrest

status but included arrest 56+ - 87

age. In total, 2,367 (29%)

incidents included arrest-age

information. Agencies could Note: If arrest age was provided but arrest (y/n) was missing, the ages were still
included as an arrest. If an arrest was indicated and an age was not provided but

report more than one arrest a disposition age was provided, we reported the disposition age.

for each incident. The 2,367

. , WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

incidents that included one

or more arrests and provided

the age(s) of arrestees resulted in 3,005 total arrests. When the LEA indicated an arrest was
made but did not specify age of arrestee, WYSAC used age reported at disposition when this
information was available. The youngest person arrested was 10 years old, and the oldest was

86 years old. The average age was 28 years old (Figure 3).

Dispositions
In total, Maryland prosecuted 8,114 unique cases with a total of 34,455 firearm related charges
in district courts. Among adults and those tried as adults in district courts, most (46%, n=2,653)

were between the ages of 25 and 39 (Figure 4). The youngest person tried as an adult in district

court was 15 years old, and the oldest was 86 years old. The median age was 27.

Maryland prosecuted 4,677 unique cases with a total of 28,839 firearm related charges in circuit
courts. Some circuit court cases started in district court and then transferred to circuit court.

Because of this, we analyzed district and circuit court data separately.

Among adults and those tried as adults, most (44%, n=2,075) circuit court defendants were
between the ages of 25 and 39 (Figure 4). The youngest person tried as an adult in district court
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was 14 years old, and the Figure 4: Age of Defendant in Firearm Crime
oldest was 86 years old. The Disposition Charges, by Court
median age of circuit court

defendant: 27.
efendants was under 1z 110

218
CHARGE AT District court 2653
DISPOSITION 18-24 1646
Table 5 lists the types of T .
firearm crimes by district 25-39 2075
and circuit court. The 3+
District Court (which serves 40-55 * 1168
Caroline, Cecil, Kent, Queen
Anne’s, and Talbot Counties) 55+ -168393

had the most (n=7,650)

firearm related charges
Note: Because district court cases are regularly transferred to circuit court, we
analyzed district and circuit court dispositions separately.

Source: AOC

among district courts. The
12t District Court (serving
Allegany and Garrett
Counties) had the fewest

firearm related charges (n=417) among district courts.

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

The 8t Circuit Court (serving Baltimore City) had the most firearm related charges (n=12,827)
among circuit courts. The 24 Circuit Court had the fewest firearm related charges among circuit
courts with 625 charges (Table 5).

In both district and the circuit courts, illegal possession was the most commonly charged
tirearm-related crime (n=17,091 and n=13,190, respectively) followed by crimes of violence
(n=14,199 and n=12,709).

Table 6 shows disposition by firearm-crime category for district courts, the majority (66%, n=
19,625) were a forward to circuit court.

Table 7 shows disposition by firearm-crime for circuit courts. In circuit court, the majority (57%,
n=13,433) of cases ended with a Nolle Prosequi.

Violent Crimes

Table 8 lists charges at disposition for firearm-related crimes of violence in district and circuit
courts. Assault and robbery were the most commonly charged crimes of violence in both district

and circuit courts.
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Table 5: Charge at Disposition, by Court

Ammunition,

Violent Altered Armor, Trigger, or | Discharged Illegal lllegal lllegal lllegal Straw

Crime Firearm Magazine Violation Firearm Possession Sale Transfer Transport Purchase Total
15t District 1,410 37 290 33 2536 5 80 8 0 4,399
2nd District 2,484 49 396 52 3,216 6 101 8 1 6,313
34 District 3,879 38 372 67 3,188 15 78 13 0 7,650
4t District 570 4 88 0 580 5 14 0 1 1,262
5t District 2,902 63 398 0 3,699 16 121 0 0 7,199
6% District 244 2 23 1 193 0 3 0 0 466
7t District 676 30 111 6 1,000 10 29 0 0 1,862
8t District 1,161 28 226 11 1,537 8 66 0 0 3,037
9t District 128 6 74 0 320 6 9 0 0 543
10t District 317 3 47 0 432 3 0 1 810
11t District 643 9 84 10 702 5 26 0 0 1,479
12t District 159 32 0 218 1 6 0 0 417
Total 14,199 261 2,094 180 17,091 76 522 29 3 34,455

Ammunition,

Violent Altered Armor, Trigger, or | Discharged lllegal lllegal lllegal lllegal Straw

Crime Firearm Magazine Violation Firearm Possession Sale Transfer Transport Purchase Total
15t Circuit 749 6 71 2 589 24 25 0 0 1,466
2nd Circuit 291 2 48 0 275 1 8 0 0 625
3rd Circuit 1,894 23 248 18 2,200 6 90 0 0 4,479
4t Circuit 385 2 53 1 496 0 13 0 0 950
5t Circuit 3,006 29 286 5 2,061 0 20 651 0 6,058
6t Circuit 483 30 2 419 9 10 32 0 991
7t Circuit 688 5 55 0 655 6 19 15 0 1,443
8t Circuit 5213 43 787 155 6,495 92 2 40 0 12,827
Total 12,709 116 1,578 183 13,190 138 187 738 0 28,839

Note: Because district court cases are regularly transferred to circuit court, we analyzed district and circuit court dispositions separately.

Source: AOC

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Table 6: District Court - Charge at Disposition, by Disposition

Ammunition,

Violent Altered Armor, Trigger, or Discharged Illegal Illegal lllegal Straw

Crime Firearm Magazine Violation Firearm Possession | lllegal Sale | Transfer | Transport @ Purchase Total
Abate by death 36 4 31 0 0 73
Acquittal 24 1 6 0 0 31
Dismissed 154 0 7 0 88 0 3 0 0 252
Forwarded - 7,602 147 1,291 137 10,101 36 293 17 1 19,625
Circuit Court
Guilty 47 0 10 0 64 1 1 0 0 123
Incompetent to 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1
stand trial
Jury trial prayed 464 27 115 8 1,130 3 48 3 0 1,798
Nolle Prosequi 434 10 90 4 580 8 14 0 1 1,141
Not crlmlnally 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3
responsible
Not guilty 20 0 2 0 7 0 0 0 0 29
Probation before 15 0 0 2 39 0 0 0 0 56
judgment
Stet 75 1 28 1 89 0 5 0 0 199
Trial 3,088 46 261 18 2,693 10 88 6 0 6,210
Failed to appear 26 1 4 0 25 0 0 0 0 56

Note: Because district court cases are regularly transferred to circuit court, we analyzed district and circuit court dispositions separately.

Source: AOC

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Table 7: Circuit Court- Charge at Disposition, by Disposition

Ammunition,

Violent Altered Armor, Trigger, or | Discharged lllegal lllegal lllegal Straw

Crime Firearm Magazine Violation Firearm Possession lllegal Sale Transfer | Transport | Purchase Total
Abate by death 90 0 9 4 90 0 0 6 0 199
Acquittal 101 5 0 37 2 0 0 0 146
Closed jeopardy
or other 1,696 32 406 67 2,508 54 1 23 0 4,787
conviction
Dismissed 51 1 5 0 53 0 0 7 0 117
Guilty 1,183 2 39 8 1,398 3 13 82 0 2,728
Incompetent to 23 0 1 0 19 0 0 0 0 43
stand trial
Jury trial prayed 6 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 8
Lesser included 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1
offenses
Mistrial 3 0 2 0 6 0 0 2 0 13
No finding 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 3
No verdict 23 0 0 0 6 0 0 0 0 29
Nolle Prosequi 5,778 60 800 62 6,058 33 129 513 0 13,433
Not criminally 8 0 0 1 2 0 0 0 0 11
responsible
Not guilty 301 0 21 5 184 0 1 10 0 522
F’robatlon before 5 0 3 1 20 0 0 0 0 2
judgment
Stet 62 1 3 2 87 2 1 17 0 175
Sub curia 521 4 62 7 470 1 0 41 0 1,106

Note: Because district court cases are regularly transferred to circuit court, we analyzed district and circuit court dispositions separately.

Source: AOC

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Table 8: Charge at Disposition for Firearm-related Crimes of Violence, by

Court

District Court Circuit Court
Arson in the first degree 4 4
Assault in the first or second degree 8,505 5,341
Attempted assault in the first or second degree 10 0
Conspiracy assault in the first or second degree 492 773
Burglary in the first, second, or third degree 308 334
Attempted burglary in the first, second, or third degree 8 11
Conspiracy burglary in the first, second, or third degree 65 101
Solicitation burglary in the first, second, or third degree 1 0
Carjacking and armed carjacking 230 275
Attempted carjacking and armed carjacking 18 41
Conspiracy carjacking and armed carjacking 42 155
Escape in the first degree 1 1
Attempted escape in the first degree 1 0
Kidnapping 36 64
Attempted kidnapping 2 13
Conspiracy kidnapping 8 29
Voluntary manslaughter 11 20
Murder in the first or second degree 331 319
Attempted murder in the first or second degree 841 851
Conspiracy murder in the first or second degree 105 164
Accessory murder in the first or second degree 7 8
Rape in the first or second degree 150 121
Attempted rape in the first or second degree 10 14
Conspiracy rape in the first or second degree 1 2
Robbery 1,005 1,388
Attempted robbery 1 75
Conspiracy robbery 195 521
Robbery with a dangerous weapon 1,165 858
Attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon 1 348
Conspiracy robbery with a dangerous weapon 263 452
Sexual offense in the first, second, or third degree 164 185
Attempted sexual offense in the first, second, or third degree 2 4
Conspiracy sexual offense in the first, second, or third degree 1 0
Home invasion 145 123
Attempted home invasion 6 11
Conspiracy home invasion 62 95
Human trafficking 2 8

Note: Because district court cases are regularly transferred to circuit court, we analyzed district and circuit court dispositions

separately.
Source: AOC

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Crime Firearms

LEAs recovered one or more firearms in 26%
(n=2,132) of reported incidents and provided
information about 3,026 recovered firearms.
Most incidents reported only one related
tirearm recovery. A total of 287 (13%)
incidents resulted in the recovery of more
than one firearm. In one incident, an LEA

recovered 38 firearms.

LEAs recovered firearms in all 24
jurisdictions. LEAs responding to incidents in
Prince George’s County recovered the
greatest number of firearms (n=489, 16%),
followed by Baltimore City (n=428, 14%), and
Anne Arundel County (n=386, 13%).

Of the 3,026 crime firearms recovered by
LEAs, 86% (n=2,586) had a serial number
(Figure 5). LEAs were unsure if there was a
serial number for 2% (n=67) of recovered
firearms. Records for half (50%) of recovered
firearms did not indicate if the firearm was
privately made (n=1,508). Only 3% (n=85) of
recovered firearms were recorded as
privately-made, while 47% (1,433) were

recorded as unknown or were missing data.

Two thirds (n=2,012) of recovered firearms
were handguns, followed by rifles (n=527,
17%), followed by shotguns (n=331, 11%;
Figure 6).

A total of 1,064 firearms were recovered during incidents initiated by a 9-1-1 call (Figure 7).
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Table 9: Recovered Firearms, by
Incident Location

Jurisdiction Number of Firearms

Allegany 79
Anne Arundel 386
Baltimore City 428
Baltimore County 61
Calvert 81
Caroline 83
Carroll 88
Cecil 133
Charles 225
Dorchester 21
Frederick 88
Garrett 80
Harford 52
Howard 81
Kent 17
Montgomery 171
Prince George's 489
Queen Anne's 47
Somerset 38
St. Mary 52
Talbot 28
Washington 130
Wicomico 90
Worchester 78

Note: The jurisdiction is the location the incident was

reported in.

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Figure 5: Recovered Firearms, by
Serial Number Status

Missing or
' Don't know
No Serial 2% Had Serial
Number Number
12%

86%
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Figure 7: Firearm Recovery, by 9-1-1
Origination

9-1-1
Originated
35%

Unknown
38%

Not 9-1-1
Origination
27%
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Figure 6: Recovered Firearm Type

Handgun | 2012

Automatic Handgun | 37
Rifle | 527
Automatic Rifle = 5

Shotgun [l 331

Other Firearm | 78

Other Automatic
Firearm

Airgun/BB Gun | 34
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Recovery Location

LEAs provided a recovery location for recovered firearms in 60% (n=1,823; Table 10) of the

firearm records. A total of 1,203 (40%) firearms did not specify a recovery location.

WYSAC used data from the ATF to supplement recovery location data provided by LEAs
(Table 11 and Table 12). The ATF reports the top-ten firearm recovery cities each calendar year.

Table 10: Firearm Recovery Table 11: Top-10 Maryland Firearm

Location Recovery Cities, 2019
Jurisdiction Number of Firearms City 2019
Not Specified 1204 Baltimore 2,490
Allegany 29 Pasadena 320
Hagerstown 305
Anne Arundel 296 Frederick 286
Baltimore City 363 Silver Spring 238
Baltimore County 5 Hyattsville 211
Calvert 3 Waldorf 194
Caroline 20 Elkton 178
Glen Burnie 172
Carroll 26 Capitol Heights 147
Cecil 49
Charles 170 Note: ATF data is available by calendar year, not fiscal year.
Dorchester 6 Source: ATF
Frederick 34 WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
Garrett 2 Table 12: Top-10 Maryland Firearm
Harford '8 Recovery Cities, 2020
Howard 43 City 2020
Kent 1 Baltimore 2,407
Montgomery 126 Glen Burnie 267
Prince George's 387 Hagerstown 214
Queen Anne’s 2 Hyattsville 214
Somerset 1 Pasadena 189
St. Mary 21 Silver Spring 183
Talbot 13 Laurel 182
Washington 89 Waldorf 179
Wicomico 46 Frederick 174
Worchester 62 Elkton 171

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Note: ATF data is available by calendar year, not fiscal year.

Source: ATF
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Origin of Crime Firearms
The OAG and WYSAC requested data about

each firearm's origin, however, only 570
firearms (19%) included origin data. Both the
data collected from LEAs, and data reported
by ATF indicate Maryland is the origin state
for most crime firearms recovered in the
State. Virginia is the second most common

source state.

IN-STATE ORIGIN

Of the crime firearms recovered in Maryland
with origin information, 225 (39%) originated
from Maryland. Most (n=51, 23%) originated

from Anne Arundel County.

LEAs identified 64 firearm dealers as retail
sources for the recovered firearms. Bass Pro
Shops Outdoor World in Gaithersburg sold the
largest number of crime firearms (n=13).
Table 14 lists the top-ten locations with the

most crime firearm sales.

RESULTS OF AUDITS OF FIREARM
DEALERS

WYSAC summarized the results of the MSP’s
audits for the top-ten Maryland retailers of

recovered firearms.

Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World
The Dealer Audit Unit completed two audits

Table 13: Jurisdiction of Sale for In-
State Originated Recovered
Firearms

Jurisdiction Number of Firearms
Not Specified 22
Allegany 0
Anne Arundel 51
Baltimore City 20
Baltimore County 11
Calvert 1
Caroline 0
Carroll 5
Cecil 4
Charles 22
Dorchester 0
Frederick 7
Garrett

Harford 4
Howard 14
Kent 2
Montgomery 20
Prince George's 19
Queen Anne's 0
Somerset 0
St. Mary 6
Talbot 4
Washington 2
Wicomico 4
Worchester 0

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

of Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World. The first audit, a compliance inspection on September 22, 2021,

found that the dealer had a valid and properly displayed regulated firearm dealer (RFD)
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Table 14: Top-Ten Maryland Retailers of Recovered Firearms

Store Name Number of Number of Number of Total Number
Handguns Rifles Shotguns of Firearms
Bass Pro Shop Outdoor World 6 2 13
Fred's Outdoors 2 4 3 9
Realco Guns, Inc 4 5 9
United Guns 7 1 8
On Target Inc 5 1 6
Worth a Shot 4 1 5
Atlantic Guns 4 4
Clyde’s Sport Shop Inc 2 1 1 4
Fort Meade Exchange 3 1 4
Maryland Small Arms Range Inc 4 4

Note: Of recovered firearms with origin information.

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

license, federal firearms license (FFL), trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time
of inspection, the dealer had 35 regulated firearms (RFs), all were properly logged in inventory.
The auditor found no issues in the inventory or recorded transfers. The audit was satisfactory,

with no further action recommended.

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a second audit, a targeted audit on January 13, 2022, after the
dealer transferred a handgun prior to the seven-day mandatory waiting period. At the time of
the audit, the employee who transferred the firearm was no longer employed by the dealer, and
the manager who oversaw the transaction had been removed from the department. The auditor
determined the improper transfer was an isolated incident. The audit was satisfactory, with no

further action recommended.

Fred’s Outdoors

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance audit and a targeted audit of Fred’s Outdoors on
March 2, 2022. The compliance inspection found that the dealer had a valid and properly
displayed RFD license, FFL, trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time of
inspection, the dealer had 10 RFs, all were properly logged in inventory and secondary-sale
applications were complete and correct. The auditor found no issues in the inventory or

recorded transfers. The audit was satisfactory, with no further action recommended.

The Dealer Audit conducted a targeted inspection due to the high number of expired
applications. The audit found eight expired (pending for more than 90 days) firearm
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applications. The dealer had not transferred any of the firearms. The Dealer Audit Unit
provided technical assistance and the dealer canceled the expired applications.

Realco Guns, Inc.

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance inspection of Realco Guns, Inc. on April 16, 2021.
The compliance inspection found the dealer had a valid and properly displayed RFD license,
FFL, trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time of inspection, the dealer had 13
RFs, all of which were properly logged in the inventory. The auditor found no issues in the
inventory or recorded transfers. The audit was satisfactory, with no further action

recommended.

United Gun Shop

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance inspection of United Gun Shop on March 29,
2022. The compliance inspection found the dealer had a valid and properly displayed RFD
license, FFL, trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time of inspection, the dealer
had 10 RFs, all were properly logged in inventory. The auditor found no issues in the inventory,
recorded transfers, secondary-sale applications, or law enforcement applications. However, the
auditor found the dealer had incorrectly recorded six applications as “estate sale” applications
rather than “dealer sale” applications. The dealer corrected the applications during the

inspection. The audit was satisfactory, with no further action recommended.

On Target, Inc.

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance inspection of On Target, Inc. on April 20, 2021.
The compliance inspection showed the dealer had a valid and properly displayed RFD license,
FFL, trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time of inspection, the dealer had 29
RFs, all of which were properly logged in inventory. The auditor found no issues in the
inventory or recorded transfers. The audit was satisfactory, with no further action

recommended.

Worth-A-Shot

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance inspection, and a targeted audit of Worth-A-Shot
on March 10, 2022. The compliance inspection found the dealer had a valid and properly
displayed RFD license, FFL, trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time of
inspection, the dealer had 10 RFs, all of which were properly logged in inventory. The auditor
found no issues in the inventory, recorded transfers, or law enforcement applications. The audit
found one transaction with an incorrect serial number recorded in the acquisition and
disposition book, however, the serial number was correctly recorded on the application. The

audit was satisfactory, with no further action recommended.
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The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a targeted inspection due to the high number of expired
applications. The targeted inspection found one expired application. The dealer had not
transferred the firearm. The Dealer Audit Unit provided technical assistance and the dealer

canceled the expired application.

Atlantic Guns

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance inspection of Atlantic Guns on March 29, 2022.
The compliance inspection found the dealer had a valid and properly displayed RFD license,
FFL, trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time of inspection, the dealer had 5 RFs,
all of which were properly logged in inventory. The auditor found no issues in the inventory,
recorded transfers, or transactions. The audit was satisfactory, with no further action

recommended.

Clyde’s Sport Shop

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a targeted inspection of Clyde’s Sport Shop on June 13, 2022,
based on information that indicated the dealer was incorrectly processing secondary sales. The
audit found eight pending seven-day applications, three of which contained discrepancies (two
with incorrect firearm information and one with an incorrect serial number). In addition, the
audit found the dealer incorrectly submitted one secondary sale application and omitted
firearm information on required paperwork. The dealer canceled the pending applications, and

the auditor advised the dealer to fill out paperwork completely.

Army Air Force Exchange (Ft. Meade)

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance inspection of the Army Air Force Exchange on
January 28, 2022. The inspection found the dealer had a valid and properly displayed RFD
license and FFL. The auditor did not provide information about the dealer’s trader’s license,
Maryland tax license, or the number of RFs in the dealer’s inventory. The auditor found no
issues with pending applications or transactions. The audit was satisfactory, with no further

action recommended.

Maryland Small Arms

The Dealer Audit Unit conducted a compliance inspection of Maryland Small Arms on June 8,
2021. The compliance inspection found the dealer had a valid and properly displayed RFD
license, FFL, trader’s license, and a Maryland tax license. At the time of inspection, the dealer
had 33 RFs, all of which were properly logged in inventory. The auditor found no issues in the
inventory or recorded transfers. The audit was satisfactory, with no further action

recommended.
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OUT OF STATE ORIGIN

LEAs reported 345 recovered firearms with an out-of-state origin. Table 15 lists the top-ten

states of origin reported by LEAs during the reporting period. Table 16 lists the ATF’s top-ten

states-of-origin for calendar year 2019 and Table 17 lists the ATF’s top-ten states-of-origin for

calendar year 2020.

Table 15: Top-Ten States of Origin of Recovered
Firearms with Out-of-State Origin

State Number of Firearms
Virginia 86
Pennsylvania 38
Georgia 26
Delaware 20
West Virginia 20
North Carolina 19
Florida 15
South Carolina 15
Alabama 10
Arizona 8

Note: Of recovered firearms with origin information.

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

Table 16: Top-Ten States of Origin

of Recovered Firearms, 2019

Table 17: Top-Ten States of Origin

of Recovered Firearms, 2020

State 2019 State 2020
Virginia 1,054 Virginia 1,070
Pennsylvania 380 Georgia 340
North Carolina 262 Pennsylvania 313
Georgia 253 West Virginia 247
West Virginia 247 North Carolina 221
South Carolina 149 South Carolina 188
Florida 139 Delaware 138
Delaware 125 Florida 133
Texas 110 Ohio 114
Ohio 109 Texas 105

Note: ATF data is by calendar year, not fiscal year.

Source: ATF

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

Note: ATF data is by calendar year, not fiscal year.

Source: ATF

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Other State’s Firearm Laws

As shown in Table 15, the ten states where the most crime firearms recovered in Maryland
originated, in descending order, are: (1) Virginia; (2) Pennsylvania; (3) Georgia; (4) Delaware; (5)
West Virginia; (6) North Carolina; (7) Florida; (8) South Carolina; (9) Alabama; and (10)
Arizona. Since last year’s report, Alabama and Arizona have replaced Ohio and Texas in the top
ten. What follows is a summary of major changes to those states’ laws regarding licensing,
background checks, waiting periods, straw purchases, and concealed carry since 2021’s report,
followed by a brief comparison of the laws in those states in those five areas.* Each section
begins with a short summary of Maryland law —and, as necessary, federal law —to put these
laws in perspective.

Significant Changes Since 2021

Since last year’s report, the Maryland General Assembly and the United States Congress have
enacted new firearm legislation. At its 2022 session, the General Assembly passed House Bill
425 and Senate Bill 387, regulating untraceable firearms (more commonly known as “ghost
guns”); those bills became law without the Governor’s signature. 2022 Md. Laws, ch. 18, 19.
Additionally, House Bill 1021 imposed new security requirements on licensed firearms dealers.
2022 Md. Laws, ch. 55.

Meanwhile, the United States Congress passed and President Biden signed the Bipartisan Safer
Communities Act. Pub. L. No. 117-159, 136 Stat. 1313 (2022) (“Safer Communities Act”). The
Safer Communities Act made various changes to federal law including, as relevant here, a new
federal prohibition on straw purchases. Id. § 12004, 136 Stat. at 1326.

Of the ten states listed above, only Delaware has increased its regulation of firearms in any of
the five areas covered by this study since last year’s report. Specifically, Delaware will soon
become a “point of contact” state for federally required firearms background checks. This
change means that Delaware law enforcement will perform background checks itself rather
than delegating that function to the FBI, and may search additional databases beyond the FBI's
background check system to determine whether a prospective purchaser is prohibited from

owning a firearm. 2022 Del. Laws, ch. 330.

In contrast, Georgia repealed its permit requirement for concealed carry in 2022 (as did
Alabama, one of the new additions to this year’s top ten list), allowing most adults who lack
criminal records and who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents to carry firearms in the state
without a permit. 2022 Ala. Laws 133; 2022 Ga. Laws 596.

4 This comparison draws from the survey of state gun laws prepared by the Giffords Law Center to Prevent
Gun Violence, https://giffords.org/lawcenter/gun-laws/browse-gun-laws-by-state/ (last visited Nov. 7, 2022).
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Federal constitutional law has also changed since last year’s report. In New York State Rifle &
Pistol Ass'n v. Bruen, the Supreme Court invalidated a New York law that required a prospective
tirearm purchaser to show an individualized need for self-defense greater than that of the
community at large. 142 S. Ct. 2111, 2122 (2022). After Bruen, the Court of Special Appeals held
a similar provision of Maryland law unconstitutional. In re Rounds, 255 Md. App. 205, 211-13
(2022).

Licensing

Maryland

Maryland does not require a license to own a firearm. It does, however, have an application
process to purchase, rent, or transfer certain firearms and a specific licensing requirement to
purchase, rent, or receive a handgun. As to application requirements, generally speaking, a
person must submit a firearm application “before the person purchases, rents, or transfers a
regulated firearm.” Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety (“PS”) § 5-117. The term “regulated firearm” is
defined as handguns and specified assault weapons, so this requirement does not apply to non-
assault weapon rifles and shotguns. PS § 5-101(r). The firearm application must be submitted
to either a licensed firearms dealer or a designated law enforcement agency, PS § 5-118(a),
which, in turn, must forward a copy to the Secretary of the Maryland State Police for

processing, PS § 5-120.

As part of Maryland’s firearm application, the applicant must state under the penalty of perjury
that the applicant: (i) is at least 21 years old; (ii) has never been convicted of a disqualifying
crime; (iii) has never been convicted of a violation classified as a common law crime and
received a term of imprisonment of more than 2 years; (iv) is not a fugitive from justice; (v) is
not a “habitual drunkard”; (vi) is not addicted to a controlled dangerous substance or is not a
habitual user; (vii) does not suffer from a mental disorder and have a history of violent
behavior; (viii) has never been found incompetent to stand trial; (ix) has never been found not
criminally responsible; (x) has never been voluntarily admitted for more than 30 consecutive
days to a facility for individuals with mental disorders; (xi) has never been involuntarily
committed to such a facility; (xii) is not under the protection of a guardian appointed by a court
unless solely as a result of a physical disability; (xiii) is not a respondent against whom
protective orders have been entered; and (xiv) if under the age of 30 years at the time of
application, has not been adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for certain acts. PS § 5-
118(Db).

On receipt of a firearm application, the Secretary of the Maryland State Police “shall conduct an
investigation promptly to determine the truth or falsity of the information supplied and
statements made in the firearm application.” PS § 5-121. The Secretary shall disapprove a
tirearm application if the Secretary determines it contains falsities or is not properly completed,
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or if the Secretary “receives written notification from the firearm applicant’s licensed attending
physician that the firearm applicant suffers from a mental disorder and is a danger to the
firearm applicant or to another.” PS § 5-122. An aggrieved applicant may request a hearing in
writing within 30 days after the Secretary gives notice that the application has been
disapproved, and the Secretary shall grant the hearing within 15 days. PS § 5-126(a). The
hearing must be held in the county of the applicant’s legal residence, PS § 5-126(c), and is
subject to judicial review, PS § 5-127.

As to licensing requirements, there is a specific provision that requires a license to obtain a
handgun. With certain limited exceptions, a person may “purchase, rent, or receive a handgun”
only if the person possesses a valid handgun qualification license issued by the Secretary of the
Maryland State Police and is not prohibited from purchasing or possessing a handgun under
state or federal law. PS § 5-117.1(c). The Secretary “shall issue” a handgun qualification license
to a person who the Secretary finds is at least 21 years of age, is a resident of the state, has
demonstrated satisfactory completion within the past 3 years of a firearms safety training
course approved by the Secretary, and, based on an investigation, is not prohibited by state or
federal law from purchasing or possessing a handgun. PS §5-117.1(d). As part of the
investigation, the Secretary must submit a complete set of the applicant’s fingerprints to the
Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository of the Department of Public Safety and
Correctional Services and apply for a state and national criminal history records check. PS § 5-
117.1(f). The Secretary shall issue a handgun qualification license if the application is approved,
or a written denial, within 30 days of receipt of the application, and aggrieved applicants have
similar appeal rights to those described above. PS § 5-117.1(h). The license expires 10 years
from the date of issuance. PS § 5-117.1(j).

Other states

None of the states surveyed require a license to own a firearm nor do they have a firearm
application process to obtain or transfer a firearm (beyond the background checks discussed in
the next section), although one of the states—North Carolina—requires a license (or permit) to
purchase or receive a “pistol,” which does involve the submission of an electronic application.
In North Carolina, it is unlawful for any person to “sell, give away, or transfer, or to purchase or
receive . . . any pistol” unless a permit is obtained by the purchaser or receiver from the sheriff
of the county in which the purchaser or receiver resides, or the purchaser or receiver holds a
valid North Carolina concealed handgun permit and is a resident of the state. N.C. Gen. Stat.
Ann. § 14-402(a). By the terms of the statute, which refers to the purchase of a “pistol” but
verifies a person’s qualifications to purchase a “handgun,” id. § 14-403, this requirement does
not apply to long guns. A permit to purchase a “pistol” expires five years from the date of

issuance. Id.
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A sheriff “shall issue” a permit to purchase a “pistol” in North Carolina once the sheriff has
conducted a criminal background check using state and national databases, is fully satisfied the
applicant is of “good moral character” based on conduct for the five-year period immediately
preceding the application, and is fully satisfied the applicant “desires the possession of the
weapon mentioned for (i) the protection of the home, business, person, family or property, (ii)
target shooting, (iii) collecting, or (iv) hunting.” Id. § 14-404(a). If the sheriff is not fully
satisfied with the application, the sheriff may “for good cause shown,” decline to issue the
permit and provide to the applicant within 7 days of the refusal a written statement of the
reason for the refusal. Id. § 14-404(b). Each applicant for a permit shall be informed by the
sheriff within 14 days of the date of application whether the permit will be granted or denied
and, if granted, the permit shall be immediately issued to the applicant. Id. § 14-404(f). An
applicant may appeal the denial of a permit to the superior court in the district in which the
application was filed. Id. § 14-404(b).

A permit to purchase a “pistol” in North Carolina may not be issued to a person who: (i) is
under an indictment or has been convicted of a felony; (ii) is a fugitive from justice; (iii) is an
unlawful user of or addicted to marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug; (iv)
has been adjudicated mentally incompetent or has been committed to any mental institution; (v)
is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States; (vi) has been discharged from the Armed
Forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions; (vii) has renounced his or her
citizenship in the United States; or (viii) is subject to a court order restraining the person from

harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or the partner’s child. Id. § 14-404(c).

Background Checks

In order to understand state laws on background checks, some knowledge of federal law is
required. The principal federal law concerning background checks is the Brady Act, which,
among other things, requires licensed firearms dealers to request a background check on a
purchaser prior to the sale of a firearm. 18 U.S5.C. § 922(t). States have the option under that law
to serve as the “point of contact” for all firearm transactions and have state and local agencies
conduct required background checks using state and federal databases or to have the Federal
Bureau of Investigation (“FBI”) conduct background checks using only the National Instant
Criminal Background Check System (“NICS”).> The key difference is that point-of-contact
states often search records that may not show up in the NICS. Notably, the Brady Act does not
require private sellers (i.e., sellers who are not licensed firearms dealers) to request a

background check.

5 The FBI maintains a NICS Participation Map showing which states presently serve as points of contact. See
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/nics/about-nics (last visited Nov. 7, 2022).
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Maryland

Maryland is considered a partial point-of-contact state, because the background check process
depends on the type of firearm. For handguns, licensed firearms dealers contact the Secretary
of the Maryland State Police to request a background check; for long guns, they contact the FBI.
PS § 5-117.1(f). Private sellers, meanwhile, must process transfers of regulated firearms through
a licensed dealer or designated law enforcement agency, which, in turn, requests a background

check from the appropriate entity. PS § 5-124(a).

Other states

One of the states surveyed —North Carolina—is also a partial point-of-contact state. For
handguns, licensed firearms dealers contact the county sheriff to request a background check
and, for long guns, they contact the FBI. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-404.

Three of the states surveyed — Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Florida—are currently point-of-
contact states. Thus, licensed firearm dealers in those states process all of their background
checks through the State Police (in Florida, the Department of Law Enforcement), rather than
the FBIL. Each state has enacted laws to implement its own background check requirements. For
example, Virginia provides that no dealer shall “sell, rent, trade, or transfer from his inventory”
any firearm to any other person who is a resident of Virginia until he has (i) obtained written
consent and other information from the applicant and (ii) requested criminal history
information from the State Police and is authorized by law to complete the sale or transfer. Va.
Code Ann. § 18.2-308.2:2. Pennsylvania, meanwhile, requires licensed firearms dealers to
request that the State Police conduct a “criminal history, juvenile delinquency and mental
health records background check” prior to the transfer of a firearm. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §
6111. Florida prohibits a licensed firearms dealer from selling or delivering a firearm until the
licensed firearms dealer has obtained a prescribed form with photo identification, collected a
fee, requested a check of information reported in the Florida Crime Information Center and
National Crime Information Center systems, and received a unique approval number from the
Department of Law Enforcement. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 790.065.

Delaware, which is currently not a point-of-contact state, enacted legislation in 2022 that will
make it a point-of-contact state by June 30, 2023. 2022 Del. Laws, ch. 330, §§ 1, 8. The new law
will require dealers to submit requests for background checks to the State Bureau of
Identification of the Delaware State Police, which will then transmit a request for a background
check to the NICS system and also “search other available databases” to determine if the

requesting individual is a prohibited purchaser. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 8572.¢

61n 2018, Florida enacted a “risk protection order” law that authorizes law enforcement to petition a court for
a civil order preventing a dangerous person from accessing firearms for the period of time stated in the order, which is
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Five of the states surveyed — Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, West Virginia, and South Carolina—
are not point-of-contact states. Thus, licensed firearms dealers run the background checks
required by federal law through the FBI and the NICS. Georgia and Alabama both have state
laws reiterating the requirement in federal law that all transfers by licensed firearms dealers are
subject to background checks through the NICS. Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-172; Ala. Code § 41-9-
649. The remaining three states have no state law requiring licensed firearms dealers to initiate

background checks prior to transferring a firearm, thus relying solely on federal law.”

Four of the states surveyed — Virginia, Delaware, Pennsylvania, and North Carolina—have
enacted state laws that require private sellers to obtain a background check. In Virginia, private
sellers must obtain verification from a licensed firearms dealer that information on the
prospective purchaser has been submitted for a background check and that a determination has
been received by the State Police that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.
Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.2:5. Similarly, in Delaware, private sellers must request a licensed
tirearms dealer to facilitate a firearms transaction, including the background check, prior to
transferring a firearm to another unlicensed person. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1448B. In
Pennsylvania, private sellers may only sell a handgun or short-barreled rifle or shotgun at “the
place of business of a licensed importer, manufacturer, dealer or county sheriff’s office” and the
licensed entity must conduct a background check “as if [it] were the seller of the firearm.” 18
Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6111(c). In North Carolina, if the firearm being transferred is a “pistol,”
private sellers must verify that the purchaser holds either a permit to purchase or a concealed

carry permit, both of which require a background check; like Pennsylvania, however,

forwarded for entry into the Florida Crime Information Center and National Crime Information Center within 24 hours
of issuance. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 790.401. That same year, Delaware enacted a similar law where family members,
individuals in some intimate relationships, or law enforcement may petition for a “lethal violence protective order” that
prohibits a person from “controlling, owning, purchasing, possessing, having access to, or receiving a firearm” for up to
one year. Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, 8 7701 et seq. Virginia enacted a similar law in 2020, requiring a “substantial risk order”
to be forwarded to the Virginia Criminal Information Network no later than the end of the business day on which it was
issued. Va. Code Ann. 8 19.2-152.14. For its part, Maryland's extreme risk protection order law—enacted in 2018—
allows law enforcement officers, spouses, cohabitants, persons related by blood, marriage, or adoption, individuals who
have a child in common, current dating or intimate partners, current or former legal guardians, and medical
professionals or social workers to petition for such an order, which requires a person to surrender any firearm in the
person'’s possession and prohibits the person from purchasing or possessing a firearm for the duration of the order, up
to one year. See PS § 5-601 et seq.

7 Individuals who hold certain permits issued by state or local authorities, often referred to as Brady permits,
may bypass the federally required background check, provided the permit has been issued (1) within the previous five
years in the state in which the transfer is to take place and (2) after an authorized government official has conducted a
background investigation to verify that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm. See 18 U.S.C. §
922(t)(3); see also Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Permanent Brady Permit Chart,
https://www.atf.gov/rules-and-regulations/permanent-brady-permit-chart (June 21, 2021). Five of the states surveyed—
Arizona, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and West Virginia—issue Brady permits. Maryland does not.
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background checks are not required when the firearm is a long gun. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-
402.

Six of the states surveyed — Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, and West
Virginia—do not require private sellers to initiate a background check when transferring a
tirearm. However, the Florida Constitution states that “[e]ach county shall have the authority
to require a criminal history records check . . . in connection with the sale of any firearm
occurring within such county.” The term “sale” for purposes of this section “means the transfer
of money or other valuable consideration for any firearm when any part of the transaction is
conducted on property to which the public has the right of access.” Fla. Const. Art. VIII § 5(b).
Notably, this local option provision does not extend to “[h]olders of a concealed weapons

permit as prescribed by general law” when purchasing a firearm. Id.

Under federal law, if a licensed firearms dealer who has initiated a background check has not
been notified within three business days that the purchaser is prohibited from possessing a
firearm, the dealer may proceed with the sale by default. 18 U.S.C. § 922(t)(1). Five of the states
surveyed — Virginia, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Florida, and North Carolina—have enacted laws
that extend this timeframe either directly or indirectly. In Virginia, if a licensed firearms dealer
is told that the background check will not be available by the end of the dealer’s fifth business
day, the dealer may immediately complete the sale. Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.2:2(B)(2). In
Delaware, if 25 days have elapsed from the time the background check is requested and the
FBI—or, once the state’s new legislation becomes effective, the State Police—still has not issued
a denial, the transfer may proceed. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1448A(b). In a departure from
those specified extensions, Pennsylvania law provides that if the criminal history or juvenile
delinquency check indicates a conviction for a misdemeanor that the State Police cannot
determine is or is not related to an act of domestic violence, the State Police shall issue a
temporary delay and investigate as expeditiously as possible, but no firearm may be transferred
during the temporary delay. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6111(b)(7). Thus, the transfer is held not
for a specific number of days but rather pending the investigation. In all other cases,
Pennsylvania law allows ten days for completion of the background check. Id. §
6111(b)(1.1)(iii). Florida’s mandatory waiting period for the delivery of a firearm, discussed
turther below, ends after three days or upon completion of a background check, whichever is
later. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 790.0655. Although not framed as an extension of time, North Carolina,
as discussed above, provides the sheriff up to 14 days to grant or deny a permit to purchase a
“pistol,” effectively extending the timeframe within which to complete the required background
check. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-404(f).
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Waiting Periods

Maryland

In Maryland, except for transfers to certain law enforcement and military personnel, no
person—regardless of whether they are a licensed firearms dealer or a private seller—may “sell,
rent, or transfer a regulated firearm,” that is, a handgun or specified assault weapon, until 7
days after a firearm application is forwarded to the Secretary of the Maryland State Police. PS
§§ 5-123(a), 5-124(a)(1), 5-137(b).

Other states

Only one of the states surveyed —Florida—has enacted a waiting period law. In Florida, there
is a mandatory waiting period between the purchase and delivery of any firearm. The waiting
period is 3 days, excluding weekends and legal holidays, or the time that it takes to complete
the background check, whichever is later. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 790.0655. However, there are
exemptions to this requirement. For example, the waiting period does not apply when the
purchaser of any firearm has a concealed carry permit, when the purchaser of a rifle or shotgun
has completed a hunter safety course, or when the purchaser of a rifle or shotgun is a law
enforcement officer, correctional officer, or service member. Id. The waiting period also does

not apply to the trade-in of another firearm. Id.

The remaining states do not have any express waiting period. As discussed above, though,
some states effectively have waiting periods to the extent the purchase or transfer of a firearm
cannot be completed until the appropriate license or permit has been issued or required

background checks have been completed.

Straw Purchases

The term “straw purchase” generally refers to the situation where a purchaser is buying a
firearm on behalf of someone else who is ineligible to purchase or possess that firearm. Federal
law prohibits any person from selling or otherwise disposing of a firearm to a person if the
seller “know([s]” or has “reasonable cause to believe” the buyer is prohibited from possessing a
firearm. See 18 U.S.C. § 922(d).

The federal Safer Communities Act, enacted in 2022, added a new prohibition on straw
purchases. The new statute makes it a federal crime to knowingly purchase, or conspire to
purchase, a firearm for another person, “knowing or having reasonable cause to believe” that
the other person is prohibited from purchasing a firearm under federal law, intends to use the
tirearm in furtherance of a felony, terrorism, or drug trafficking, or intends to sell or dispose of
the firearm to a prohibited person. Pub. L. No. 117-159, § 12004, 136 Stat. at 1327 (to be codified
at 18 U.S.C. §932).
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Maryland

Maryland law expressly defines “straw purchase” to mean “a sale of a regulated firearm in
which a person uses another, known as the straw purchaser, to: (1) complete the application to
purchase a regulated firearm; (2) take initial possession of the regulated firearm; and (3)
subsequently transfer the regulated firearm to the person.” PS § 5-101(v). A person may not
“knowingly or willfully participate” in a straw purchase of a regulated firearm. PS § 5-136(b).
If the regulated firearm is a gift to the purchaser’s spouse, parent, grandparent, grandchild,
sibling, or child, the recipient must nonetheless complete a firearm application and forward a
copy to the Secretary within 5 days of receipt of the firearm. PS §5-136(a). A person may not
“knowingly give false information or make a material misstatement in a firearm application or

in an application for a dealer’s license.” PS § 5-139.

Other states

Six of the states surveyed — Virginia, Florida, Delaware, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and
Alabama— prohibit providing false information in connection with a firearms transfer. In
Virginia and Florida, the law prohibits both the buyer from “willfully” providing false
information and the seller from requesting criminal history information “under false pretenses.”
See Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.2:2(E), (K); Fla. Stat. Ann. § 790.065(7), (12)(a). The other states
focus more on information that is provided by the buyer in order to deceive the seller. For
example, Delaware prohibits a “materially false oral or written statement” that is “intended or
likely to deceive” the seller. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1448A(g). North Carolina similarly
prohibits any person from providing “information that the person knows to be materially false
information with the intent to deceive the dealer or seller about the legality of a transfer.” N.C.
Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-408.1(c). In Pennsylvania, the law prohibits “any person, purchaser or
transferee” from “knowingly and intentionally” making materially false oral or written
statements, and also penalizes one who “willfully furnishes or exhibits any false identification
intended or likely to deceive the seller.” 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6111(g)(4).® Finally, in
Alabama, a person who “provides to a licensed dealer or a private seller of firearms or
ammunition what the person knows to be materially false information with intent to deceive the
dealer or seller about the legality of the transfer” is guilty of a felony. Ala. Code § 13A-11-
58.1(c).

Six of the states surveyed —Delaware, Virginia, Georgia, North Carolina, Florida, and

Alabama—have laws that target the “straw purchaser.” The laws in these states primarily differ

8 Pennsylvania also requires the buyer of a handgun to affirm, on a form, that he or she is the “actual buyer.”
The form explains that a person is not the actual buyer under Pennsylvania law if the buyer is acquiring the firearm on
behalf of another person, unless it is a gift for a spouse, parent, child, grandparent, or grandchild. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat.
Ann. 86111(b)(1).
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in terms of the level of knowledge that is required for culpability. Delaware simply prohibits
“engaging in a firearms transaction on behalf of another” who is not qualified to purchase, own,
or possess a firearm. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1455. Virginia imposes penalties if the buyer
intends to resell or otherwise provide a firearm to a person that the buyer “knows or has reason
to believe is ineligible . . . for whatever reason.” Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.2:2(M). Georgia
imposes penalties on any person who “knowingly attempts to solicit, persuade, encourage, or
entice any dealer to transfer or otherwise convey a firearm to an individual who is not the
actual buyer,” as well as on any person who “willfully and intentionally aids or abets such
person.” Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-113(a). While Georgia’s law focuses on dealers, North Carolina
has a similar provision that penalizes any person who “knowingly solicits, persuades,
encourages, or entices a licensed dealer or private seller” to transfer a firearm under
circumstances that the person knows are illegal. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-408.1(b) (emphasis
added). Florida imposes penalties only if the buyer “knowingly acquires a firearm . . . intended
for the use of a person who is prohibited by state or federal law from possessing or receiving a
firearm.” Fla. Stat. Ann. § 790.065(12)(d). Lastly, Alabama law provides that a person who
knowingly “solicits, persuades, encourages, or entices a licensed dealer or private seller” to
transfer a firearm or ammunition, under circumstances which the person knows would violate
state or federal law, commits a felony. Ala. Code § 13A-11-58.1(b).

Two of the states surveyed —Virginia and West Virginia—have laws that target the “actual
buyer,” that is, the prohibited person who receives the firearm. Virginia penalizes any
ineligible buyer who solicits another person to purchase a firearm on his or her behalf. Va.
Code Ann. § 18.2-308.2:2(N). West Virginia penalizes a person who willfully procures another
person to entice a seller to transfer a firearm knowing the transfer is illegal. W. Va. Code Ann. §
61-7-10(e).

Two of the states surveyed —Virginia and Pennsylvania—have laws that target the seller.
Virginia makes it a crime to sell or furnish a firearm to any person the seller or transferor knows
is prohibited from possessing or transporting a firearm. Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.2:1.
Pennsylvania penalizes any seller who “knowingly or intentionally sells, delivers, or transfers a
tirearm under circumstances intended to provide a firearm” to a person ineligible to possess
one. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6111(g)(2).

Arizona prohibits “trafficking” in weapons in service to the interests of a “criminal street gang,
a criminal syndicate or a racketeering enterprise,” Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-3102(a)(16), but has no

law generally regulating straw purchases.

South Carolina has no state laws to address straw purchases.
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Concealed Carry

Maryland

Maryland requires a person to have a permit “before the person carries, wears, or transports a
handgun.” PS § 5-303. The Secretary of the Maryland State Police “shall issue a permit within a
reasonable time” to a person who the Secretary finds meets the statutory criteria. PS § 5-306(a).
Those criteria include, as an initial matter, that the person is an adult, has not been convicted of
certain crimes, is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous
substance other than under legitimate medical direction, and has successfully completed a
firearms training course approved by the Secretary. Id. The training course must include, for
an initial application, a minimum of 16 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor,
and, for a renewal application, a minimum of 8 hours of instruction. PS § 5-306(a)(5). The
course must include classroom instruction on state firearm law, home firearm safety, and
handgun mechanism and operations, as well as a firearms qualification component that

demonstrates the applicant’s proficiency and use of the firearm. Id.

As to additional criteria, before issuing a carry permit, the Secretary must also find, based on an
investigation, that the person “has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may
reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or to another.”
PS § 5-306(a)(6)(i). The statute also requires the Secretary to find that the applicant “has good
and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as a finding that the permit
is necessary as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.” PS § 5-306(a)(6)(ii).
However, the Court of Special Appeals has held the “good and substantial reason” requirement
unconstitutional under the United States Supreme Court’s 2022 decision invalidating a similar
provision of New York law. In re Rounds, 255 Md. App. at 211-13 (citing Bruen, 142 S. Ct. 2111).

For applicants under the age of 30 years, the Secretary must also find that the applicant has not
been committed for juvenile detention for longer than a year or been adjudicated delinquent for
an act that would be a crime of violence or carry certain penalties if committed by an adult. PS
§ 5-306(c). If a permit is issued, that permit must be carried “whenever the person carries,

wears, or transports a handgun.” PS § 5-308.

Other states

Four of the states surveyed — Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, and West Virginia—allow people to
carry a concealed weapon in public without a license or permit. In Arizona, anyone 21 or over
who is not subject to certain criminal or court-imposed disabilities, and who is a U.S. citizen or
legal resident, may carry a firearm without a permit, although they must truthfully answer if
asked by a law enforcement officer whether they are carrying a concealed weapon. See Ariz.
Rev. Stat. § 13-3102(A)(1)(b); see also id. § 13-3101(A)(7) (defining “prohibited possessor”).
Similarly, in West Virginia, any person who is 21 years of age or older and a U.S. citizen or legal
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resident may carry a concealed deadly weapon unless otherwise prohibited by law. W. Va.
Code Ann. § 61-7-7(c).

Alabama and Georgia both abolished their concealed-carry permit requirements in 2022. The
change has already taken effect in Georgia and will take effect January 1, 2023, in Alabama.

2022 Ala. Laws 133, § 12; 2022 Ga. Laws 596. Under Alabama’s new law, anyone aged 18 or
over, who is not prohibited from carrying a firearm by state or federal law, may carry a firearm
without a permit. 2022 Ala. Laws 133, § 1 (amending Ala. Code § 13A-11-85); Ala. Code § 13A-
11-72 (specifying classes of persons who may not have a firearm). Similarly, Georgia allows any
“lawful weapons carrier” (defined as any person who is either licensed or merely eligible for a
license in Georgia, or licensed in any other state, and not otherwise prohibited by law) to carry a
firearm. 2022 Ga. Laws 596, §§ 4-5 (amending Ga. Code Ann. §§ 16-11-125.1(2.1), 16-11-126).°

The states that do require a license or permit to carry a concealed weapon in public vary in
terms of the qualifications they set, and the level of discretion authorities have when
determining whether an applicant meets the qualifications. Notably, Delaware requires good
character as a qualification for receiving a concealed carry permit.’ In Delaware, an applicant
must file a certificate from five “respectable citizens” of the county stating that the applicant is
of good moral character, has a reputation for peace and good order, and that possession of a
concealed deadly weapon is necessary for the protection of the applicant or the applicant’s
property. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1441(a)(2). That qualification—and the others set forth in
state law —must be “strictly complied with” before an applicant “may be licensed.” Id. §
1441(a). Indeed, the statute provides that “[t]he Court may or may not, in its discretion,
approve any application.” Id. § 1441(d). The Supreme Court in Bruen, however, did not call
Delaware’s permitting regime into question, listing it among the “shall issue” states on the

ground that it rarely denies permits in practice. 142 S. Ct. at 2123 n.1.

Two additional states—Virginia and Pennsylvania—do not have character requirements but

instead allow authorities to deny an application when there is reason to believe the applicant is

2 All four of the states that do not require a concealed-carry license nonetheless issue such licenses,
presumably because having a license may be relevant to the license holder if another state offers reciprocity. All four
states are "shall issue" jurisdictions and, although the exact prerequisites vary slightly, all four generally impose an age
requirement, a citizenship or legal residency requirement, and a requirement that the person not have certain criminal
convictions or pending charges, and not have certain mental health and/or substance abuse issues. See Ala. Code
§ 13A-11-75; Ariz. Rev. Stat. 8 13-3112; Ga. Code Ann. 8 16-11-129; W. Va. Code Ann. 8 61-7-4a. As discussed further
below, Arizona and West Virginia also require firearms safety training as a prerequisite for a permit, but not for
permitless carry. Alabama also authorizes a sheriff to deny a permit to an individual who has “[c]laused or causes
justifiable concern for public safety.” Ala. Code 8 13A-11-75(c)(11).

0 Delaware also requires good cause, that is, an applicant must submit a statement that the applicant desires
to carry a concealed deadly weapon “for personal protection or protection of the person’s property, or both,” and submit
to a criminal background check. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, 8 1441(a)(1). Again, the Bruen Court did not question this aspect
of Delaware law. 142 S. Ct. at 2123 n.1.
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dangerous. In Virginia, a person is disqualified from obtaining a permit if “the court finds, by a
preponderance of the evidence, based on specific acts by the applicant, [that the applicant] is
likely to use a weapon unlawfully or negligently to endanger others.” Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-
308.09. The sheriff, chief of police, or attorney for the Commonwealth may submit to the court a
sworn, written statement on this matter, if it is “based upon personal knowledge of such
individual or of a deputy sheriff, police officer or assistant attorney for the Commonwealth . . .
or upon a written statement made under oath before a notary public of a competent person
having personal knowledge of the specific acts.” Id. In Pennsylvania, the sheriff “shall not”
issue a license to “[a]n individual whose character and reputation is such that the individual

would be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety.” 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6109.

Five of the states surveyed — Virginia, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Delaware—
require firearm safety training in order to receive a concealed carry permit. Two additional
states— Arizona and West Virginia—have training requirements as well, but obtaining a permit
is optional. In any event, the state laws in this area vary based on the range of courses that
qualify and the extent to which the content of those courses is prescribed. In Virginia, the law
outlines a variety of courses that would qualify but also allows “any other firearms training that
the court deems adequate.” Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.02. Similarly, Florida lists a number of
training courses that can “[d]emonstrate[] competence” but does not prescribe the content of
those courses. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 790.06. In North Carolina, applicants must complete an
“approved firearms safety and training course which involves the actual firing of handguns and
instruction in the laws of this State governing the carrying of a concealed handgun and the use
of deadly force.” N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-415.12. An approved course is one that satisfies the
law’s requirements and that is certified or sponsored by the North Carolina Criminal Justice
Education and Training Standards Commission, the National Rifle Association, or a law
enforcement agency, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training

school taught by instructors certified by either of the first two entities. Id.

South Carolina requires “proof of training” to receive a concealed weapons permit, S.C. Code
Ann. § 23-31-215, requiring an applicant to have, “within three years of filing an application,
completed a basic or advanced handgun education course offered by a state, county, or
municipal law enforcement agency or a nationally recognized organization that promotes gun
safety.” S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-210. The course must include: (i) information on the statutory
and case law of the state relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force; (ii) information on
handgun use and safety; (iii) information on the proper storage practice for handguns with an
emphasis on storage practices that reduces the possibility of accidental injury to a child; (iv) the
actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor, provided that a minimum of
twenty five rounds must be fired; (v) properly securing a firearm in a holster; (vi) “cocked and

locked” carrying of a firearm; (vii) how to respond to a person who attempts to take your

42



MARYLAND FIREARM CRIME, INJURIES, FATALITIES, AND CRIME FIREARMS STUDY: JULY 31, 2019 - AUGUST 1, 2020

tirearm from your holster; and (viii) de-escalation techniques and strategies. Id. Certain
individuals who have completed military basic training and retired law enforcement officers
must only provide proof of training on the first element, that is, on the statutory and case law of
the state relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force, while other individuals, such as
active military and handgun instructors, need only provide documentation of that status to

satisfy the requirement. Id.

Delaware is similarly prescriptive in terms of course content. In Delaware, training courses
must include: (i) instruction regarding knowledge and safe handling of firearms; (ii) instruction
regarding safe storage of firearms and child safety; (iii) instruction regarding knowledge and
safe handling of ammunition; (iv) instruction regarding safe storage of ammunition and child
safety; (v) instruction regarding safe firearms shooting fundamentals; (vi) live fire shooting
exercises conducted on a range, including the expenditure of a minimum of 100 rounds of
ammunition; (vii) identification of ways to develop and maintain firearm shooting skills; (viii)
instruction regarding federal and state laws pertaining to the lawful purchase, ownership,
transportation, use and possession of firearms; (ix) instruction regarding the laws of the state
pertaining to the use of deadly force for self-defense; and (x) instruction regarding techniques
for avoiding a criminal attack and how to manage a violent confrontation, including conflict
resolution. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1441(a)(3).

To qualify for an optional concealed-carry permit under Arizona law, an applicant must
“demonstrate competence with a firearm” by taking a course in one of a variety of settings, or
through military service; the contents of the course are not specified, and Arizona will accept a
permit from another state in satisfaction of the training requirement, as long as the other state
also imposes a training requirement. Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-3112(N). Similarly, to obtain an
optional West Virginia permit, an applicant must complete a training course in handling and
tiring a handgun that includes the actual live firing of ammunition by the applicant. W. Va.
Code Ann. § 61-7-4(e).

Three of the states surveyed —Pennsylvania, Alabama, and Georgia—do not require firearms

safety training in order to receive a concealed carry permit.
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Table 18: Comparison of State Firearm Laws

Background
Licensing Checks Waiting Periods Straw Purchases Concealed Carry
Point of | Private Straw Actual Initial Permit Evaluate Safety
ToOwn | To Buy Contact | Sellers False Info Purchase' | Buyer Seller Required Character Danger Training
MD v Partial v v v v v v v v

VA v v v v v v v v v
PA v v v v v v

GA v

DE V2 v v v v v v
wv v V'3
NC v Partial v v v v v
FL v v v v v
sC v V'3 v
AL v v 4 v

AZ V'3

Note: A grey cell indicates a change in law since 2021.

TAll states covered by new straw purchase prohibition in federal Bipartisan Safer Communities Act

2Effective no later than June 30, 2023

3Applies only to persons who choose to obtain an optional concealed-carry permit

AEffective January 1, 2023
Source: MD OAG

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Time-to-Crime

In 2019, the average time-to-crime for traced firearms in Maryland was 11.4 years (compared to

the national average, 8.3 years).* In 2020, the average time-to-crime was 10.0 years (compared to

the national average, 7.0 years).x A time-to-crime of less than three years is considered a

potential indicator of trafficking.*

Table 19: Time-To-Crime in Maryland, 2019 & 2020

Under 3 3 Months to 7 Months to 1 Year to 2 Years to 3 Years and
Under 7 Under 2 Under 3
Months Under 1 Year Over
Months Years Years
2019 237 230 280 574 556 4,600
2020 436 415 302 552 485 4,068
Total 673 645 582 1,126 1,041 8,668

Note: ATF data are provided by calendar year.
Source: ATF

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER

Persons Prohibited from Possessing a Firearm

The OAG and WYSAC asked the LEAs to
indicate whether individuals found in
possession of crime firearms were previously
disqualified from possessing a firearm.
Around 19% (n=565) of the firearms
recovered were possessed by a disqualified
person. The remaining 81% were either not
possessed by a disqualified person (n=342,
11%), or the possessors disqualification status
was either unknown or missing (n=2,119,
70%).

Figure 8: Firearm Recovery, by
Prohibited Status

Prohibited
19%

Not Prohibited
11%

Unknown
70%

WYOMING SURVEY & ANALYSIS CENTER
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Recommendations and
Conclusions

46

WYSAC recommends using criminal history records information (CHRI) from Maryland
Department of Public Safety’s Criminal Justice Information Systems (CJIS). CHRI can
provide linked arrest, charging, disposition, and offender information.

WYSAC recommends requesting or requiring that LEAs collect crime firearm trace data.
ATF trace data captures information from manufacturer through distribution to the first
retail purchase. All LEAs can request trace data from the ATF with free eTrace software
or by fax.
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Appendix A: Law Enforcement

Agencies

Non-Responsive LEAs

Baltimore City School Police
Baltimore Environmental Police
Brentwood Police Department
Cottage City Police Department
District Heights Police Department

G L

Responding Agencies

Aberdeen Police Department
Allegany County Sheriff's Office
Annapolis Police Department

Anne Arundel Community College
Public Safety & Police

Anne Arundel County Police
Department

6. Anne Arundel County Sheriff's Office
7. Baltimore City Community College
8

9

LS.

o

Baltimore City Police Department

. Baltimore County Police Department
10. Bel Air Police Department
11. Berlin Police Department
12. Berwyn Heights Police Department
13. Bladensburg Police Department
14. Boonsboro Police Department
15. Bowie Police Department
16. Bowie State University
17. Brunswick Police Department
18. Calvert County Sheriff's Office
19. Cambridge Police Department
20. Capitol Heights Police Department
21. Caroline County Sheriff's Office
22. Carroll County Sheriff's Office
23. Cecil County Sheriff's Office
24. Centreville Police Department
25. Charles County Sheriff's Office

N

26.
27.
28.

29.
30.

31.
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.
39.
40.
41.
42.
43.
44.
45.

46.
47.
48.
49.

Edmonston Police Department
Landover Hills Police Department
Morgan State University Police
Department

Rising Sun Police Department

Chestertown Police Department
Cheverly Police Department
Chevy Chase Village Police
Department

Colmar Manor Police Department
Coppin State University of Police
Department

Crisfield Police Department
Crofton Police Department
Cumberland Police Department
Delmar Police Department
Denton Police Department
Dorchester County Sheriff's Office
Easton Police Department

Elkton Police Department
Fairmount Heights Police Department
Federalsburg Police Department
Forest Heights Police Department
Frederick City Police Department
Frederick County Sheriff's Office
Frostburg City Police Department
Frostburg State University Police
Department

Fruitland Police Department
Gaithersburg Police Department
Garrett County Sheriff's Office
Gibson Island Police Department
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50.
51.
52.
53.
54.
55.
56.
57.
58.
59.
60.
61.
62.
63.
64.
65.
66.
67.
68.
69.
70.
71.
72.

73.

74.

75.

76.
77.
78.
79.
80.
81.
82.
83.
84.
85.
86.
87.

48

MARYLAND FIREARM CRIME, INJURIES, FATALITIES, AND CRIME FIREARMS STUDY: JULY 31, 2019 - AUGUST 1, 2020

Glenarden Police Department
Greenbelt Police Department
Greensboro Police Department
Hagerstown Community College
Hagerstown Police Department
Hampstead Police Department
Hancock Police Department

Harford County Sheriff's Office
Havre de Grace Police Department
Howard County Police Department
Howard County Sheriff's Office
Hurlock Police Department
Hyattsville Police Department

Kent County Sheriff's Office

La Plata Police Department

Laurel Police Department

Manchester Police Department
Maryland Capitol Police Department
Maryland Natural Resources Police
Maryland State Police

Maryland Transit Administration
Maryland Transportation Auth. Police
Maryland-National Capital Park Police
- Montgomery County Division
Maryland-National Capital Park Police
- Prince George's County Division

Montgomery Co. Fire & Explosives Inv.

Sect.

Montgomery County Police
Department

Montgomery County Sheriff's Office
Morningside Police Department
Mount Airy Police Department
Mount Rainier Police Department
New Carrollton Police Department
North East Police Department
Oakland Police Department

Ocean City Police Department
Ocean Pines Police Department
Oxford Police Department
Perryville Police Department
Pocomoke City Police Department

88.

89.

90.
91.
92.
93.
94.
95.
96.
97.
98.
99.

100.
101.
102.
103.
104.
105.
106.
107.
108.
109.
110.
111.

112.

113.
114.

115.
116.
117.
118.

119.

120.

121.
122.

Prince George's County Community
College Department of Public Safety
Prince George's County Police
Department

Prince George's County Sheriff's Office
Princess Anne Police Department
Queen Anne's County Sheriff's Office
Ridgely Police Department

Riverdale Park Police

Rock Hall Police Department
Rockville City Police Department
Saint Mary's County Sheriff's Office
Saint Michael's Police Department
Salisbury City Police Department
Salisbury University Police Department
Seat Pleasant Police Department
Smithsburg Police Department

Snow Hill Police Department
Somerset County Sherift's Office
Sykesville Police Department
Takoma Park Police Department
Talbot County Sheriff's Office
Taneytown Police Department
Thurmont Police Department
Towson University Police Department
University of MD Baltimore County
Police Department

University of MD Baltimore Police
Department

University of MD College Park Police
University of MD Eastern Shore
Department of Public Safety
University Park Police Department
Upper Marlboro Police Department
Washington County Sheriff's Office
Washington Metropolitan Area Transit
Authority

Washington Suburban Sanitary
Commission

Westminster Police Department
Wicomico County Sheriff's Office
Worcester County Sheriff's Office
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Excluded Agencies

1.

0 XN

11.
12.
13.

14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.

21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
31.
32.

Allegany County Bureau of Police
Annapolis Fire/Explosive Investigation
Unit

Anne Arundel County Fire/Explosive
Investigator

Anne Arundel Community College
Justice Institute

Anne Arundel County Police Academy
Baltimore City Police Academy
Baltimore City Sheriff's Office
Baltimore County Police Academy
Baltimore County Sheriff's Office

. Community College of Baltimore

County

Comptroller of Maryland

Department of General Services
Department of Health and Mental
Hygiene (DHMH) - Clifton T. Perkins
Hospital Center

DHMH - Eastern Shore Hospital Center
DHMH - Holly Center

DHMH - Potomac Center

DHMH - Spring Grove Hospital Center
DHMH - Springfield Hospital Center
DHMH - Thomas B. Finan Center
Division of Rehabilitation Services
Police

Division of Probation and Parole
Dorchester States Attorney's Office
Eastern Shore Criminal Justice Academy
Frederick City Police Academy
Frederick County Sheriff's Academy
Garrett County State's Attorney
Hagerstown City Fire Marshal

Harford County Sheriff's Academy
Howard County Police Academy
Lonaconing Police Department

Luke Police Department

Maryland Alcohol and Tobacco
Commission Field Enforcement Division

33.

34.

35.

36.

37.
38.
39.
40.

41.
42.

43.

44,

45.
46.
47.
48.
49.
50.
51.

52.
53.
54.

55.
56.

57.

Maryland Comptroller Field
Enforcement

Maryland Department of Labor,
Licensing & Regulations

Maryland Motor Vehicle
Administration

Maryland Natural Resources Police
Academy

Maryland State Fire Marshal

Maryland State Forest & Park Service
Maryland State Police Academy
Maryland Transportation Authority
Academy

Maryland Wildlife and Heritage Service
Maryland-National Capital Park and
Planning Commission

Maryland Department of Public Safety
and Correctional Services Intelligence
Investigative Division

MD Police & Correctional Training
Commission PELT Academy
Montgomery County Police Academy
Port Deposit Police Department

Prince George's Co. Fire Investigator
Prince George's County Police Academy
Prince George's County Public Schools
Prince George's County State's Attorney
Prince George's Municipal Police
Academy

Saint Mary's College of Maryland
Trappe Police Department

University of Baltimore Police
Department

University of Maryland Police Academy
Worcester County Fire/Explosive
Investigator

Worcester County State's Attorney
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Introduction

Chapter 335 of 2019 (Senate Bill 622), Governor s Office of Crime Control and Prevention -
Crime Firearms - Study, requires the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim

Services (previously known as the Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention') to study

and compile information, provided by the Maryland Department of State Police, as it relates to

crime firearms.? Specifically, the Act requires the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth,

and Victim Services to:

e Study information regarding crime firearms in the State, including:
o The number and types of crime firearms;
o The sources of all crime firearms, including the importer, dealer, and first
purchaser for all recovered crime firearms; and
o The jurisdictions where crime firearms were recovered;
e Report the crimes committed with crime firearms by jurisdiction, including:
o The number of charges and convictions for:
Crimes of violence;
Illegal transfers;
Illegal possession;
Illegal transportation; and

Straw purchases; and
o The number and types of criminal charges associated with a crime firearm;
e Compile all available information and data regarding the source of crime firearms,
including:
o For out-of-state crime firearms:
m  The county, state, or city of origin; and
m The location in the State where the crime firearm was recovered;
o For in-State crime firearms:
m  The jurisdiction of origin; and
m The location where the crime firearm was recovered;
o Information on the top 10 dealers of crime firearms in the State, including:
m Names;
m Locations; and

m The dates and outcomes of audits conducted by the Maryland State Police

of the dealers; and

! Maryland General Assembly. (2020). Chapter 11, Acts of 2020. In March 2020, the Governor’s Office of Crime
Control and Prevention was renamed the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services.
? Maryland General Assembly. Chapter 335 0f 2019 (Senate Bill 622), Governor's Office of Crime Control and

Prevention - Crime Firearms - Study.
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o The 10 states where the most crime firearms recovered in the State originated,
including a comparison of the other states’ firearms laws regarding:
m Licensing;

Background checks;
m  Waiting periods;
m Straw purchases; and

Concealed carry laws;

e (ollect information on the length of time between the origination and recovery of a crime
fircarm; and

e Gather information regarding whether the individuals found in possession of crime
firearms were previously prohibited from possessing a firearm.

The Act also requires the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services to
report its findings to the Governor and the General Assembly by December 1, 2020.°

Crime Firearms Study

In accordance with Chapter 335 of 2019, this Report on Crime Firearms Study provides
information on crime firearms that resulted in an arrest between October 1, 2019 and September
30, 2020, and based on the definitions below. It also identifies the location of the gun problem,
and whether it is specific to Maryland or other states.

Definitions

Crime firearm means a firearm that is (1) used in the commission of a crime of violence, as
defined in § 5-101 of the Public Safety Article or (2) recovered by law enforcement in
connection with illegal firearm possession, transportation, or transfer.*

Crime of violence, as defined in § 5-101 of the Public Safety Article, means (1) abduction; (2)
arson in the first degree; (3) assault in the first or second degree; (4) burglary in the first, second,
or third degree; (5) carjacking and armed carjacking; (6) escape in the first degree; (7)
kidnapping; (8) voluntary manslaughter; (9) maiming; (10) mayhem; (11) murder in the first or
second degree; (12) rape in the first or second degree; (13) robbery; (14) robbery with a
dangerous weapon; (15) sexual offense in the first, second, or third degree; (16) home invasion;
(17) an attempt to commit offenses (1) through (16); or (18) assault with the intent to commit
offenses (1) through (16) or a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year.’

? Ibid.

4 Department of Legislative Services. Senate Bill 622 (2019) Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention -
Crime Firearms - Study (Fiscal and Policy Note).

3 Ibid.
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This definition is cross-referenced in statutes pertaining to reckless endangerment, committing a
crime in the presence of a minor, use of a handgun or antique firearm in the commission of a
crime, use of an assault weapon or magazine in the commission of a felony or a crime of
violence, and possession of a rifle or shotgun by a person previously convicted of specified
offenses.

Methodology

For the purpose of this Report on Crime Firearms Study, data was retrieved from three data
sources, to include:

e Maryland Gun Center
e Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
e Internet sources pertaining to gun legislation

Maryland Gun Center

In 2013, the Maryland Department of State Police created the Maryland Gun Center (Center)
within its Criminal Enforcement Division to assist local law enforcement with “gun
enforcement/gun violation reduction efforts.”” Through its mission, the Center serves as a “24/7
statewide firearms enforcement center, making available the screening/vetting of every gun case
in Maryland to ensure that offenders are systematically held accountable for the crimes and that
any necessary follow-up is addressed in a consistent and disciplined manner.”® In 2013, and with
a staff of six, the Center received and responded to 2,828 calls and/or emails for service
pertaining to gun-related incidents across the State.” Since this time, the number of calls and/or
emails for service have increased approximately 300%. In 2019, and with a staff of 10, the
Center received and responded to over 10,500 calls and/or emails for service as it relates to gun
incidents in the State. For 2020, the Center anticipates that they will receive and respond to
nearly 11,500 calls and/or emails for services.

In 2019, and in response to the enacted Act (Chapter 335 of 2019), the Center developed a
Microsoft Access database to capture the data elements required for the crime firearms study.
Because the Act took effect October 1, 2019, the Center used the same date to begin the data

¢ Ibid.

" Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention. (2013). Marvland's Comprehensive State Crime Control and
Prevention Plan 2013 Annual Update.

¥ Maryland Department of State Police. Criminal Enforcement Division.

? Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention. (2013). Marvland's Comprehensive State Crime Control and
Prevention Plan 2013 Annual Update. It is important to note that the Maryland Department of State Police serves as
a partial point of contact for Maryland in which all handgun applications require a background check to be
conducted by the Maryland Department of State Police; whereas, all long guns require a background check to be
conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Although the Maryland Department of State Police serves as a
partial point of contact agency, the Maryland Gun Center receives calls and/or emails for all gun-related matters.
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collection process. It is important to note that data collected through the database is solely based
on the data reported to the Center by law enforcement officers, and therefore may not represent
all crime firearm data in the State because not all data is reported. In addition, some data may not
be reported to the Center until the end of the case versus the beginning.

Specific to this study, the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services
(Office) received information from the Center’s database to study crime firearms in the State, as
it relates to:

The number and types of crime firearms;

The sources of all crime firearms, including the importer, dealer, and first purchaser for
all recovered crime firearms;

The jurisdictions where crime firearms were recovered,

Information on crimes committed with crime firearms by jurisdiction;

Information on in-State crime firearms;

Information on the top 10 dealers of crime firearms in the State; and

Information regarding whether the individuals found in possession of crime firearms
were previously prohibited from possessing a firearm.

Specifically, the Office received information regarding crime firearms that resulted in an arrest
between October 1, 2019 and September 30, 2020. It is important to note that the information
was only available on firearms registered in Maryland, and were primarily for handguns because
the Maryland Department of State Police serves as a partial point of contact for the State."

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives

The Office gathered information from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and
Explosives’ (ATF’s) website that was not available through the Center’s database."' Through its
mission, the ATF provides firearms trace data to local, state, federal, and foreign law
enforcement agencies that request firearms tracing for investigative purposes; and prepares
state-by-state reports to provide the “public with insight into firearms recoveries.”'* The Office
used information from the Data Source: Firearms Tracing Systems - Maryland (January 1. 2019 -

December 31, 2019), which represents the most recent report prepared by the ATF on behalf of

Maryland."” Specifically, information was pulled from this report as it relates to:

' The Maryland Department of State Police is the designated agency to conduct all background checks on handguns
and handgun permits; whereas, the Federal Bureau of Investigation conducts all background checks for long guns.

" Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. Firearms Trace Data - 2019.

2 Ibid.

'3 Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. Data Source: Firearms Tracing Systems - Maryland. The
ATF extracted data from the Firearms Tracing System (FTS) on April 10, 2020. It is important to note that the
prepared report captures calendar year data, only.
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e Information on out-of-State crime firearms; and
e Information on the length of time between the origination and recovery of a crime
firearm.

Internet Sources Pertaining to Gun Legislation

The Office also gathered information from The National Rifle Association: Institute for

Legislative Action, the Giffords Law Center, and the Guns to Carry websites. Specifically,
information was pulled from these websites as it relates to:

e The 10 states where the most crime firearms recovered in the State originated, including a
comparison of the other states’ firearms laws regarding: licensing; background checks;
waiting periods; straw purchases; and concealed carry laws.

Findings

Crimes Committed with Crime Firearms by Jurisdiction

Between October 1, 2019 and September 30, 2020, and based on the Center’s database, there
were a total of 2,772 gun crime cases in Maryland (as illustrated on the following page). From
this total, 61.8% of the cases occurred in Baltimore City (n = 925) and Prince George’s County
(n=787). An additional 20.4% of the gun crime cases occurred in Baltimore County (n = 194),
Anne Arundel County (n = 173), Worcester County (n = 76), Wicomico County (n = 62), and
Washington County (n = 60). The remaining 17.8% (n = 495) occurred in other parts of the State.
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Gun Crime Cases by County
(October 1, 2019 - September 30, 2020)
Allegany 38
Anne Arundel 173
Baltimore 194
Baltimore City 925
Calvert 24
Caroline 18
Carroll 13
Cecil 42
Charles 45
Dorchester 12
Frederick 45
Garrett 16
Harford 48
Howard 42
Kent 11
Montgomery 47
Prince George's 787
Queen Anne's 37
somerset 13
st. Mary's 29
Talbot 15
Washington 60
Wicomico 62
Worcester 76
Total 2,772

Number of Charges and Convictions

Of the 2,772 gun crime cases, there were a total of 1,722 charges (as illustrated on the following
page)."* The breakdown of these charges consisted of the following outcomes: prosecuted (guilty
or not guilty verdict), not prosecuted (dismissed, nolle prosequi, or stet), probation before
judgement (PBJ), adjudicated, or pending.

' It is important to note that some judges and/or commissioners may request the release of the charged individual
due to limited or no probable cause.
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Outcome of Gun Crime Cases Associated with a Crime
Firearm (October 1, 2019 - September 30, 2020)
Charging Qutcome Total
Guilty 46
Dismissed 8
Nolle Prosequi 302
Not Guilty 6
Probation Before Judgement 4
Adjudicated Delinquent 2
Pending 1.314
Stet 40

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there are many charges that may still be pending due to the
temporary suspension of court cases It is important to note that information pertaining to charges
is based solely on the charging recommendations made by the Center, and therefore is not based
on all handgun cases. In addition, the recommendations made occurred only for those cases that
were called into the Center.

Number and Types of Criminal Charges Associated with a Crime Firearm

Of the 1,722 criminal charges, nearly 87% (n = 1,498) of the criminal charges were for some
type of an illegal possession offense, 8.7% (n = 149) were for the use of a firearms in
conjunction with any crime of violence, and 3.8% (n = 66) were for straw purchase related

offense.
Criminal Charges Associated with a Crime Firearm (October 1. 2019 - September 30. 2020)
Row Labels Guilty| Dismissed | Nolle Prosequi | Not Guilty |PBJ | Adjudicated Delinquent | Pending | Stet | Total Charges
CDS 3 3
Crime of Violence 1 23 123 2 149
Tllegal Possession 45 7 259 6 3 2 1,141 | 35 1.498
Nlegal Transfer/StrawPurchase 1 16 46 3 66
Tllegal Transportation 4 1 1 6
Total 46 8 302 6 4 2 1,314 | 40 1,722

Available Information and Data Regarding the Source of Crime Firearms

Based on the Data Source: Firearms Tracing Systems - Maryland (January 1. 2019 - December
31, 2019), which represents the most recent report prepared by the ATF on behalf of Maryland,
9,465 firearms were recovered and traced in 2019."

!5 Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. Data Source: Firearms Tracing Systems - Maryland.
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Out-of-State Crime Firearms

The report also identified the states where the most crime firearms recovered in the State
originated to include Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Georgia, West Virginia,
South Carolina, Florida, Delaware, Texas, and more (as illustrated below).'® It is important to
note that an “additional 35 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico accounted for 456
other traces.”!” In total, the “source state was identified in 6,543 total traces.”'® This indicates
that the source state could not be identified in the remaining 2,922 traces.

Top 15 Source States for Firearms with a Marvland Recovery
(January 1, 2019 - December 31, 2019)
Source States Number of Firearms

Maryland 3,018

Virginia 1,054
Pennsylvania 380
North Carolina 262
Georgia 253
West Virginia 247
South Carolina 149
Florida 139
Delaware 125
Texas 110
Ohio 109
Kentucky 75
Alabama 64
Tennessee 52
California 50

In addition, the report identified the top recovery cities for firearms with a Maryland recovery to
include Baltimore, Pasadena, Hagerstown, Frederick, Silver Spring, Hyattsville, Waldorf, Elkton,
Glen Burnie, and Capitol Heights (as illustrated on the following page).” It is important to note
that there were “288 additional municipalities that accounted for 4,914 other traces” and the
“recovery city could not be determined for 10 traces.”” This indicates that, of the 9,465
recovered firearms in Maryland, nearly 48% (n = 4,541) were recovered in these ten cities.

' Tbid.
" Tbid.
'® Ibid.
" Tbid.
% Ibid.
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Top Recovery Cities for Firearms with a Maryland Recovery
(January 1, 2019 - December 31, 2019)
Recovery Cities Number of Firearms
Baltimore 2.490
Pasadena 320
Hagerstown 305
Frederick 286
Silver Spring 238
Hyvattsville 211
Waldorf 194
Elkton 178
Glen Burnie 172
Capitol Heights 147

In-State Crime Firearms

Based on the Center’s database, there were a total of 169 in-State crime firearms recovered from
17 jurisdictions of origin (as illustrated below). From this total, nearly 40% (n = 67) of the crime
firearms were recovered in Baltimore City of which 41.8% (n = 28) originated in Baltimore City.
An additional 24% (n = 41) of the total in-State crime firearms were recovered from Prince
George’s County of which 70.7% (n = 29) originated in Prince George’s County.

Numbe r of Firearms

Anne Anmdel|Baltimore Comty| Batimore City| Cabvert] Caroline | Cecil] Charles| Derche ster|Frederick|H arford | Montzome ry] Prince Geors's| 5t Mary's| Tabot|Washinson| Wic omico Werceser

| Anme Al 10 2 7 1 1 1

|[Ea timore Co unty| 2 3 17 1 1

Balimoee City 2 4 28 2 1

Carmoll 1 3 1

County of Purchaser's Residence
g
58
i

Top 10 Dealers of Crime Firearms in the State

The Center also identified the top ten gun crime firearm dealers that collectively accounted for
73 firearms (as illustrated on the following page). The location of these dealers include, but are
not limited to, the following cities: District Heights, Middle River, Upper Marlboro, Halethorpe,
Essex, Parkville, Waldorf, Rockville, and Hanover.
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Gun Crime Firearm Dealers Top Ten
Number of Firearms Dealer Name Location
13 Realco Guns District Heights
9 FreeState Gun Eange Middle River
9 Maryland Small Arms Range, Inc.  Upper Marlboro
8 Tyler Firearms, LLC. Halethorpe
7 Gun Shop Essex
6 Historic File Unknown
6 Valley Gun Shop Parloville
6 Fred's Qutdoors Waldorf
5 United Gun Shop Rockwille
4 Bass Pro Outdoor World, LLC Hanover

The Maryland Department of State Police conducted an audit on the identified gun crime firearm
dealers which primarily resulted in the following known outcomes:

Audits Conducted on Gun Crime Firearm Dealers*

Audit Date Dealer Name Outcome
6/5/2019 Fealco Guns No discrepancies
9/2/2020 FreeState Gun Eange No discrepancies
6/25/2019 Maryland Small Arms Range, Inc.  No discrepancies
8/27/2020 Tyler Firearms, LLC. No discrepancies
B/13/2019 Gun Shop No discrepancies

- Historic File -

- Valley Gun Shop Please see note below
8/25/2020 Fred's Qutdoors No discrepancies

- United Gun Shop Please see note below
8/19/2019 Baszs Pro OQutdoor World, LLC No discrepancies

*The Tyler Firearms, LLC. was previously audited on August 27, 2018, which reflected one 77R application with an
incorrect model and serial number of the regulated firearm; and a second firearm of a multi-purchase was not
entered into MAFSS due to a civilian Maryland Department of State Police employee error. In 2004, the ATF

revoked the Valley Gun Shop’s Federal Firearms License. The United Gun Shop is a new dealer, as of April 25,
2019, and therefore the first inspection is not due until April 2021. Please note that the symbol (-) indicates that no
information was available.

Comparison of Firearms Laws in Originating States of Most Crime Firearms Recovered

Based on the report that was prepared for Maryland, the ATF identified the top 10 states where
the most crime firearms recovered in the State had originated from, to include: Maryland,
Virginia, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Georgia, West Virginia, South Carolina, Florida,
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Delaware, and Texas.?' Using this list, a comparison of the states’ firearms laws was conducted

to identify similarities and differences regarding: licensing, background checks, waiting periods,

straw purchases, and concealed carry laws (as illustrated below).

Comparison of Firearms Laws*
Backgroumd Checks on Waiti
State Licensing Private Gun Sales e Straw Purchases Concealed Carry Laws
. Periods k
Required
Permit to  |Ves for handguns; partial for |7 days for Sate .la“' preveats msfgs to traffickers; state law Restrictively-administered discretionary-issue
Maryiand chase lone suns = bandens penalizes the actual buyer ina straw purchase; state law catry permit svatems N
P il = aids enforcement asencies in anti-traffic kine efforts ikl Y
State law prevents transfers to traffickers; state law
prohibits individuals from knowingly encovraging sellers to
Wirgini No for handguns; no for bng conduct an dlegal firearm transfer; state bw peralizes the | "Shallissue” bw, requirmg that concealed
= i Funs B actualbuver in a straw murchase; state w prohibits carry permits be issued to qualified appleants
indriduale from providing false information ina firearms
transfer; state lw requires the tracing of crime suns
State law prevents transfers to traffickers; state law
P ennevivania Yes for handguns; no for prohibits ndividuals from providing fake mformation m a "Shall issue” law, requirng that concealed
Y i long guns B firearms transfer; state law requires the tracing of erime | carry permits be issed to qualified applicants
guns
Notih Carofim Permit to  |Yes for handguns: no for B B Shz]llsauel h\v:lreqmrmg mal.oomeal-t?d
purchase  [long guns carry permits be ismed to qualified appleants
G orei Mo for handguns; no for ong State law prohibits individiake from Imowingly encouraging | "Shallissue” bw, requiring that concealed
= i guns B selers to conductanillegal firearm transfer carry permits be issued to qualified applhcants
. State law prolibits individuaks from knowingly encouraging | o Sue BW, requimg that concealed
e Ui No for handguns; no for bng ; = =F |carry permits be issued to qualified
West Virginia |- = = - selers to conduct an illegal firearm transfer; state law - .
= s . = applcants; allow concealed carry without a
N penalzes the actual buver ina straw purchase . -
permi
. No for handguns; no for lng "Shall issue” law, requirmg that concealed
South Carclina |- zuns B - carry permits be issued to qualified applicants
Flosi No for handguns; no for long 3+ days for all "Shall issue” law, requirmg that concealed
i guns frearms - carry permits be issued to qualified applicants
. ) State law prohibits mdviduak from providing fake L A .
Deliware - Yes for handguns yes for - information ina firearms transfer; state law requires the Resmcu\el}uad.mmslered dicrefionary issue
long guns . . carry permit systems
tracime of crme suns
Texac No for handguns; no for lng "Shall issue” law, requirng that concealed
i Euns B - carry permits be issued to qualified applicants

*Resources include: Giffords Law Center on licensing;** Guns to Carry on background checks on private gun sales;
» Giffords Law Center on waiting periods for Maryland and Florida, only;** Giffords Law Center on straw
purchases;* and The National Rifle Association of America on right to carry laws.”® Please note that the symbol (-)
indicates that no information was available.

According to the Giffords Law Center, state licensing laws fall into four categories: “(1) permits

to purchase firearms, (2) licenses to own firearms, (3) firearm safety certificates, which indicate

*! Ibid.

22 Giffords Law Center. (2020). Licensing.

2 Guns to Carry. (2020). Gun Laws by State: The Complete Guide.
* Giffords Law Center. (2020). Waiting Periods.

» Giffords Law Center. (2020). Trafficking & Straw Purchasing. It is important to note that the general summary of
each state’s law was included in the table to illustrate a comparison.

*6 National Rifle Association of America: Institute for Legislative Action. (2020).

oncealed Carr

Right-to-Carry.
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that the certificate-holder has completed required safety training and is licensed to purchase a

firearm, and (4) registration laws that impose licensing requirements.”?’

According to Guns to Carry, background checks are “required by federal law on all persons
purchasing a firearm from a licensed dealer.””® To facilitate these checks, the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI) “maintains a database where all requests are processed through” the National
Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS).” Four of the 10 states require background
checks for the purchase of handguns and long guns; whereas, the remaining six do not.

In addition, the Giffords Law Center indicated that there is “no federal waiting period.”** Under

NICS, “a dealer may transfer a firearm to a prospective purchaser as soon as he or she passes a
background check.”! If, however, the “FBI is unable to complete the background check within
three business days, the dealer may complete the transfer by default.”** Limited information was
available on these 10 states regarding legislation on waiting periods.

The Giffords Law Center defines a straw purchaser as someone who buys a firearm from a

licensed dealer on behalf of another person.* Based on research, and when found, most of the 10
states have some law that makes straw purchasing illegal.

According to The National Rifle Association: Institute for Legislative Action, “Right-to-Carry
(RTC) laws recognize the right to carry concealed handguns when away from home without a
permit, or with a permit issued by a state to an applicant who meets requirements established by
the state legislature.”* In eight of the 10 states, the law allows “shall issue” permits - requiring
that concealed carry permits be issued to qualified applicants without any discretion to deny the
application.

Length of Time Between the Origination and Recovery of a Crime Firearm

In 2019, and based on the report that was prepared for Maryland, the length of time between the
origination and recovery of a crime firearm (also known as Time-to-Crime) ranged from less
than three months (n = 237) to three years and over (n = 4,600) (as illustrated on the following

7 Giffords Law Center. (2020). Licensing.
% Guns to Carry. (2020). Gun Laws by State: The Complete Guide.

¥ Ibid.
* Giffords Law Center. (2020). Waiting Periods.
3! Ibid.
32 Ibid.
3 Ibid.

3* The National Rifle Association of America: Institute for Legislative Action. (2020). Concealed Carry |
Right-to-Carry.
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page).” In addition, Maryland’s average time-to-crime in 2019 consisted of 11.41 years,

compared to the national average of 8.29 years.*

Time-To-Crime Rates for Firearms with a Marvland Recovery
(January 1, 2019 - December 31, 2019)

Time-To-Crime Categories Number of Firearms
Under 3 Months 237
3 Months to Under 7 Months 230
7 Months to Under 1 Year 280
1 Year to Under 2 Years 374
2 Years to Under 3 Years 336
3 Years and Over 4. 600

Individuals Found in Possession Were Previously Prohibited

Between October 1, 2019 and September 30, 2020, and of the 2,772 gun crime cases identified
by the Center, 2,188 prohibited persons were found to be in possession of crime firearms (as

illustrated on the following page).”” The 2,188 prohibited persons were determined to be

prohibited by the Maryland Department of State Police, based on the information provided by

law enforcement officers who called into the Center, and the following three criteria:

e [llegal transfers

e [llegal possession

e [llegal transportation

3% Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. Data Source: Firearms Tracing Systems - Marvland.
“Time-to-Crime was calculated for those traces in which the purchase date could be subtracted from the recovery

date.”
3 Ibid.

371t is important to note that there can be multiple suspects per case.
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Prohibited Persons by County of Incident
(October 1, 2019 - September 30, 2020)
Allegany 18
Anne Arundel 108
Baltimore 183
Baltimore City 841
Calvert 17
Caroline 10
Carroll 9
Cecil 30
Charles 36
Dorchester ]
Fredenick 28
Garrett 3
Harford 51
Howard 45
Kent B
Montgomery 41
Not Applicable 1
Prince George's 555
(Queen Anne's 9
Somerset 3
st. Marv's 23
Talbot 9
Washington a0
Wicomico 58
Worcester 44
Total 2,188

Major Findings

Based on the results of this Report on Crime Firearms Study, the Office identified the following

major findings:

61.8% of gun crime cases occurred in Baltimore City and Prince George’s County.
Over 76% of gun case charges, that were recommended by the Center, are still pending.
The most common charge associated with crime firearm cases is illegal possession.
Over half of all recovered crime firearms, identified by the ATF, originated out-of-state.
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Over 53% of in-State crime firearms were recovered from the purchaser’s county of
residence.

There is variation in the 10 states as it relates to legislation.

Maryland’s average time-to-crime was 11.41 years, compared to the national average of
8.29 years.

The majority of all crime firearms were committed by individuals who were prohibited
from owning a firearm.

Recommendations

Based on the findings of this Report on Crime Firearms Study, the Office identified the

following recommendations:

Provide additional support for the Maryland Gun Center to include increasing staffing
levels.

Establish a statewide database for the tracking of all crime firearms.

Require law enforcement agencies to report information on any gun-related crime to the
Maryland Gun Center.

Enact legislation that mandates a “one stop shop” for the screening and vetting of gun
cases in Maryland to ensure that offenders are systematically held accountable.

Provide Additional Support for the Maryland Gun Center

Given the ongoing and increasing need for immediate guidance and assistance to systematically

address every crime firearm incident across the State, additional resources are needed to ensure

that each case is completely vetted, thoroughly investigated, and aggressively prosecuted. Since

the inception of the Center, the number of calls and/or emails for service have increased by
nearly 300% (from 2,828 in 2013 to over 10,500 in 2019); whereas, the resources for staff have
only increased by 67% (from six staff in 2013 to 10 staff in 2019). In order for the Center to
serve as a “one stop shop” for street-level law enforcement officers, law enforcement agencies,

state’s attorney’s offices, and policy makers, additional staft are necessary to provide expertise

in, but not limited to, the following areas:

Prohibitors under state law (n = 13) and federal law (n =9)
Specific case histories of persons involved crime firearm cases
Insight on how persons retrieved the crime firearm

Charging recommendations

Analytical component for law enforcement and community safety
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Establish a Statewide Database for the Tracking of All Crime Firearms

In addition, and based on the resources available, the Center developed a Microsoft Access
database to capture the data elements required by Chapter 335 of 2019, and for the purpose of
this Report on Crime Firearms Study. In an effort to standardize the collection of crime firearm
data to produce measurable metrics and fulfill data requests, it is recommended that funding be
provided to the Center to build a SQL Server or reporting component within the Maryland
Department of State Police’s licensing portal for all crime firearm data, and to replace the current
Microsoft Access database. The SQL Server could be incorporated within the Maryland
Department of State Police’s licensing portal to standardize the collection of data on crime
firearms. In doing this, and with the necessary staffing resources, the Center will be able to
provide analyses of the crime firearms data which would serve as a critical component. This
would also allow the Center to provide statistics and other reporting capabilities in real-time.

Require Law Enforcement Agencies to Report Information on Any Gun-Related Crime to
the Maryland Gun Center

The Microsoft Access database, which was created for the purpose of this study, is solely based
on the data reported to the Center by law enforcement officers, and therefore may not represent
all crime firearm data in the State because not all data is reported. In an effort to improve the
reporting of data, and streamline the collection of gun-related incidents in Maryland, it is
recommended that all Maryland law enforcement agencies report information on gun-related
crimes to the Center. Improving the data reporting process, and providing the necessary
resources for staff and technologies, will provide the Center with the assets needed to produce
actionable intelligence to ultimately hold offenders accountable. This, in turn, will allow the data
to be used to develop policy.

Enact Legislation that Mandates a “One Stop Shop” for the Screening and Vetting of Gun
Cases in Maryland to Ensure that Offenders are Systematically Held Accountable

Under the administration of the Maryland Department of State Police, which serves as the
regulatory authority for all handgun purchases and permits, the Center provides knowledge and
expertise to local law enforcement as it relates to: (1) determining whether a person is prohibited
from possessing firearms, (2) recommending specific firearm related charges to ensure that a
suspect is appropriately charged and the information is provided in real-time, and (3) providing
assistance with other gun enforcement/gun violation reduction efforts. Given this role, and in an
effort to address every gun incident across the State to ensure that each case is completely vetted,
thoroughly investigated, and aggressively prosecuted, it is recommended that legislation be
enacted to designate the Center as Maryland’s “one stop shop” for the screening and vetting of
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gun cases in Maryland to ensure that offenders are systematically held accountable.”® In doing
this, the Center will continue, and expand upon current efforts, to provide assistance and
guidance to local law enforcement, as well as analytics from one reliable source for the entire
State of Maryland. By designating the Center as Maryland’s “one stop shop,” offenders will be
held accountable for their actions which will ensure a safer Maryland for all those who reside
within its State.

Conclusion

Pursuant to Chapter 335 of 2019, this Report on Crime Firearms Study provides information on
crime firearms that resulted in an arrest between October 1, 2019 and September 30, 2020. It also
identifies major findings that resulted from the study, and makes recommendations to designate
the Maryland Gun Center as a “one stop shop” for the screening and vetting of all gun cases to
ensure that offenders are systematically held accountable.

* Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention. (2013). Marvland's Comprehensive State Crime Control and
Prevention Plan 2013 Annual Update.
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