## **Board of Directors**

Chair Joe Toolan (he/him)

Vice-Chair Tim Williams (he/him)

Treasurer Katie Connolly (they/them)

Secretary Anne Gotimer (she/her)

Development Chair Roberta Pardo (she/her)

> Events Chair Sarah Sample (she/her)

Leslie Anderson (they/them)

Christopher Broadwell (he/him)

> Jaden Farris (he/him)

Christine Feldmann (she/her)

> Mastin Fowler (he/him)

Chris Haley (he/him)

Dennis McGowan (he/him)

> Eric Lund (he/him)

Jazzmyn Proctor (she/they)

Joshua Seefried (he/him)



March 08, 2023

## HB1164 – Public Schools - Expanded American History - Development of Content Standards and Implementation

**Position: FAVORABLE WITH AMENDMENTS** 

Annapolis Pride's mission is to advocate for, empower, and celebrate our LGBTQ+ community in Anne Arundel County to live fully and authentically. Our vision is a safe, equitable, and anti-racist community where people of all identities thrive.

As such, the Board of Directors of Annapolis Pride enthusiastically supports House Bill 1164, which requires the State Board of Education to develop content standards for expanded American history and for each county board of education to update and implement curriculum guides for expanded American history. This legislation is necessary in ensuring that all students receive a truthful education, with a curriculum that is inclusive, historically accurate, and which values the dignity of all. By doing so, it brings attention to the contributions and histories of minority groups that have shaped our nation, who have historically been omitted from US history curriculum. This bill will ensure that students are not only introduced to this information, but that it is presented in an engaging and meaningful way.

Students seeing themselves represented in the classes they take is essential. It validates their identity and provides them with a sense of belonging, while also helping to build their self-esteem and confidence. Furthermore, it strengthens their connection to their culture and history and provides them with a greater sense of pride in their heritage.

## **Board of Directors**

Chair Joe Toolan (he/him)

Vice-Chair Tim Williams (he/him)

Treasurer Katie Connolly (they/them)

Secretary Anne Gotimer (she/her)

Development Chair Roberta Pardo (she/her)

> Events Chair Sarah Sample (she/her)

Leslie Anderson (they/them)

Christopher Broadwell (he/him)

> Jaden Farris (he/him)

Christine Feldmann (she/her)

> Mastin Fowler (he/him)

> > Chris Haley (he/him)

Dennis McGowan (he/him)

> Eric Lund (he/him)

Jazzmyn Proctor (she/they)

Joshua Seefried (he/him)



Additionally, in order to ensure that we are meeting the needs of **all** students, we request that the legislature amend the proposed legislation to explicitly require inclusion of the history and contributions of LGBTQIA+ Individuals. The exclusion of this important and often underrepresented group is a disservice to the students of our state. By including the history and contributions of LGBTQIA+ Individuals, we can ensure that all students are able to learn the full story of American history.

For these reasons, Annapolis Pride respectfully requests a favorable report on HB 1164 with the aforementioned amendments.

Respectfully submitted,

Iaden T. Farris

Board Member Annapolis Pride