

THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY

The Liberty Building 107 North Liberty Street Centreville, MD 21617

e-mail: QACCommissioners&Administrator@gac.org

County Administrator: Todd R. Todd, PE Executive Assistant to County Commissioners: Margie A. Houck County Attorney: Patrick Thompson, Esquire

County Commissioners: James J. Moran, At Large Jack N. Wilson, Jr., District 1 J. Patrick McLaughlin, District 2 Philip L. Dumenil, District 3 Christopher M. Corchiarino, District 4

February 10, 2023

The Honorable Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary Ways and Means Committee House Office Building, Room 131 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: HB 0447 - Local Elections – County Commissioner Elections – District Voting OPPOSE

Dear Delegate Atterbeary,

Please consider this letter of **opposition** for House Bill 0447. This bill would require an election of a county commissioner to represent a district to be decided by a plurality of the votes cast within that district; and generally relating to local County Commissioner elections. A candidate for County Commissioner would no longer need to receive an absolute County majority to represent a district. Furthermore, this must remain as a matter for each County individually and not to be a matter of state law.

In Queen Anne's County, this very same question was brought to local referendum in 2016 and the citizens voted to continue electing all commissioners at large in districts. We continue to stand by the choice of our citizens.

Thank you for the opportunity to **oppose** this legislation.

Respectfully,

QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

resident

James J. Moran

Jack N.

Christop

Matrick McLaughlin