ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

HB 526 St. Mary's County - Transfer of Child Support Unit and Personnel to the Child Support Administration

SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENTS

February 14, 2023

The Honorable Luke Clippinger, Chairman Judiciary Committee Room 101, House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Clippinger:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County **SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENTS HB 526** - St. Mary's County - Transfer of Child Support Unit and Personnel to the Child Support Administration which is being heard in the Judiciary Committee.

It is our understanding amendments will be offered to make the effective date of this legislation October 1, 2023, and to clarify that "an equivalent number" of PINs will be created.

We support with those amendments HB 526 and request a favorable report. We appreciate the introduction of this legislation and believe it will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely, COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2023/032

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, Interim County Administrator/County Attorney John Sterling Houser, Assistant County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 EXT. 1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • <u>www.stmarysmd.com</u> • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV